NSFW: Perfect Medievalist Wrap Dress

[We interrupt our regularly scheduled programme (NYCool) with this special bulletin on what not to wear in the classroom (possibly also including some shots of what not to do in the classroom).This week is becoming a hell of a town and I don’t have time to take new photos.We will return to our regularly scheduled programme, erm, at a time yet to be determined.]

This is what I wore when I stood up for A-Dubs at her wedding (I’m in the middle trying to hold my own against our beautiful and impeccably dressed pals).I was very touched when A-Dubs asked me to be in her wedding party and I was thrilled that I could wear whatever I wanted.A friend asked me if I was going to wear a Metallica t-shirt and cut-offs.He doesn’t know me very well.

I began shopping like it was a mission (it was).I shopped in Vegas.I shopped here.I shopped A LOT on-line, but I couldn’t find anything that fit the bill.So I went shopping in my own closet.

I bought this dress on the last day of the year a couple of years ago and wore it out on the town that night for a crazy great time with friends (A-Dubs among them). I wasn’t looking for a dress and it was in one of those shops that is mostly aimed at the undergraduate population who live near the university.You know the kind of shop that stocks garments that waver between “dress” and “top”?I decided a while ago that if I could not tell if something was a dress or a top, then I was too old to wear it.In any case, both Rinty the Crusher and A-Dubs convinced me to take a chance on this beauty, which was on sale (and I could recognize it as “dress”).That bitterly cold New Year’s eve I wore it with black opaque tights and my blood-red booties.As I threw back dirty martinis with abandon, a friend remarked that this was the perfect Medievalist dress.He knows me very well.

Here’s the skirt.

Dress: Bizz
Shoes: Nine West; Necklace: Tarina Tarantino via eBay; Cleavage: padded bra with cleavage-ratcheting capabilities

Here’s what happens to the skirt when one is surely winning a limbo contest by distracting her competition with her milky thigh. My mother would be so proud.

This is me and the dress faking our own death beside a dumpster in the parking lot. I like to liven things up when I’m ladyposing, so to speak.

It is the perfect Medievalist dress.I love a wrap dress and I love a shirtwaist dress and this is a little bit of both.Throw in some Vivienne Westwood homage shapeliness, some plaid, and a space-age fabric that mimics taffeta but can withstand a red wine assault like it’s Gore-Tex, et voila, perfect Medievalist dress to wear to accompany one of her best friends down the aisle to a live jazz rendition of “The Final Countdown.”Seriously, it was brilliant.

11 thoughts on “NSFW: Perfect Medievalist Wrap Dress

  1. You pose like a Dolce and Gabbana model on that asphalt. For reals. You've got talent.I really like that dress. I can't believe it's from one of those "young people" stores. You totally own it. The collar, the ties, the skirt.Also, legs and rack looking fab. These photos have confirmed my sneaking suspicion that you are clearly way way funner and cooler than me.

  2. That dress is awesome! I want one. And those are so much better than any of my drunken photos. If I'm on the ground, it wasn't done on purpose.

  3. Love the dress. I actually like it more than your fashionable friends' (sorry if they are reading this…you both look lovely too)I think the collar detailing and the print and color make it very classic looking.I love it even more in that pose-very dramatic.

  4. Love that dress! Also love the pose next to the dumpster. A sense of humor certainly never hurt a blogger. :)This is my first time reading your blog. The questions in your header are of major concern to me, as well, and something I often ponder as I get dressed and live my life of graduate student and future professor.

  5. That dress is awesome! I want one. And those are so much better than any of my drunken photos. If I'm on the ground, it wasn't done on purpose.

  6. You pose like a Dolce and Gabbana model on that asphalt. For reals. You've got talent.I really like that dress. I can't believe it's from one of those "young people" stores. You totally own it. The collar, the ties, the skirt.Also, legs and rack looking fab. These photos have confirmed my sneaking suspicion that you are clearly way way funner and cooler than me.

Leave a Reply

