Shooting for Ostrich

D-med’s May 5th post reminded me that I, too, owe some more facts. Rad of The Cohabiting Closet fame gave us the Sugar Doll award, and we must deliver.
~~~~~~~~~~

6. I lived in Kyoto & Osaka, Japan, for a year and a half after undergrad. Because I worked while I was there for the McDonald’s of English schools, my work schedule was intense. But there was still time for a little travelling, some language learning, and a LOT of karaoke (god, I enjoy the karaoke box).

7. I have two younger brothers, one of whom is only 13 months younger than me (proof, if we still need it, that breastfeeding is NOT birth control). When we were little, our grandfather introduced us to wrestling, which we watched on TV with him on Saturday mornings. We subsequently spent a LOT of time trying to develop our skills in this forum. Sometimes Grandpa would check our biceps. He’d squeeze our flexed arms and proclaim them “Chickadee’s kneecaps.”

The Chickadee: A bird with tiny, but potentially wiry knees

 
 
And we’d say “No, no, Grandpa! Feel again! Bluejay’s kneecap!”

The Bluejay: Good knees

Almost 30 years later, I continue to use the bird-knee system. For example, there’s a good chance my upper arm strength continues in the Bluejay/Chickadee range. Perhaps someday, however, if I ever manage to commit to a workout schedule that includes actual strength training, I’ll make it to Ostrich or Emu.

Ostrich: Yeah, this is exactly what I’m shooting for.

OK, I admit I wrote Emu so I could show you this tiny guy.

 

8. My dog, a.k.a. Fuzzy Roommate, got me through grad school and the years since. He and I have lived in 5 different apartments together. He helped me study for comprehensive exams (and as a result, he is awesome at Canadian poetry and can think circles around Fredric Jameson), and he’s listened carefully to more than one practice job talk. He also parties like a grad student and continues to be VERY alert into the wee hours of the night, but is useless until at least 11am.

9. A-Dubs-Hubs and I have been together for a decade and a bit, but we’ve lived in the same city for – maybe – 4 of those years. We lived together briefly while I did my MA and he did his medical residency. Then I moved away to start my PhD, and he followed when his residency was done. Then I moved, again, to take up a Postdoc, and he followed a year-and-a-half later. Now we both live here. Together. Holy shite!

10. March was absolute crap not only for the usual term-related reasons, but also because I interviewed at my current institution, then watched 3 other candidates interview for the same position. But last week, I negotiated my contract. So I guess the florist shop will have to wait. I love and hate academia.

~~~~~~~~~~

Whew. Ok, D-Med: which bloggettes can we ask to dish some of their own dirt?

8 thoughts on “Shooting for Ostrich

  1. I am doing the "100 pushups challenge" with Blokey. We eked out several dozen today (you can google it). Maybe A-Dubs-Hubs will be into it too?So I live in the neighborhood where they shot "Do the Right Thing." Parts of it have gentrified (where there are beautiful brownstones). Our part has not. But strangely (http://www.yelp.com/biz/bedford-stuyvesant-ymca-brooklyn) there is a sparkling new and clean YMCA just 5 blocks away from us, and the yuppies/hippies on Yelp.com seem to heart it. Hmm… (As city employees, we get a 25% discount too).I think I should learn to box. Like Lisbeth Salander of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.In response to DMed: Are you in the Audubon Society?

  2. Congrats on recently securing your job! (And looking rad while doing so). And kudos on the strength training. I keep meaning to join that gym in my rough neighborhood, that everyone likes on Yelp. (I am also proof that breast feeding is not birth control, as I am 14 months younger than my brother. Oh those reckless 1970s).

  3. I am doing the "100 pushups challenge" with Blokey. We eked out several dozen today (you can google it). Maybe A-Dubs-Hubs will be into it too?So I live in the neighborhood where they shot "Do the Right Thing." Parts of it have gentrified (where there are beautiful brownstones). Our part has not. But strangely (http://www.yelp.com/biz/bedford-stuyvesant-ymca-brooklyn) there is a sparkling new and clean YMCA just 5 blocks away from us, and the yuppies/hippies on Yelp.com seem to heart it. Hmm… (As city employees, we get a 25% discount too).I think I should learn to box. Like Lisbeth Salander of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.In response to DMed: Are you in the Audubon Society?

  4. D-Med, I'm ignoring your comment.Rad: Thanks! To be clear, though, I don't strength train. But I should, especially since I have a membership at the sparkly new YM/YWCA facility in my neighbourhood. But I never go. No, I pay extra to go to a separate facility to do yoga once a week. Who's "everyone" that's liking your neighbourhood gym? Are they trustworthy? And if you join a gym in a rough neighbourhood, do you have to learn to box?

  5. Congrats on recently securing your job! (And looking rad while doing so). And kudos on the strength training. I keep meaning to join that gym in my rough neighborhood, that everyone likes on Yelp. (I am also proof that breast feeding is not birth control, as I am 14 months younger than my brother. Oh those reckless 1970s).

Leave a Reply

