NYC: Not-quite-jeans Just in Case

Remember the student who came to my office to yell about his midterm mark? You know, the one who tried to intimidate me into making special allowances for him in March? Well, he wants another meeting – this time so he can plead his case for a passing grade in the course.

I responded to this most recent request (made by email) with a firm explanation of how his final grade accurately reflects his poor performance in the course, and how there is absolutely no way I can find an extra 12% among the 4 (out of 6) assignments he actually chose to complete (3 of which he failed by a sizeable margin) to add to his existing grade. On the advice of a colleague, I made no apology and expressed no sympathy so that he would not misconstrue my tone and think that I’m open to further discussion/persuasion. Also on the advice of a colleague, I directed him to Student Advocacy to discuss any concerns he has about his academic standing (thus emphasizing his – not my – responsibility for his terrible grade).
And now, though it enrages me to do so, I worry that he’s going to show up in my office anyway. Or corner me on campus somewhere. I am, therefore, wearing flats with semi-professional outfits when I go in to campus. In addition, this week I’m wearing black as D-Med has declared this NYC week. Frankly, black goes with my mood of late, so I’m going all in.
Sidenote: Probably one of us should be doing the whole Dress Your Best thing that’s all the hap’s over at Academichic. I for one am too grumpy and exhausted to do so (see previous posts re: end-of-term), but I really like the idea – and so do the many, many other bloggers who are participating. (‘No pressure D-Med. NYC week fits us better this time of year, yes?)
Fortunately, I am just barely able to maintain my shoe love. And I can prove it: I love these flats – and my Foot Petals arch cookies almost make me feel like smiling. (Almost. But not quite. But it’s not their fault; it’s end-of-term.)
While these slim denim capris are a comfortable shoe-highlighting neutral, I’m significantly less enamoured with this blouse. I think it’s supposed to be a puffy, slightly tailored faux-artiste smock-type thing; and I keep hoping that one day I’ll get it right. But I’ve tried a few times, and I’m not convinced it’s ever really going to work. On the bright side, at least it’s long enough to hide the alarming split I found in the crotch of these pants after arriving on campus. ‘Thoughts (on the blouse, not the part about the crotch)?
Studded Distressed Blue Flats: Fugitive de Francesco Rossi
Denim Skinny Capris: Mexx (thrifted)
Tunic-ish Puffy-ish Black Blouse: Freeway
Black cami: Joe Fresh
Red Coral & Black Cord Necklace: Essentia Designs (now closed, formerly on Main St. West in Steeltown, Canada)
p.s. The coral in this necklace seems to be drying out. Two pieces have cracked, and one small piece broke off this morning. ‘Any suggestions for hydration/upkeep for this piece?

9 thoughts on “NYC: Not-quite-jeans Just in Case

  1. LHDM: I think you're right. 'Bond Girls would be perfect this week.D-Med: if I remember correctly, I bought this black blouse because I liked your white version so much but couldn't find one of my own. Bring on the contest. Let's plan it over dirty martinis asap.Also, I couldn't think of five things I like about myself either, and trying to do it was hurting my brain. New York Cool Week it is, then. Instead of mourning, let's figure it as a celebration of the fact that we have so many black clothes with which to cover ourselves.

  2. Those shoes are awesome! I love the details on the toes. And that necklace is wonderful against the all-black look. Very chic and cool!

  3. Those shoes are awesome! I love the details on the toes. And that necklace is wonderful against the all-black look. Very chic and cool!

  4. Dude, this student needs to go away. I often say, "You need a week to think about your grade and why you received. If there is a basis for making an argument, give it to me in writing. However, I think if you take this further, you'll find that you rightfully earned your grade." Also, isn't the damn semester over? During summers, if I have the misfortune to run into a student who moans about their grade, I often say, "During summer session, I must devote my time entirely to research, so please make an appointment with me during the fall semester and we can discuss this further during my office hours." And just cut them off. And look rushed. Ooh, sunglasses! They make you look busy.I do like the arty vibe of the blouse (especially with the rad necklace and shoes). You are long and leggy that I think it works. Is it the volume that makes you reticent about it? I can't quite tell what's going by the pictures either, but maybe a belt in a cool constrasting color would help? Maybe a slighter slimmer fitting bottom piece? Damn, you make me want capris.

  5. LHDM: I think you're right. 'Bond Girls would be perfect this week.D-Med: if I remember correctly, I bought this black blouse because I liked your white version so much but couldn't find one of my own. Bring on the contest. Let's plan it over dirty martinis asap.Also, I couldn't think of five things I like about myself either, and trying to do it was hurting my brain. New York Cool Week it is, then. Instead of mourning, let's figure it as a celebration of the fact that we have so many black clothes with which to cover ourselves.

  6. WTF?!?!? This student is still being a pain in your ass??? I am so sorry! This might be a good time to wear your Bond Girls or any other bad ass shoes that you have so that you can increase your intimidation factor.

  7. I love the length of this blouse with your capris. I think it's working, though it's hard to see the puffiness quotient. Does it have a gathered empire waist thing going on? I have a white blouse like this that I also have difficulty with. I keep planning to toss it, but then I don't because it's my only white shirt. And sometimes I need a white shirt even I look like death in white.We should have a slightly-tailored-faux-artist-smock-type-thing off. Winner buys the loser a dirty martini.

Leave a Reply

