NYC: Mexx Ruffle-front Dress

Way back in the dark month of February, I celebrated – and second-guessed – this dress’s inaugural wearing. It made getting out of bed a little easier, but it also made gesturing towards slides during lecture somewhat challenging. Because it’s short (even shorter when I raise my arms!), and perhaps not quite classroom appropriate when styled this way.

Dress*: Mexx
Cardigan: Mac&Jac
Tights: Hue
Shoes: Moda
Bracelet: thrifted
 
* I would NEVER wear it to teach in without the cardi –
but I Wonder Womaned it up in front of the barbie so you could get a sense of its innate awesomeness (awesomeness that would, I freely admit, be more evident in better light & modelled by one who knows how to work her angles)
It also does that B.A. ‘exposed zipper’ element that all the cool kids are doing these days. Again, however, this is not a feature I’ll be “featuring” in the classroom anytime soon. This zipper will be covered by a cardi.
And I’m pretty sure these remarkably comfortable shoes are too sexy to wear with such a short skirt in the classroom. But I enjoy how ridiculously tall they make me (I’m 5’9″ without ’em. With ’em, I’m, like, Amazon-tall).
Also, I know: they’re weird. Once last year, I almost tripped down the stairs in a very steep lecture theatre because of these shoes. That elastic bit that goes around the heel is just a little too, um, boing-y. So, when my heel caught on the step, my foot kept going, and, well, I almost went a$$ over tea kettle.
But I have hope for this dress. I think it could have serious Bad A$$ professorial potential worn with thicker (and opaque) leggings, tall low-heeled boots, and a cardigan like this one. Or what if I wore it over slim black pants?
What do you think? And how short would/do you go, skirt-wise, for work? How about giving us a demo?

9 thoughts on “NYC: Mexx Ruffle-front Dress

  1. First, I concur with Dr. Med about your fineness. What a great dress. I'm considering making a similar one (but not as cool) from an open source pattern to be a bridemaid (ugh) this summer, and I'm thinking about how I can repurpose it in the classroom. Second, this isn't too short. I think that even 3-4 inches above the knee is fine as long as you have opaque tights. I do think that high heels with shorter hemlines can be a bit more questionable, but it really depends. The cardi cuts back on the sexy, you know?To style it again, I'd go with the leggings (maybe slim pants if they didn't do bumpy things under the fabric) and a cardigan or even a blazer (you knew I was going to say that, right?). Flat boots or slightly lower heels. You're leggy and tall enough to pull off the capris and ballet flats.You are indeed the queen of the wonder woman pose.Monday is a my last day of teaching and I'll wear a shorter skirt/dress just to show how devil may care I am about hemlines. I wore the skirt part of this outfit to teach AND to meet administrators (with a more formal looking top and ballet flats).http://cohabitatingcloset.blogspot.com/2010/02/lunch-break-blogging.html

  2. I will, of course, be trying all of your suggestions. And Rad: you are B.A. in that skirt.Beth: what do I do about the exposed shoulders, then? You're right about the zipper exposure, I think. Maybe I could wear it over a turtleneck? Bare shoulders in the classroom makes me panic just thinking about them!

  3. That dress looks fantastic and I love how you've styled it. I think you could wear it in the classroom if you layered underneath it to cover the arms, rather than layer with a cardigan. That way the students would get a flash of the exposed zipper and you would also be covered in a way you felt appropriate. Though I should admit that at this point, my students comment so frequently on my clothes that I should have started to wonder if I am overdoing it.

  4. That dress looks fantastic and I love how you've styled it. I think you could wear it in the classroom if you layered underneath it to cover the arms, rather than layer with a cardigan. That way the students would get a flash of the exposed zipper and you would also be covered in a way you felt appropriate. Though I should admit that at this point, my students comment so frequently on my clothes that I should have started to wonder if I am overdoing it.

  5. Maybe with one of those really fine, extra long-sleeve fitted tops, so that it's not too lumpy underneath the dress. I think the neckline shouldn't be disturbed by a turtleneck poking out, but sleeves, maybe in a charcoal grey, would be great AND you could expose your zipper. So to speak.

  6. I will, of course, be trying all of your suggestions. And Rad: you are B.A. in that skirt.Beth: what do I do about the exposed shoulders, then? You're right about the zipper exposure, I think. Maybe I could wear it over a turtleneck? Bare shoulders in the classroom makes me panic just thinking about them!

  7. I LOVE this dress. I think, like everyone is saying, with opague tights or leggings and flats it is totally fine for the classroom. And would NOT wear it with the cardi. I am loving the exposed zipper trend right now. You have many years to cover it up with a cardi when the exposed zipper goes out of style.

  8. First, I concur with Dr. Med about your fineness. What a great dress. I'm considering making a similar one (but not as cool) from an open source pattern to be a bridemaid (ugh) this summer, and I'm thinking about how I can repurpose it in the classroom. Second, this isn't too short. I think that even 3-4 inches above the knee is fine as long as you have opaque tights. I do think that high heels with shorter hemlines can be a bit more questionable, but it really depends. The cardi cuts back on the sexy, you know?To style it again, I'd go with the leggings (maybe slim pants if they didn't do bumpy things under the fabric) and a cardigan or even a blazer (you knew I was going to say that, right?). Flat boots or slightly lower heels. You're leggy and tall enough to pull off the capris and ballet flats.You are indeed the queen of the wonder woman pose.Monday is a my last day of teaching and I'll wear a shorter skirt/dress just to show how devil may care I am about hemlines. I wore the skirt part of this outfit to teach AND to meet administrators (with a more formal looking top and ballet flats).http://cohabitatingcloset.blogspot.com/2010/02/lunch-break-blogging.html

  9. I'm trying to let our adoring public make comments first but I can't resist telling you how fantastic this dress is on you. Your shoulders are looking fine, Dr. Dubs. I like the way you've styled this dress here but I see what you mean about the shoes. They aren't weird but they kind of push it into the territory of cocktail dress. This would look just as fantastic for teaching with flat-ish boots and leggings or skinny pants. Maybe skinny capris (ending just above the ankle) with ballerina flats?

Leave a Reply

