Of Breaks, Blues, and Bikinis

Woo! That was a great break. Though that week in Jamaica seems like a sweet, beautiful dream now that I’m back in the snow and cold. Last week: bikini & headscarf. This week: sleeping-bag-with-arms over layers and layers of clothing.

As a welcome-back-to-the-grind gift to myself, I opted for my indigo jersey dress yesterday. You know, the one with the v-neck, a-line skirt, and long sleeves with ties at the wrists that create ruching (sp?)? The neckline’s a bit low, even for life outside the classroom, so I wore it over a black cami, added a long thin twice-looped necklace, my thick silver hoops, black tights, and my black Fluevog Bondgirls.

God I love those boots. And I think I’m getting better at working them into classroom appropriate outfits. (As always, however, you have to trust me on this as I’ve not yet worked up the courage to post pictures. Once again, I acknowledge that a fashion-focussed blog with no pictures seems silly, but I’m a nervous nelly.)

In other news, I want to talk bikinis. Obviously, such a discussion is not (directly) related to professorial fashion. But I need ideas for my next trip south – I think we’re heading to Mexico in April, just to take the edge off the city’s horrible winter/spring transition. (And because friends planned an “event” in that location that we’re required to attend. Mr. Visa is taking a hit this term!)

So, bikinis. I have an Ellesport reversible one that I love. It’s a large blue/aqua/white/pink floral pattern on one side, and a deep solid teal on the other. It’s got a halter neck, and the bottom somehow enhances my butt in ways I don’t really understand, but that are pleasing nonetheless. As an added bonus, those colours work with my skin tone in ways I’ve not been able to replicate with real clothes.

I’ve got a few other bikinis, but none are as good as the Ellesport. Now that I’m in my thirties, I’ve found that the cheap string bikinis I swore by in my last decade don’t work as well with a body that requires a touch more support and lift. But I want more bikinis. Awesome ones that make me better than I am, just as the Ellesport one appears to do (or so I choose to believe;)). Because one-piece bathers and tankinis are great – I swear by them by the lakes during Canadian summers – but they’re just not as comfortable for a long-body like me. Plus, bathers with more coverage make me sweaty in all that deep, velvety, wonderfully humid, salty Caribbean air.

And so I ask you, internet, to tell me about good bikinis for thirty-something women. What brands work best for you? What colours and styles work with fair (read: exceptionally pale, almost see-through) skin and ever-so-slightly-in-need-of-firming buns? Is there some kind of magic make of suit that looks awesome on every body?

3 thoughts on “Of Breaks, Blues, and Bikinis

  1. Honey Girl. Sometimes sold at MEC but also available on the internets (google it, I can't be bothered). Bathers made for surfers so they stay put and tops and bottoms are sold separately so you can get the right size. I don't own one but I have tried them on and they rock. Hawaiian floral patterns and solids in lots of options and some are reversible but I think there is something kind of ick about a reversible bather. I also dislike the word "gusset" (this is related, but I'm not sure how. I'm two lectures down today with fatted students lethargic after their break.).Also, Mexico? AND Jamaica? You are dead to me.

  2. Honey Girl. Sometimes sold at MEC but also available on the internets (google it, I can't be bothered). Bathers made for surfers so they stay put and tops and bottoms are sold separately so you can get the right size. I don't own one but I have tried them on and they rock. Hawaiian floral patterns and solids in lots of options and some are reversible but I think there is something kind of ick about a reversible bather. I also dislike the word "gusset" (this is related, but I'm not sure how. I'm two lectures down today with fatted students lethargic after their break.).Also, Mexico? AND Jamaica? You are dead to me.

Leave a Reply

