Paint It Black

In an effort to keep myself honest about posting outfits regularly, I am declaring this “New York Cool” week, which really just means that I will be trotting out all of my black teaching clothes for you to weigh in on. I seem to wear black a lot when I teach, mostly because it absorbs all manner of stains, but also because I think it lends me an air of seriousness that works against my teaching style. I’m serious about my work but I tap dance a lot at the front of the classroom to get apathetic and recalcitrant students to share my enthusiasm for the middle ages.

Here’s my proposal:
Monday: NYC: First Day of School
Tuesday: NYC: Jazz Hands
Wednesday: NYC: Le Rouge et Le Noir
Thursday: NYC: Rowr
Friday: NYC: A loaf of bread, a container of milk, and a stick of butter
Until tomorrow.
How awesome is this dress?
Photo Source: cuburamarcela.com
Posted in NYC

8 thoughts on “Paint It Black

  1. Do you seriously tap in front of the students? I've jumped around the classroom and shouted "Oy!" at my students to get their attention (when they're litless, not when they're disruptive- I blame Ikke Ikke for all my English-isms. Sounds like a cool theme for a week.

  2. D-Med-specific because I'm so cool, right? Nope, you don't have to do it too, unless you want to. Possibly you are worried that you won't be as NYCool as I.Rad, I metaphorically and literally tap dance. Literally when I am teaching scansion and I have been known to demonstrate strophe and antistrophe when teaching Greek drama. "Oy!" I reserve for the cats, who usually ignore it.

  3. D-Med-specific because I'm so cool, right? Nope, you don't have to do it too, unless you want to. Possibly you are worried that you won't be as NYCool as I.Rad, I metaphorically and literally tap dance. Literally when I am teaching scansion and I have been known to demonstrate strophe and antistrophe when teaching Greek drama. "Oy!" I reserve for the cats, who usually ignore it.

  4. Do you seriously tap in front of the students? I've jumped around the classroom and shouted "Oy!" at my students to get their attention (when they're litless, not when they're disruptive- I blame Ikke Ikke for all my English-isms. Sounds like a cool theme for a week.

  5. What a week and what a great dress. How many times do you curse your black wardrobe after you realize you have spent even a split second leaning against the chalk board during a lecture?

Leave a Reply

