Class-room Appropriate

Oh, Friday, why are you not today?

And yet, getting out of bed was made (ever so slightly) easier this morning by my plans for today’s new-in-December Mexx dress’s inaugural wearing. If I can figure out how to do so later, I’ll take and post a pic. But I’m on my own this eve and don’t have a tripod. . .

The dress is navy taffeta-like material (‘sorry – I’ve got it on and am too lazy to wiggle around and read the tag) with a high next, no sleeves (in fact, there’s very little shoulder – except my naked ones – in this dress, but I’m wearing a black 3/4-sleeve cardigan), and a big ruffle down the front. I LOVE it. And with these navy opaque tights, chunky black heels, small silver hoops and chunky silver bracelet, I may even have made it “low-key,” if not particularly demure.

And yet. . . this is the shortest skirt by far that I’ve worn this term. I’m not handling the length well, despite all of those dangerously short skirts I got so good at wearing in the late nineties. I spent much of this morning’s 75-minute class trying not to raise my arms. This made the entire laser-pointer-slide-highlighting process more than a bit awkward.

And then: office hours. I should have tried sitting down BEFORE committing to this ensemble! As we speak, I’ve got my black cashmere scarf spread over me like a lap blanket and have, therefore, shifted and sweated through the last two hours of student meetings, quietly fretting that I’m inadvertently flashing a length of upper-thigh.

In short, love the dress, but this may not be the forum for it. ‘Good thing I didn’t convince myself it could be interview attire! I started down that road last night, but decided to give things a test run first. At least I dodged that bullet.

Am sooooooo tempted to do a jeans-and-blazer tomorrow. It’s the day before Reading Week, so campus will be a ghost-town. I could do casual, then – right?

4 thoughts on “Class-room Appropriate

  1. Hi, just found your blog. How short is the dress? I wear skirts up to three inches above the tops of my knees with opaque tights for teaching and meetings. I've had students (and colleagues) look me up and down, but it doesn't really stop me. Great blog and great questions. I do think "yes" to kick ass boots and short skirts with tights. Maybe with flats if the skirt is quite short. I'm at an urban setting as well, and I think my female students like it when I dress up.

  2. Hi, just found your blog. How short is the dress? I wear skirts up to three inches above the tops of my knees with opaque tights for teaching and meetings. I've had students (and colleagues) look me up and down, but it doesn't really stop me. Great blog and great questions. I do think "yes" to kick ass boots and short skirts with tights. Maybe with flats if the skirt is quite short. I'm at an urban setting as well, and I think my female students like it when I dress up.

Leave a Reply

