Spring On-campus Jeanage

What up, StyleNation? Who’s having a spring to remember?

Recent crappy events at IPF North have encouraged me to appreciate life while I’ve got it, and I’ve been doing so in my garden. My gardening goal for this summer is to encourage as many bumblebees, butterflies, hummingbirds, and bunnies as possible to stop by for pollination, snacks, and/or general frolicking.

When on campus, I’m alone in my office for much of the day (sweet solace!), so I’ve been doing some significant dressing down. Case in point:

1. Should have tucked the shirt, but can’t make myself care

I can’t believe I don’t post these jeans more often. They’ve been a non-teaching-day staple for ages (or since 2008):

Blouse: Mexx (remixed); Necklace: gifted (remixed); Pin-stripe grey trouser jeans: Parasuco for Smart Set (2008, remixed); Shoes: Fugitive de Francesco Rossi (remixed)

 

And here, just because I have it, is a much less flattering angle that potentially gives a better view of the jean stripe:

Mug: ubiquitous in morning photos

2. Even though I’m broken up with Distressed Denim, I still have this skirt

I don’t know. Should we get rid of stone-washed or otherwise distressed denim so as not to contribute to the trend that results in factory/sweatshop-worker deaths? I’ve considered dyeing the skirt but suspect the wash variation would be reproduced in some way regardless. ‘Thoughts?

Necklace: gifted (remixed); Cotton jersey top: MaxStudio (remixed); Denim skirt: Bebe (remixed); Green leather belt: purchased with D-Med in England ages ago (remixed); Brown leather bootage: Rockport (super-old, remixed)

And here, because I’m the modelliest, is a slightly modified pose that does not, despite my best intentions, highlight the boots:

Mug: ubiquitous

Tell us about your spring, StyleNation!

How are you spending your down time these increasingly warm days?

10 thoughts on “Spring On-campus Jeanage

  1. I lurve that skirt on you. And probably dying it will only make it more awesome(-looking) though the ethical issue with distressed denim will not disappear. If I got rid of everything that I owned that was produced in inhumane conditions, I’m pretty sure I would have little to wear. Or use, including the computer I am typing this on right now. It’s a dilemma I don’t have a solution for mostly because there are a number of problematic things I can’t do without, can’t afford to do without, in fact. Though distressed denim isn’t one of them.

  2. I definitely think you should try to dye the skirt, because clearly this is a process where nothing can go wrong. (Also, you should probably do a step-by-step liveblog. But you should wait until after noon to start so that we can drink wine while it happens.)

    For the record, I would probably not tuck the blouse with those jeans. I like the lines the way they are. But then again, I haven’t ironed in four years, so what do I know?

    • Obvy, there will be NO live blog. But I’m certain nothing will go wrong. Certain.

      Sometimes I tuck the blouse with the jeans. But it’s really slippy (the blouse), so mostly it is untucked by 2 hours after its original tucking. I have this idea that tucking is back on, and that it’s important to do when wearing a sweater over a blouse. Care to discuss?

      • p.s. Ironing is stupid and I support your choice to avoid it.But then again, I only see your clothes once a month or less. So maybe I should reserve judgement.

  3. I love those pinstriped trouser jeans. Score on the subtle pattern mixing as well.

    I too would like to see garden pictures! Flowers please!

    Not at all surprisingly, I say go for it on dyeing that skirt. It’s worth a shot, right?

    • Of course you are for the skirt dyeing. You are awesome at these kinds of things. I will try it but am not-at-all awesome at such elaborate modification!

      Also, I will totally take garden photos. Probably you will regret asking for garden photos as I will take and post so many.

  4. I think a lot about the question of “get rid of it and be wasteful” versus “keep wearing it and therefore encouraging a trend with awful consequences.” In the end, I am just not sure–I tend to keep wearing things until they wear out/stop fitting/become otherwise unuseable, mostly because I worry about waste, but I have never been comfortable with that decision. So please do post pictures of the dying! I want to see how it goes!

  5. Totally agree with the idea of appreciating what you’ve got when you’ve got it – we just never know, do we? Will you be sharing some shots of your garden? It really is a great hobby. I came back from a few days away this weekend to find that my flowers, despite the 90 degree heat, had totally thrived and like quadrupled in size! That never stops amazing me. Yay, nature.

    I think you should try dying that skirt – Gracey over at Fashion for Giants dyed a pair of whiskered jeans, and you seriously couldn’t tell the whiskers had been there (see, check it out: http://fashionforgiants.blogspot.com/2012/04/whiskers-be-gone.html). On another note, who ever thought crotch whiskers were a good idea?

    • Thanks for the advice and the link, Anne. I’m all over this dyeing project and will report back. And yeah. “Crotch whiskers” are terrible in many symbolic and literal ways ;)

      Also, perhaps I will post some garden pictures. There’s little to post right now, but your garden report gives me hope that things will perk up now that the warm weather’s beginning here in earnest.

Leave a Reply

