NYC: First Day of School

Dress: Theory
Shoes: Stuart Weitzman

Bracelet: Tarina Tarantino
Essential Accessory: miraculous and packable cardi, Comrags (not pictured)
Bicycle Grease: Schwinn 5-Star Cruiser (not pictured)

I wore this outfit on the first day in the fall term, which is just about the only time that the weather (or I) permits sleevelessness in the classroom. I love this dress a) because it is not fussy but still interesting (I heart those pleats, which are also on the back of the dress, as does my dry cleaner) and b) because it was deeply discounted at an outlet in Vegas, baby. It also lends itself well to a myriad of accessories.

All of these shoes have danced with this dress at one time or another, though I wouldn’t wear the lace sling-backs to teach or conference in: London Sole, Topshop, Dune; Stuart Weitzman, Zinda; Nine West

Truth be told I don’t often wear this dress to teach in (though I have worn it a couple of times to conferences), or these shoes, but I still think of the first day of school as a kind of Sunday-go-to-meeting dressing opportunity. I accessorized this dress on the first day of school with some bicycle grease because, in a manner I should by now be accustomed to, my best laid plans to appear put together gang oft awry. My chain flew off when I flew over a pothole and I had to provide some roadside assistance to my ride.

What do you wear on the first day of school?

10 thoughts on “NYC: First Day of School

  1. I love this first-day-of-school outfit! That dress has gorgeous details and those shoes have such a great, classic shape. You look wonderful.

  2. This dress is to die for: buttoned up collar, pintuck bodice, tab waist, and symmetrical pleats? (Can you tell I've been reading those dress making books?) I am guessing a 22" zipper in the back, and similar skirt pleats as well? I also think you could layer a camisole, tights, and a cardigan (colorful one?) or a grey/charcoal blazer over this and rock the cooler weather house! (Maybe some boots too, we know you've got 'em).For the first day of class, I am a young Republican. Crisp separates and conservative skirt. I figure I have enough going for me. The bunny/fox print dresses come out at the end of the semester, when I am really grasping for the last moments of attention.Sadly, I teach this coming Wednesday and next Monday, which means I still have another week of this, but only 2 more class periods. Bring it!

  3. I love this first-day-of-school outfit! That dress has gorgeous details and those shoes have such a great, classic shape. You look wonderful.

  4. It's a wonderful dress. It looks great and you wear it beautifully. The milky coffee Weitzman pumps in the first picture are also very special. And in some instances bike grease could count as quite a fashion statement.

  5. This dress is to die for: buttoned up collar, pintuck bodice, tab waist, and symmetrical pleats? (Can you tell I've been reading those dress making books?) I am guessing a 22" zipper in the back, and similar skirt pleats as well? I also think you could layer a camisole, tights, and a cardigan (colorful one?) or a grey/charcoal blazer over this and rock the cooler weather house! (Maybe some boots too, we know you've got 'em).For the first day of class, I am a young Republican. Crisp separates and conservative skirt. I figure I have enough going for me. The bunny/fox print dresses come out at the end of the semester, when I am really grasping for the last moments of attention.Sadly, I teach this coming Wednesday and next Monday, which means I still have another week of this, but only 2 more class periods. Bring it!

  6. Oh no, no biking to work in these shoes. I only bike in flats or sneakers. And you have to picture this dress with bicycle grease on my hands and a swipe of it across my shins. This detracted slightly from the outfit but was a better representation of me, I think. I love this dress too, though I've never thought about putting a turtleneck under it. I have another sleeveless dress that I turtleneck up but, for some strange reason, I've never worn a turtleneck with this dress. Great suggestion!It is a really great dress. I wish I could manage to photograph the details. It has these lovely pleats in the front and back and a wide hem. And pockets! I love pockets in a dress.

  7. I tend to agree with you about the first day of class. I usually dress a little more conservative than usual the first day of class. I would wear this though if I was teaching over the summer- or the last few weeks of class. Or even through the Fall term with a turtleneck under it. It is a really great dress.

  8. What a gorgeous first-day-of-classes outfit! Those shoes are to die for. (Did you bike to campus in them? If you did, you are my hero AND the wind beneath my wings.)I love a dress because it keeps the selection process fast – choose one piece, accessorize, go – and the clothing index (i.e. number of clothes worn simultaneously) pleasingly low. Also, that dress is sweet.

Leave a Reply

