Avec le Retardateur

I finally found the instructions for my camera. The French instructions. So I have some outfit posts–fuzzy, fuzzy outfit posts from a fuzzy, fuzzy Saint Patrick’s Day.
Here are the elements:

Dress: can’t remember; possibly Value Villaged expressly for teaching on Saint Patrick’s Day; the belt requires a bobby pin to stay in place.

Cardi Dress: Park Vogel; this is an ad-free blog so I say this entirely without corporate encouragement: Park Vogel makes some fab clothes that are expensive but often can be purchased deeply discounted from their on-line shop and I have had amazing customer service encounters with their peeps. Once they didn’t charge me for a pair of extra-long leggings, just as a thank you. They rock.
Cardigan: Comrags; v. expensive and part of a set with a skirt and shell, which I bought for the second day of an interview. Has been absolutely the best expensive purchase for my professional wardrobe thus far.
Shoes: Keds
Lecture: Yeats
Drink: Bushmills (not pictured), post-lecture

This is the Comrags ensemble, to which the above cardi belongs, I often wear to work when I can’t think of anything else. Its blackness is guaranteed not to fade.
That is a model, not me. Obviously. I love her shoes. Also obviously.
But I digress. Here is the outfit, in stages:
It is too cold for cap sleeves so I needed to add the cardi. Plus I already had to shave my legs for this outfit, I didn’t want to have to shave the lady-pits as well. (I guarantee that Academic Writer is rolling her eyes right now.)
Here it is with the cardi over top of it all. I really think the photos do not do justice to the necessary layering action. C’est la vie, I suppose.

Here’s a close-up of the little flower buttons on the cardi dress and the white-stitched seams on the green, green dress. I heart those little flower buttons. This is also a close-up of the cat hair I am inevitably dressed in. I keep a lint roller in my office at all times.
Shoe close-up!
Finally, here it is with a body in it, both avec and sans le retardateur. Yelly Kitty also wanted to get a little cat butt in the frame and so I obliged her. You can see the tendency for up-crumple in one of these shots. Because the skirt of the dress is A-line and the cardi dress is a narrower cut, I did spend some time yesterday smoothing, for fear of the inadvertent flash (not from a camera).


The big chance I took yesterday was on the hose (ugh, I dislike that word): nude fishnets. I’m pretty sure they rocked.

5 thoughts on “Avec le Retardateur

  1. Well you just made my day. My week even. I have many, many fit issues (most of them involving pants) but I think my calves are a bit of alright and this dress (and the heeled shoe helps) is just the right length (except when it up-crumples to scandalous heights). It's a shame about the shoes, but you and Academic Writer might have a thing or two to share. She is also an enviably tall drink of water.

  2. You're welcome DorMed. Your calves do look awfully nice here.Hey DM and AW: I just "gave" you ladies a blog award. Pop on over to CC and "get" it. (It's something like an award, a chain letter, and a profiling request. It works for me).

  3. You're welcome DorMed. Your calves do look awfully nice here.Hey DM and AW: I just "gave" you ladies a blog award. Pop on over to CC and "get" it. (It's something like an award, a chain letter, and a profiling request. It works for me).

  4. Well you just made my day. My week even. I have many, many fit issues (most of them involving pants) but I think my calves are a bit of alright and this dress (and the heeled shoe helps) is just the right length (except when it up-crumples to scandalous heights). It's a shame about the shoes, but you and Academic Writer might have a thing or two to share. She is also an enviably tall drink of water.

  5. DM, you've got a rockin' bod. I guess I don't know what your fit issues are like, but I imagine someone as frickin' adorable as you can wear just about anything. I'm also pretty sure that you've got a great haircut.Sorry to gaze, but back to the outfit. I love the little wooden buttons the cardigan, and those great Keds with the dress. Great teaching outfit.Alas, I am 8.5-9 in shoes, but I will lust after the shoes from afar. Thanks for your awesome generosity!

Leave a Reply

