Sweetness & Toughness

I like my job, I really do. But I cannot begin to explain how much I LOVE the end of term. After teaching way too much these last 8 months – an experience I will NOT be repeating – the conclusion of my horrific lecture schedule is sweet, sweet, sweet!

The end of lectures, however, is not the end of student interaction. I try to remember how much I like interacting with the majority of the students in my classes when a minority of their peers begin to panic about the final exam and/or blame me for and/or demand that I do extra work so that their mark doesn’t reflect their poor performance in the course.
Even though I’m tempted to wear much more casual things right now, this part of the term really calls for a stronger look. A look – or at least an attitude – that my beloved Bondgirls help me achieve. (As the weather continues to warm, I’ll need to channel toughness through outfits with significantly fewer layers than this one has!)

This is actually an outfit from last week – one I wish I’d worn today during an office-hour interaction that went something like this:
Student: I came back because I want you to look at my paper, again. I don’t agree with the mark; I think I did better than this. So, I want you to re-mark it.
Me: No. I’m not doing any of that. I’ve already spent plenty of time going through your paper. I’ve provided comments throughout indicating where improvement is needed. If there are specific sections you have questions about, I’m happy to discuss them with you to explain what needs to be done to improve your writing. But I’m not marking your work, again, just because you’re unhappy with your mark.
Student: Huh. (pauses, seems to be trying to stare me down, then shrugs) Well, it was worth a try.
Although she left and didn’t argue any more today,

we’ll see if this is the end of this issue for her. I had a
similarly semi-agreeable student appeal ALL of her marks in my course last year after an interaction like this one. The basis for her appeal: her mom read her work and said it was good.
Boots: Fluevog Bondgirls
Scarf: from a random street vendor in Toronto – because I am (occasionally) just that cheap
Footless Tights: American Apparel
T-shirt: American Apparel
Dress: Fylo By Nylon (remixed)
‘Got any tough outfits, internet? What do you wear to feel B.A.* and professional?
* B.A. is a hip term the cool kids are using these days. I learned it from Rad_in_Brooklyn over at Cohabiting Closet who learned it from her extra-cool (or hip, or phat, or whatever means what we used to mean when we said “cool” back in the day) little sister. (It means BAD A$$) ‘Awesome, no?

11 thoughts on “Sweetness & Toughness

  1. This is much jealousness coming at you from over here. Those boots are B.A. As is your outfit. Do you really have to still deal with students giving you a hard time about grades after the classes? Usually, I tell them that I am away from campus after classes are over and they are welcome to make an appointment with me next semester, and by then any anger they have subsides. Ick.The eval went swimmingly, I think, except that I talked too fast. Which is to be predicted. I hope this last bit of unpleasantness goes by quickly.

  2. oh man, i hear you on the semester's end–can't wait! those particular interactions with students drive me absolutely nuts! it's terrific that you're holding your ground.and you're right, the right outfit makes all the difference in small moments like that.

  3. OMG, I want to be a BA BG! But I am certain I could not pull off those boots. AW is a much tougher prof than I am, to my detriment.That said, if I wore a leather, spiked wristband, B, I am certain I would accidentally slash my throat in class. That would be pretty BA though.

  4. 'Love the BA Bond Girl Conference idea. Let's watch for others to invite. Perhaps in the mean time, we could do a panel on someone's blog about professorial Bondgirl ensembles.'Good idea re: obligatory treatise writing. It may be worth a shot. . .

  5. I make my students write up a treatise as to why I should re-mark their paper if they want to challenge a grade. Since I instituted that policy four years ago, I've had no one challenge their marks.We should have a BA Bond Girl conference sometime. I love mine and wore them all winter!

  6. That is so funny beause I did rock star chic for my classes this week and they actually found me MORE approachable. We have to try wearing leather spiked wristbands.

  7. Rad, telling students you're not available until next term is the best, most B.A. idea, yet. I'll be using that strategy, for sure!What Would a Nerd Wear – your outfits are always B.A., so I'll be trolling your blog even more than usual over the next coupla weeks!DM, we're sharing the load, 'cause I get a giant stack of marking in tomorrow and don't anticipate emerging from it for at least a week. 'So NOT B.A.

  8. oh man, i hear you on the semester's end–can't wait! those particular interactions with students drive me absolutely nuts! it's terrific that you're holding your ground.and you're right, the right outfit makes all the difference in small moments like that.

  9. How do you pronounce BAD A$$? Is there a salient difference between BAD ASS and BAD A$$? I'm not being facetious, I really want to know. This is what I do, yo (palaeography, dialect, awesomeness).Also I am just coming up for air after a particularly weird and crappy and euphoric and marking-heavy week, so thanks for picking up the slack on the blog AW. I will post some BAD A$$ photos soon. As soon as I finish marking … And as soon as I get my BAD A$$ to the dry cleaners …

  10. This is much jealousness coming at you from over here. Those boots are B.A. As is your outfit. Do you really have to still deal with students giving you a hard time about grades after the classes? Usually, I tell them that I am away from campus after classes are over and they are welcome to make an appointment with me next semester, and by then any anger they have subsides. Ick.The eval went swimmingly, I think, except that I talked too fast. Which is to be predicted. I hope this last bit of unpleasantness goes by quickly.

Leave a Reply

