NSFW: FCUK Sequined Dress

Don’t hate me because I submitted my grades.
This time last year I had also submitted my grades and I was on an epic flight (read: United, you suck) to Vegas to celebrate A-Dub’s singleton status one last time. These photos, and this dress, are from that trip.

Obviously a sequined tunic dress is not suitable for work, but I love this dress and, truth be told, I created the NSFW category just so I could show it off. After this, I got nothin’.
When I lived in the UK, I coveted this dress but for $300+ it was unthinkable and (remains) impractical but that did not stop me from trying it on several times.
Fast forward to two years later and I am in an outlet mall in Vegas and there it is, for $50. In my size. Obviously I had to buy it even though it is still impractical for most things. But not for Vegas.
This is me in a limousine, imagining my own death.
This is me in the hotel room, praying for my own death.
Dress: French Connection
Shoes: Via Spiga via Winners
Earrings: Tarina Tarantino (lucite hoops)
Purse: Roots
Drink: Vodka
In fact, I have worn this dress to a work event. This winter I and a few of my colleagues represented our university and participated in a public reading of The Odyssey–24 books in 24 hours–to raise funds for a local organisation that provides humanities education for free (including the books!) to those living below the poverty line. It was a fabulous event and, since we were reading Book V at 11pm on a Friday night, I thought I would make an effort and bust out the sequins. Over $24,000 was raised and we received this t-shirt:
There is nowhere appropriate to wear this t-shirt.

11 thoughts on “NSFW: FCUK Sequined Dress

  1. Jealousy burns my soul because you are done grading and classes are still in session for me. Argh!That dress is fabulous, and I'm with Rad – you're legs are super fine!I really think you could wear that t-shirt with jeans and a blazer to administer a final exam or to hold a review session. I definitely would.

  2. Obviously I posted these shots because my legs are looking uncharacteristically fine (though be careful not to look at their blinding whiteness directly). I think there is some inadvertent angle-working going on here; clearly vodka makes me fierce. Or possibly pervy.I love the idea of casualing this dress up with some skinnies, a blazer (newly acquired!) and killer limousine heels. And the t-shirt? As with all t-shirts that are free, it almost reaches my knees and is about twice my width, but it makes me giggle like a schoolgirl.

  3. Jealousy burns my soul because you are done grading and classes are still in session for me. Argh!That dress is fabulous, and I'm with Rad – you're legs are super fine!I really think you could wear that t-shirt with jeans and a blazer to administer a final exam or to hold a review session. I definitely would.

  4. Um, I do hate you a little bit because you're done with the teaching part of your job for a few months (ahh, let the research and writing frenzy, or guilt trip for failing to live up to self-imposed expectations- begin!) But I love this post. You're so fricking funny. I'm glad that AW's bachelorette got you and a killer sequined dress together. This dress might like great "casualed" with blazers, skinny jeans, and killer heels. Like really killing your feet. P.S. Your legs are lookin' fine in these shots. Hope that's not too pervy.

Leave a Reply

