Bubble skirt, naked knees, smooth brown suede

Today’s ensemble left me a little red in the knee, but only because the weather was not nearly as great as morning radio promised. That said, though I was a bit chilly, wearing tights in this weather means risking extreme sweatiness. Probably that’s more than enough said on that front.

In other news, I took a page from the style book of Rad_in_Brooklyn of The Cohabiting Closet and popped the collar of my jacket with my (relatively) bright-coloured scarf. Frankly, this is edgy for me, so I was feeling pretty badass for the portions of my day spent out in the elements.

Jacket: Diesel, Scarf: that place at the Denver airport (the 2 minutes I spent shopping there was the only good part of my 36-hour stranding there during a storm 2 years ago)
When the badass jacket came off, there was just this significantly less badass ensemble left. Please excuse the Wonder Woman stance: I was trying to show the bubble part of this skirt. Question: does it look like I’m wearing an apron? My partner told me I looked like a 1950s wife in this get-up. Of course, it was too late to change by then, so I persevered with the hope that these brown suede boots made things less housewife-y.
Cotton-knit sweater: Jacob
Skirt: Tristan
Boots: Alberta Ferretti (via ebay)
Watch: Timex (Grandma’s remixed)
And just in case you’re interested, here’s closer view of the boot action:
And finally, a quick close-up of the ruby slippers from yesterday’s post. These are like a secret weapon of awesomeness; they’re comfortable enough to stomp around

campus all day. The brown suede boots do NOT offer this feature. If I wore them everyday, I’d have corns, bunions, and plantar fasciitis. In both feet. Good thing they’re smooth and pretty.
Enjoy your long weekend, all! It’s great to have so much time to get that marking done, no? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Bubble skirt, naked knees, smooth brown suede

  1. Those shoes! That skirt! Where do you find these gorgeous pieces? That jacket is badassed, popped color or not. I second DM's endorse of high socks, although mine don't like to stay over the knee (more like with the knee socks).I have loads of grading to do too. Hope you all enjoy it as much as me!(And by the way, it was a hunger strike in which I wore my pre-skinnied jeans. Jeez, it seemed like a good idea at the time. At least I met my fella then).

  2. I see D-hub's point about the apron-esque whiff about the skirt, but I think the boots definitely undercut the fifties housewife vibe. Maybe you should invest in some over the knee socks for those chilly, almost-spring days. I swear by knee socks and think they rock out of the tops of boots, even if they don't creep over the knee. Also, I am enjoying the Wonder Woman stance in these photos and am totally going to copy you (you know, as long as I can look as skinny doing so).

  3. Those shoes! That skirt! Where do you find these gorgeous pieces? That jacket is badassed, popped color or not. I second DM's endorse of high socks, although mine don't like to stay over the knee (more like with the knee socks).I have loads of grading to do too. Hope you all enjoy it as much as me!(And by the way, it was a hunger strike in which I wore my pre-skinnied jeans. Jeez, it seemed like a good idea at the time. At least I met my fella then).

  4. I see D-hub's point about the apron-esque whiff about the skirt, but I think the boots definitely undercut the fifties housewife vibe. Maybe you should invest in some over the knee socks for those chilly, almost-spring days. I swear by knee socks and think they rock out of the tops of boots, even if they don't creep over the knee. Also, I am enjoying the Wonder Woman stance in these photos and am totally going to copy you (you know, as long as I can look as skinny doing so).

Leave a Reply

