Puss ‘n Boots

These are my boots. And my cats. As you can see The Vampire Cat has a healthy relationship with his body.
This is the follow-up to my shoe inventory. These are boots I wear at, to, from, and away from, work. I thought I had way more. Congratulations, Medievalist, on your restraint. I wear boots almost every day of the teaching year because I live in The Wetlands where boots are required for winter and spring; it is spring until July here. I have even worn the red wellies and the Sorels during lecture. Not on purpose. I should keep shoes in my office …


The Wellies. Red, Hunter; White with goldfish, Cougar. In The Wetlands it is prudent to have two pairs of wellies.
PROS: Dry feet.

CONS: Cold feet. The first winter I lived here I thought I could get away with wearing these with warm socks. I was wrong.
SOLUTION: see below
Fish close-up (below this)


The Winter Saviour. Sorel Joan of Arctic.
PROS: Blissfully dry, warm feet; like they are being burned at the stake.
CONS: Not as comfortable as they are warm. I blame on-line shopping. And winter.
SOLUTION: Moleskin or global warming.


The Mrs Cook. Elle. In Grade Six I had a teacher called Mrs Cook who wore boots like this everyday with long pencil skirts, turtleneck sweaters and big hoop earrings. I think she was my first style icon.
PROS: Very, very comfortable. I have run to catch a bus and also gotten down with my bad self on the dance floor in these. Plus I wear them to work.
CONS: Wear, starting to shabbify. Too much busting of moves.
SOLUTION: Cobbler?

The Dejavu. Red patent leather, Fly London. These have appeared here before, masquerading as a shoe.

PROS: Blood red!
CONS: None! (yet)
SOLUTION: How do you care for patent leather?


The Staples. Blundstones.
PROS: Waterproof, practically indestructible, and great with jeans.
CONS: My high arches. My forgetfulness–I wear these so often (though never to work) that I forget that they are not practical for flying (in planes).
SOLUTION: Don’t wear them on planes.

The Kick-Ass. Frye Harness Boot (via eBay; isn’t it awesome that women’s feet grow after they get pregnant? Awesome for me, I mean.). Sometimes I think that these are too much boot for me to pull off. And sometimes that is literally true.
PROS: Urban cool.
CONS: Cowboy cool.

SOLUTION: Be more urban. And cool. Maybe get a motorcycle.



The Ones That Got Away. Camper Spirals.
I have bought these boots, and returned them, twice. Twice! I have what A-Dub has dubbed shopping bulimia wherein I panic about the money I spend on clothes or shoes (sometimes groceries) and I return things (unopened in the case of food items, obviously).
But how can I go wrong with flat, black knee-high boots?
I can’t, can I?
Photo source: Camper.com

9 thoughts on “Puss ‘n Boots

  1. I've never taught in my Fryes because I think they are too scruffy for the classroom. I could clean them up but I like the scruffiness of them–more BA. I usually just wear them with jeans. I wore them once with my A-line denim skirt (also not a teachable) but the look was a little too line-dancing. Still experimenting. Will find an outfit to show them off, Rad.My grade school teacher was fab. I have a memory of her as very tall and she always wore sky-high heels and had a great stride. She also had this really great wispy pixie haircut and wore lots of liquid eyeliner. I bet she woud know how to wear my Fryes.

  2. DM, your shoe inventories are absolutely killing me. Those fishies are kick ass. And I'd love to see you in the Urban cowboy boots. Maybe living in NYC has made me totally unafraid of looking a little like George Jones. Also, love the mental image of your grade school teacher.

  3. OMG, 'feeling the need either to browbeat you into the outfit Rad suggested, or to fly east and try to stuff you into it – that is, if you're resisting it. If you're into it, consider me over-zealous (and maybe a little drunk – I LOVE end-of-term) and appropriately apologetic. Also, I'm loving the black with Fly London ankle boots outfit Beth describes. Probably you should wear that, too. Asap. And then post pictures of yourself in it.

  4. I see the GJ (George Jones, whom I adore. I tried to get Blokey to grow out sideburns but he rebuffed me) boots in the classroom dark skinny jeans (tucked in), a dark blazer, and a brightly colored top underneath or a great scarf/necklace. It will be very sleek, dark, and edgy with just that pop of color. Maybe like AW during exam period, you could wear these boots to communicate "Don't screw with Dr. DorkyMed!"

  5. I consider myself pretty daring style wise, but I have never worn wellies to lecture in. I tend err on the side of formality or edgy in the classroom. I do wear boots untill summer. Your right, Brooklyn, it must be a NY thing. I would rock those red boots. They would look great with a black tights, a black pencil skirt and a black sweater. i think u could wear the frye boot in the classroom if you make the rest of the outfit super corporate tailored. It would make it a cool contrast.

  6. Oh yeah, the fishie wellies do bother my arches after a long day. I also find the wedge kind of squishy and I often fall over on my ankles when I'm in a hurry but don't want to flat out run. Of course, I am also prone to falling over.

  7. I've never taught in my Fryes because I think they are too scruffy for the classroom. I could clean them up but I like the scruffiness of them–more BA. I usually just wear them with jeans. I wore them once with my A-line denim skirt (also not a teachable) but the look was a little too line-dancing. Still experimenting. Will find an outfit to show them off, Rad.My grade school teacher was fab. I have a memory of her as very tall and she always wore sky-high heels and had a great stride. She also had this really great wispy pixie haircut and wore lots of liquid eyeliner. I bet she woud know how to wear my Fryes.

  8. I didn't know you'd returned the Campers twice. Your condition is even more severe than I thought. Those boots are perfect in every way.As are the Fly London ankle boots and the Frye Harness beauties. I covet them. A LOT. And I've been trying to copy you and purchase some already-broken-in Fryes online. But I keep cheaping out – or losing auctions.Do you teach in the Fryes? If so, what do you wear with them?Also, ha! We cannot live in the same city ever again. Because I've got those Sorels (and they aren't particularly comfortable for me, either), and I've got the black version of the fish wellies (do you find they squeeze your arches, too?). We clearly have excellent taste.I feel that your boot wardrobe needs expansion.

  9. DM, your shoe inventories are absolutely killing me. Those fishies are kick ass. And I'd love to see you in the Urban cowboy boots. Maybe living in NYC has made me totally unafraid of looking a little like George Jones. Also, love the mental image of your grade school teacher.

Leave a Reply

