This just in: April/End-of-term. In other news: Skirt Saves Instructor’s Career

How do you think about months? Do you picture them as calendars? And if you do, are those monthly calendars different colours? I ask, of course, because my months are colours.

Before I became an academic, February was cheap cherry red, March was deep shamrock green and April was bright kelly green. Now that my life follows the rhythm of the school year, again, February’s navy blue, March is (as noted above) bottomless black, and April is warm, sweet, buttery, bright yellow. This year, it seems even brighter and warmer than usual, in both real and symbolic ways.
Once again this exam period, I was appointed Chief Invigilator in my examination room, despite being one of the less experienced instructors on a campus full of Baby Boomer and Gen X faculty. But this time I arrived at my examination room only to discover that the Chief Invigilator was also the ONLY invigilator present. So this “Chief” had to supervise a room full of students alone, breaching university protocol left, right, and centre, as there was no way I could stay in the room AND supervise students on bathroom breaks, etc.
And as I struggled across campus to my car afterwards, bitter, alone, and balancing 150 freshly-filled exam booklets (plus the extra packets of booklets which, apparently, MUST be returned to the department because we PAY for those) it was sweet buttery April that kept me from dumping it all in the goose poop by the river and burning out of there once and for all. Well, April, the knowledge that I’ll never teach this many classes at once ever again, and my new yellow-skirt-based ensemble.
Thanks to your tips (especially one from a mysterious but awesome comment from “My”), I learned that stripes are neutrals. So I took this top, belt, & bangle:
and put them together with this skirt, jacket, & shoes. Then I posed in front of the barbecue so that my waist looks crooked and my feet look large. But I hope you get the idea. Because this outfit got me through today.
So thanks for your part in that. And thank goddess it’s April.
Top: Linea Domani (via Winner’s)
Belt: Chinese Laundry (Winner’s, again)
Bangle: The Bay (remixed)
Jacket: DKNY (remixed)
Skirt: Anthropologie (remixed)
Shoes: Clarks (remixed)*
* p.s. – These shoes get a serious fashion citation for blistering me horribly & for almost fracturing the balls of my feet. Which was totally unexpected as these are supposed to be my “comfortable” heels. In their defense, however, I wore them with bare feet while walking up & down the cement floor in the exam room for 3 hours without a break. So I’ll give them one more chance before they’re pushed to the “only with tights or trouser socks” section.

6 thoughts on “This just in: April/End-of-term. In other news: Skirt Saves Instructor’s Career

  1. Dude – is this month not excruciating for you? It's awful that your term ends so late.Also, I will try the insoles, for sure.And finally, I just let the bathroom goers leave and return on their own. Yep. I keep it extra-professional.How's your conference, btw? Are you presenting, or just checking things out?

  2. I can't believe you were the only one present to invigilate. That's nuts. What did you end up doing with them, bathroom breaks wise?Those shoes are great. Have you considered a pair of thin insoles? They might help with the blistering when going sockless. Or those weird looking peds for ladies who want a sock like thing when wearing summery shoes. Anyway, you make that yellow skirt rock and I am glad to hear that semester is coming to end (jealously, of course. May is said happy month for me, although I can't get them to think about stuff in class now to save their lives).

  3. Ha! I'm glad the cheater didn't prosper. And I agree that My Edit is brilliant.Also, I slathered my feet in the foot chapstick, but one-and-half hours in, I'd walked it all away. Or my feet sucked it all in because, like the rest of me, they're parched in this desert-like climate.

  4. This outfit is gorgeous and I agree with My Edit, who has amazing taste, that stripes are a go-to neutral. This is a stroke of fashion brilliance. What about those shoes with the foot chapstick?Also, I invigilate all of my exams here by myself, but I have much smaller classes. Nonetheless, I had a student email me last term to tell me that the guy sitting next to her had the text book open on his lap for the whole exam. He failed the exam, despite his cheating ways.

  5. Dude – is this month not excruciating for you? It's awful that your term ends so late.Also, I will try the insoles, for sure.And finally, I just let the bathroom goers leave and return on their own. Yep. I keep it extra-professional.How's your conference, btw? Are you presenting, or just checking things out?

  6. I can't believe you were the only one present to invigilate. That's nuts. What did you end up doing with them, bathroom breaks wise?Those shoes are great. Have you considered a pair of thin insoles? They might help with the blistering when going sockless. Or those weird looking peds for ladies who want a sock like thing when wearing summery shoes. Anyway, you make that yellow skirt rock and I am glad to hear that semester is coming to end (jealously, of course. May is said happy month for me, although I can't get them to think about stuff in class now to save their lives).

Leave a Reply

