NSFW: Green Silk & Pale Pink Tango Dresses

Last summer, I got married, even though I kind of hate being in weddings. My partner is a traditionalist who really wanted a big wedding. Thus, after 11 enjoyable years with him, the rarely-seen latent-romantic side of me allowed myself to be convinced that the wedding would be do-able – and that we should do it toute de suite in order to have professional images of us looking young(ish) and beautiful.
1.
But there was no way I was wearing a white dress. I look terrible in white. So I wore two different dresses. This is the one I wore for the ceremony:
Dress: Vogue Badgley Mischka Pattern # V1030
Sandals:* Town Shoes
Gold-plate Cuff: ?? (my cousin’s shop – but it seems Foxy-ish, no?)
Purse: Vintage (was my grandmother’s)
* Sad story: I wore those freakishly comfortable 4-inch strappy heels to another wedding later last summer & broke them stumbling down the quaint stone steps with my sister-in-law at 2 am after a LOT of champagne. The cobbler I begged to save them explained they could not be recuperated as the heel shaft had snapped. In my defense, the champagne was absolutely necessary. The live band kept covering AC/DC, but adding 3-part harmony. D-Med can corroborate my story, I think, as I’m pretty sure I texted her A LOT that night.
2. And here’s what I wore for the reception (mine, not the shoe-break one):
Dress: Sue Wong Nocturne
Rhinestone & Faux-silver Cuff: Melanie Lyne
Sandals: Naturalizer
Apologies for the half-smooching shot; it’s the only one I have that shows the criss-crossed straps in the back of the dress.
I love both of these dresses & am trying to imagine other occasions on which to wear them. I think if I shorten the green one to knee-length, I could wear it to other summer weddings. But the pink one’s a bit too naked to wear to someone else’s wedding – right? Sometimes I throw it on with a white blazer and a pair of flats and tell myself it can take me out to dinner. But I never make it out the door.
Obviously, neither dress is suitable for work – but wouldn’t it be great to have a job to which they could be worn?
And finally, as I’m the sad owner of entirely too many (and often monstrous) taffeta, satin, and crepe de chine bridesmaid dresses I’ve never worn more than once, I decided not to torture my friends by asking them to be bridesmaids. But then my partner made me do it (those of you who’ve had weddings will know you have to pick your battles). But he couldn’t make me tell them what to wear, and neither he nor my mother could convince me that any of my side of the bridal party should carry flowers. (How many times have you been a bridesmaid and been forced to bring a date just so there’d be someone to carry your lipstick?)
3. Our super-stylish bridesmaids wore and carried the following (guess which one is D-Med!)*:
Dresses: I know at least 2 of them are Ted Baker
Clutches: (no clue!)
* My brother was also a bridesmaid – matron of honour, in fact – but he wore a tux & you already know what those look like, no?

15 thoughts on “NSFW: Green Silk & Pale Pink Tango Dresses

  1. Pingback: NSFW: IPF Summit, or Rinty the Crusher’s Wedding | In Professorial Fashion

  2. D-Med: is that dress a suitable candidate for a future NSFW post?Also, I'm loving the 'wear-it-on-my-anniversary' plan. As long as I can remember my anniversary – there's a chance I've blocked it as a result of trauma experienced during wedding battling/planning.

  3. Beautiful both dresses. Looking very statuesque, young and beautiful. The colors and the drape of the fabric(s?) are just amazing. I love that your fella was the more traditional one (I've heard that this is often the case in academic couplings, although I have not idea what he does). I picked my share of battles with Blokey (he is the fiercely independent one) out of respect for our family and guests, and he has admitted begrudgingly that I was probably right.Also, I knew right away that the lovely lady in the stand up collar and awesome posture was D-Med. (Maybe the hair gave it away too). It's also a lovely dress, and I'm guessing it's about knee length?

  4. I've never liked the fashion pressure for brides to wear white, so I applaud your bold choices. I love the dreamy, romantic pink dress, but the green dress just knocks me over – it is stunning! I particularly like the juxtaposition of the bold, ruffled green option followed by the softer, sparkly pink and silver ensemble.

  5. I've never liked the fashion pressure for brides to wear white, so I applaud your bold choices. I love the dreamy, romantic pink dress, but the green dress just knocks me over – it is stunning! I particularly like the juxtaposition of the bold, ruffled green option followed by the softer, sparkly pink and silver ensemble.

  6. Ah! Love both wedding dresses and the bridesmaids dresses… I also let the girls pick what they wanted. Sometimes I think that brides pick butt ugly bridesmaids dresses to keep the attention on the bride…just a theory…

  7. I love both dresses, but especially the one you wore to your reception. I had two dresses, both were ivory, but I flirted for a long time with a purple gown.I was an attendant on Herr Doktor's side when he and thechemist-coture got married last summer, and Herr Doktor was my man of honor.

  8. D-Med: is that dress a suitable candidate for a future NSFW post?Also, I'm loving the 'wear-it-on-my-anniversary' plan. As long as I can remember my anniversary – there's a chance I've blocked it as a result of trauma experienced during wedding battling/planning.

  9. Beautiful both dresses. Looking very statuesque, young and beautiful. The colors and the drape of the fabric(s?) are just amazing. I love that your fella was the more traditional one (I've heard that this is often the case in academic couplings, although I have not idea what he does). I picked my share of battles with Blokey (he is the fiercely independent one) out of respect for our family and guests, and he has admitted begrudgingly that I was probably right.Also, I knew right away that the lovely lady in the stand up collar and awesome posture was D-Med. (Maybe the hair gave it away too). It's also a lovely dress, and I'm guessing it's about knee length?

  10. I love this post! And, as you know, I love both of those dresses. Such a civilised approach to wedding attire. I could go on about wedding dresses in the middle ages (which were not white), but I don't want to make anyone immediately switch to You Tube to watch Japanese game shows while I lecture.I have a shot of the back of this dress, mid-tango with the Dubs-Hubs making his tango face. But I think the smoochy face one is nice too, especially because of your updo.

  11. I love the colorful (literally and ideologically) approach you took to your wedding and thanks for the shots- I love weddings. The cool thing is that now you can wear that dress on say, your enniversary and it will have such special meaning and yet not look like your shooting an ad running around town in it. BTW- My mom got married in a brown pantsuit

Leave a Reply

