Gah.

The title of this post is an exclamation (borrowed from Dorky Medievalist, the other writer for this blog) that pretty much summarizes my experience of this month since I started teaching. The marking continues to roll in, I continue to spend hours prepping for classes, and the time I spend sleeping dwindles to a bare, bare minimum. Usually the fatigue and anxiety that characterize this month result in a series of uninspired but safe outfits built around my most comfortable “work pants” and a series of dark sweaters. This year – or this week, at least – I am switching things up.

Having borrowed – not plagiarized (I cite my sources!) – the theme week idea from Academichic and applied another set of themes only to myself, I am mixing it up this month. Last week: dress week. This week: last-chance-this-season week. Each day this week, I’m wearing at least one item of clothing that will be out of season as soon as spring hits in earnest. (I’m planning this “in earnest spring time” to begin exactly March 21st. Even if this northern climate refuses to comply with these plans, I’m going to dress as though it’s nice here instead of horrible.)

Yesterday, I said farewell to these charcoal pleated pants. The pants are super-comfortable in part because they’re a size or two too big for me – a fact I’ve dealt with by p
retending they’re supposed to gather at the waist. They must be retired, however, because they’ve got a pull in the leg that I can’t fix. And the thread is white and pretty obvious. On days when I wear these pants, at least one person will tell me I’ve got lint on my leg. It’s more annoying than the pants are comfortable. And so I’ll say farewell, comfy clownish pants. It’s been OK, but not nice.

Pants: Tahari (pull is at bottom of right pocket – see it? looks like a piece of fuzz)
Cardigan: Kenzi
T-shirt: Garage (that’s right – without the cardigan, it is NOT classroom appropriate)
Shoes: somewhere in Covent Garden (I’ll get back to you about these)
Today, it’s farewell to my black cashmere cardigan. I love this cardi, but it’s getting too warm out to wear it, even when it’s over bare arms, as I’ve warn it today. This means it has to be cleaned more often now, and because I have to dry clean it, it’s not a budget-friendly March fashion choice.

Dress: JAX

Cardigan: L: Pure Cashmere
Belt: Betsey Johnson
Also today, I took a chance and wore these silver shoes, even though students find them distracting and tend not to listen in class when I wear them with dresses. How do I know they’re not listening, you ask? Well, aside from the obvious staring at my feet, most of the questions I get after lecture are about how my shoes “work” (the heels are made from repurposed chair legs/feet) and where I got my shoes (in London, England, from a shop in covent garden – it was Covent Garden, right Medievalist? – that sells environmentally friendly shoes).
And finally, I added these stripe-y tights because this dress can seem intensely conservative – nunnish, even – without a little extra effort. As I had zero interest in putting in extra effort in the hair, make-up, or nail polish areas, legs seemed easiest.
Shoes: (again, I’ll have to get back to you on these)
Tights: Hue
In short, and to sum up: Gah. I despise March.
I love Friday. (And Saturday. And Sunday.) Why can’t end-of-term be now?

7 thoughts on “Gah.

  1. I justify the breadth of my shoe collection by wearing most of them to teach in at least once. To cut down on the teetering around campus this effort requires, I keep shoes under my desk. Right now, I've got about 10 pairs down there, a fact I struggle to hide in student meetings. A friend suggested a shoe rack and this seems like a good idea, but maybe a little too much effort for March.

  2. For pete's sake, why didn't I think of that marker trick? The pants stay, then. Your comments have affirmed my suspicion that in this one rare instance, pleated pants are working for me, not against me.That said, I need new pants. And tops. And maybe a Better Off Ted suit. And the Gravity Pope shoes. Unfortunately, I also need a new job & life in order to find time to and money to shop.

  3. I love that grey dress! Then again, I have been known to dress like a nun (see above). And I can't see the pull in the pants in this picture but I think you should bust out a grey marker and just colour in the white thread because the pants look great and if you are anything like me (except you're not because you're tall) pants that look great are such a rare treasure that I believe we must preserve them in our wardrobes for as long as possible. Save the clownish grey pants! (also, they are not clownish)

  4. I justify the breadth of my shoe collection by wearing most of them to teach in at least once. To cut down on the teetering around campus this effort requires, I keep shoes under my desk. Right now, I've got about 10 pairs down there, a fact I struggle to hide in student meetings. A friend suggested a shoe rack and this seems like a good idea, but maybe a little too much effort for March.

Leave a Reply

