Champagne Tastes:Tiffany "S" Pendant

When I was a child, I had a nameplate necklace that proclaimed my name in cursive long before I ever could (and long before Carrie Bradshaw ever did), so I’ve always had a secret love of monograms even though I have nothing monogrammed. I do love this necklace, however:

Elsa Peretti Letter “S” Pendant, Tiffany’s
Photo source: Tiffany.ca
How I would wear it: With everything. It’s a signature piece, quite literally. It’s from Tiffany’s, designed by Elsa Peretti (of the Tiffany bean, which I also covet) and I love its curvy confidence. Most people call me “Medievalist” (including my students) because it’s my last name but I love the interrupted moebius-quality of this “s” (full name S. Dorky Medievalist) and its nod to my secret, secret self.
And nothing very bad could happen to you in Tiffany’s.
Reasons to hesitate: Funding, as usual. Can we just agree that funding is an inherent deterrent in “Champagne Tastes”? It’s not so out-of-reach for something I would plan to have forever, though.
But I also love this, which has a similar allure with a much more reasonable price tag:
Letter “S” Vintage Typewriter Key Necklace
How I would wear it: As above, though it is a little more casual and perhaps less of a “forever” piece. But maybe not. It’s made out of an old typewriter key, so it is actually more appropriate for me in that sense. And I enjoy its no-nonsense and modern simplicity.
Reasons to hesitate: Few. And I would be supporting an independent designer. And recycling.
But what I really love, is this:

Anchor Pendant in Sterling Silver, Tiffany’s
Photo source: Tiffany.ca

An anchor charm signals hope. My Mum wants to buy me a robot vacuum cleaner, which would be fun to watch the cats ride around on, but I’m willing to forgo that for a Tiffany’s anchor pendant, because it’s nice to be reminded that there is hope.
* In Professorial Fashion is not sponsored by Keys and Memories at Etsy or by Tiffany’s. My endorsement is entirely independent.

Do you have a signature piece of jewellery? Something that you rarely are without? Something that signals hope?

12 thoughts on “Champagne Tastes:Tiffany "S" Pendant

  1. I also have my name in script! I've had that necklace forever, but don't wear it now. I love initials necklace charms – the Tiffany version is so pretty, but there's something really cool about that typewriter letter. Plus it's from a typewriter, and I'm a writer… that's pretty much a match made in heaven! My signature piece of jewelry is my vintage jade ring. I just love wearing it and can't imagine seeing it on anyone else.

  2. Hmmmm… I really don't have any signature jewelry. I hardly even wear my wedding rings. I like the idea of switching it up everyday. But you know what I really want to find? A necklace with 'Jentine' on it…

  3. WB, your jewellery is fabulous! I love your Lucrezia Borgia poison rings.J, you mean you can't find a "Jentine" necklace on the internet? I am disillusioned.WWNW, the Etsy seller mentioned above makes Scrabble tile necklaces too! I always think I like the game of Scrabble more than I actually do–too much math.

  4. Hmmmm… I really don't have any signature jewelry. I hardly even wear my wedding rings. I like the idea of switching it up everyday. But you know what I really want to find? A necklace with 'Jentine' on it…

  5. I too enjoy the typewriter charms. I like the ones that say things like "margin release" and "ribbon key" but, never having used a manual typewriter (except once in typing class in high school as a novelty break from Word Perfect 1.0-ha!), I have no idea what they mean. Very cool idea for jewellery though. I applaud this etsy seller's eye.OiB I have admired your jade ring in your posts many times–such a great size and colour and so distinctive. And Rad I forgot that you are not a jewellery person. Though I agree on the "S" names. Most of my favourite people are "S" names, just by accident.

  6. I also have my name in script! I've had that necklace forever, but don't wear it now. I love initials necklace charms – the Tiffany version is so pretty, but there's something really cool about that typewriter letter. Plus it's from a typewriter, and I'm a writer… that's pretty much a match made in heaven! My signature piece of jewelry is my vintage jade ring. I just love wearing it and can't imagine seeing it on anyone else.

  7. DM: Thanks for posting the link to the etsy seller. These typewriter key necklaces are frickin' amazing. I wear no jewelry, except one very thin wedding band made by an etsy seller. It's so small, that it's pretty much unnoticeable. But I have my key on that German key. And possibly an A key for a friend. Oh, so cool. Oh, and I'm an "S" too. S name is pretty rad, I have to say.

Leave a Reply

