Tangled up in blues and bows

Last week’s Mr. Intimidation appears to have dropped the course. And I’m a little disappointed, frankly, as I’ve ended up working against my knee-jerk go-conservative response and have opted instead for outfits involving bows and curve-hugginess this week. I don’t generally possess dangerous curves – and things are especially PG this term as, in a strange and unprecedented twist of fate, stress is whittling away at my hips instead of adding padding – but I’ve got some skirts that make the best of what I’ve currently got going on. And so, I’m emphasizing my “womanliness.”

Students who don’t like it can just try to coerce and intimidate me. And then, they can suck it.
Yesterday’s ensemble had puffy sleeves, arm bows, lots of jewellery, and a pencil skirt:

Blouse: Bob Mackie

(via Winners)
Skirt: Mexx
Boots:
Aldo (remixed)
Necklace: craft show
Bracelet: Hudson’s Bay Co. (sale rack in the old lady jewellery section)
Watch: Timex Indiglo (was my grandmother’s)

And today: a sort of tulip-ish skirt:

I thought about wearing the shoes on the right – the red Fluevogs – but they felt like a little too much shoe for this ensemble. I think th
ey may need more black to ground them. But I’m open to suggestions.
Anyway, I wore the shoes on the left. I wish you could see how deliciously cherry red they are, but I can’t make my camera reproduce the colour.
Sweater: Jacob (it’s navy blue, in case you are wondering about it)
Skirt: Olsen Europe
Hose: Silks (I think the colour’s called Oyster, or Linen; I like it because it’s as pale as I am)
Shoes: Liz Claiborne (Winners, again)
Watch: Timex (remixed)


And here’s what the beautiful Fluevogs look like up close. Drool-worthy, no? And yet, I search (and fail repeatedly in my quest) for the perfect outfit to support their awesomeness.

6 thoughts on “Tangled up in blues and bows

  1. Sorry to hear that stress is having a toll on you (it did the same to me when I started my job. A professorial negative seven, rather than a freshman fifteen?). Way to go flaunt it anyway. These outfits are both great. I especially dig the blue of the Bob Mackie blouse. Beautiful. I'm glad to hear that Mr. Harasser is gone. I hope that he's embarrassed about how badly his actions reflect upon him (maybe that is hoping too much).I actually couldn't see the upclose photo of the Fluevogs but they were pretty darn cute with the second outfit as well.

  2. I think the bows may be a trifle frivolous but they also seem to be the point of the blouse. Can you snip them so they are just flat bows without the tickling tails? I think the sleeve needs some kind of cuff so you should keep that somehow. You are the wiz with the sewing machine so I'm sure you can make it happen.What business do I have writing for a fashion blog when I don't a) own a sewing machine or (more importantly) b) know the first thing about sewing. I have found a super awesome tailor dude here in Cold, Wet Spring so that is a skill, right? I've got a few things for him to hem (including a beautiful wool skirt that hits me at the tree-trunk part of my leg) and I'm thinking about getting him to skinnify a pair o' jeans for me a la Rad. Getting stuff tailored is almost like shopping. But less expensive.

  3. That Bob Mackie blouse was, seriously, no more than 30 bucks! I've been contemplating eliminating the bows. They're tickly and frivolous, no?And Rad, I really hope Mr. Harasser is reflecting on his bad behaviour. Also, I fixed the Fluevog pic, I think. And I have a new plan to make a scarf like you did – because that was brilliant and the colour looks really great on you.Finally, DM, I think you might be onto to something with the whole black capris & simple top suggestion. I've got that stuff. Probably I could make it work before the lecture schedule ends next Friday. It's nice to have a plan.

  4. Sorry to hear that stress is having a toll on you (it did the same to me when I started my job. A professorial negative seven, rather than a freshman fifteen?). Way to go flaunt it anyway. These outfits are both great. I especially dig the blue of the Bob Mackie blouse. Beautiful. I'm glad to hear that Mr. Harasser is gone. I hope that he's embarrassed about how badly his actions reflect upon him (maybe that is hoping too much).I actually couldn't see the upclose photo of the Fluevogs but they were pretty darn cute with the second outfit as well.

  5. Stress is nature's diet plan.I love this blouse on you. I think you are the Winners master because I never seem to find Bob Mackie gems there. Bob Mackie! He designed for Carol Burnett. You are so almost famous.I really don't mind the Fluevogs with the second outfit, though the other shoes work as well. I think cherry red was the way to go. What if you just wear the Fluevogs with black capris and a black top (or a white top), you know, so they are the featured artist of the ensemble? They are a lot of shoe, but they are gorgeous on you. (couplet not intended)

Leave a Reply

