Get in hair!

Gah! I need a hair cut and colour like nobody’s business. Like yesterday and then some.

And I’ve been putting it off. Because I’m still mourning the loss of my beloved Dina, the perfect stylist I saw for almost 10 years in my last city. We did wonderful things together: deep red with gorgeous white-blond highlights, sedate chestnut with all-over honey & blond highlights, rich wintry brown tinged with fun bronze streaks, and then some more red, but this time bright with even brighter highlights.

Those were some sweet times. Made sweeter by my grad-student status and utter lack of concern about professionalism in the classroom (that was the prof’s job, no?).

But now, not only do I have a (relatively) new state of being: professor, I’ve got a whole new city to orientate myself in this new state. And while I find this city shoppier than the last, I’ve not found a totally satisfying hair-stylist relationship yet – though not for lack of trying. I’ve tried Kelly, who did things I loved with colour and style, then disappeared from that salon. And they won’t tell me where she went.

I’ve tried “she-who-must-not-named-because-even-her-name-now-fills-me-with-rage,” who turned out to be the kind of stylist who works only to reproduce more images of herself. But her black hair with the skunky orange stripes was not great on either her or me.

And I’ve tried a short list of others whom I’ve shown a series of images indicating exactly what I want – and we’re aiming low right now: just a flattering brown colour with some basic face-framing highlights. But no one’s done it.

Currently, I’ve got a too-warm-for-my-face brown going with some faded highlights. Also, I’ve got some root-growth and distressing gray poke-y things happening up near the crown.

In short, I must venture, again, into this risky terrain. Fueling my journey this time is the added desire to avoid any further exchanges with students that reproduce any form of the following interaction (experienced during office hours in December):

STUDENT: Did you get a haircut, or something?
ME: Ah, yes. A little.
STUDENT: It looks WAY better.
ME: (mentally: Hmmph. You know I still have to mark your exam.) Thanks, I think.

This is where, if I were more hooked up in this here fashionblog world, I’d ask for suggestions and post a “Before” picture. But we’re not there, yet, are we my wee fledgling blog? And so, I’m off on my own. . .

4 thoughts on “Get in hair!

  1. I like this idea. There's an Aveda salon just down the street. Do you think they've got the same "rep" to protect?I'll just take this one last risk this Friday. But if that doesn't work out, I'm going to Aveda. Though it's always a little disconcerting to be asked if I'd like a lipstick touch-up before I leave. I know they're just trying to sell make-up, but I cannot help thinking, "Gah. I must look like I need it!"I like your pun. A little.

  2. What about "chain" salons? Vidal Sassoon or Toni and Guy? The stylists are trained "in-house" and often go for upgrade courses to exciting and fashionable cities like New York and London. They have the rep of the brand to protect so I think they are usually a good gamble. Anything like that in PermaFrost? (Get it? That's a pun on "frost". My students never get my puns and I am so obviously hilarious.)

  3. I like this idea. There's an Aveda salon just down the street. Do you think they've got the same "rep" to protect?I'll just take this one last risk this Friday. But if that doesn't work out, I'm going to Aveda. Though it's always a little disconcerting to be asked if I'd like a lipstick touch-up before I leave. I know they're just trying to sell make-up, but I cannot help thinking, "Gah. I must look like I need it!"I like your pun. A little.

  4. What about "chain" salons? Vidal Sassoon or Toni and Guy? The stylists are trained "in-house" and often go for upgrade courses to exciting and fashionable cities like New York and London. They have the rep of the brand to protect so I think they are usually a good gamble. Anything like that in PermaFrost? (Get it? That's a pun on "frost". My students never get my puns and I am so obviously hilarious.)

Leave a Reply

