Drove Back to Town This Morning With Working on My Mind

There’s nothing that is not awesome about campus in the spring and summer. There are trees, and flowers, and grassy expanses. There’s more parking close to either the library or one’s office, and the line-ups for morning coffee are much more bearable. Also, when one is rewarding oneself for having done a good pocket of work, the Sally Ann around the corner is over-flowing with beautiful things—and there are no students around to snap up the treasures. (I’ll be featuring some of today’s finds over the next couple of weeks.)

In short, today started so well. Then all of a sudden, it was 3:30 and I had less than an hour to do a zillion errands and drop Fuzzy Roommate at “Canine and Kitty Camp,” where he’ll chill for the long weekend while A-Dubs-Hubs and I head out to see the constellations reveal themselves one star at a time.

Anyway, let’s use our imaginations so these shorts appear as crisp and non-baggy-in-the-front-and-unrumply-in-the-crotchal-region as they did this morning before the hour-long drive to Dog Camp. (And while we’re at it, let’s imagine I have a bitchin’ camera and a back-drop that highlights but does not blend into my very pale skin.)
I was trying to mix stripes as I’ve seen much more daring style bloggers do, but thought I’d start with a relatively safe combination. From afar, before I added the pink shoes and the green cami, I looked like a waiter. I kind of wish I’d worn a darker cami, though, as things could really use some more drama, no?
In all seriousness, things really were slightly better this morn; but even now, I remain excited about these shoes. In an effort to preserve the balls of my feet, I bought these flat platform beauties last summer. I’ve decided they can take the place of heels with shorts and skirts. Because flat shoes with long shorts or knee-length skirts make my legs look about an inch long.

White-0n-white Striped Ruched Blouse: Le Chateau
Pinstripe Navy Shorts: Jacob
Cami: Esprit
Platform T-strap Sandals: Kenneth Cole
So, what about your feet? When, where, and how do they get a break from heels?

12 thoughts on “Drove Back to Town This Morning With Working on My Mind

  1. I am so jealous that it is warm enough for shorts where you are. I wore a wool coat today, which was subsequently soaked by torrential rains. Anyway, this is a great outfit–breezy, springy, DRY. And I like your smurfy pedi.

  2. I love the color of those shoes, and the engineer strips of those shorts are B.A. It doesn't look rumpled at all.Hope you have a nice weekend away!I find it very difficult to believe that your legs could look anything but very long and lean under any condition.I try to only do heels on days I don't have to walk too much. Summertime is flats-heavy for me since I want to walk everywhere and I don't wear hose/socks. I fact, I have two recently resoled black flats (on thrifted) waiting for me at the cobbler. Must run!

  3. I love how you've mixed stripes here. The top is very subtle. Those shoes (and wedges/platforms without a steep grade in general) are an excellent alternative to flats. Regarding heels, I tend to wear flats even when I shouldn't. But when I do wear pumps, they are very thick and relatively low. I need the sturdiness to compensate for my own clumsiness.

  4. Also, is the title of this post a song lyric? I think you are sounding (and looking) cooler than me and I think that is not allowed. Dork it up, AW. (errata: "cooler than I")See? That's what I'm talking about.

  5. The shoes are totally fab. Very Chloe no? I’m trying to write a novel so my feet are nudists at the moment. They really only slip on some Birkenstocks when they need to go to the compound shop for more chocolate, or some heels when they’re playing “let’s pretend” for blog pictures. …don't know that I've ever tried mixing stripes but I do have an excessive collection so may have to try it. You present a convincing case.

  6. In a moment of internet serendipity, I found your blog while leaving a comment on Daddy Likey. I recognized A-Dubs' avatar, thought Hmmmm? and clicked. I feel like a creepy internet stalker. Are you creeped out? Should I exit stage left?I think you're mixing stripes exceedingly well. It's subtly clever, fresh and very summery. Please send me those shorts asap. Also, I adore those shoes. ADORE.

  7. I love the color of those shoes, and the engineer strips of those shorts are B.A. It doesn't look rumpled at all.Hope you have a nice weekend away!I find it very difficult to believe that your legs could look anything but very long and lean under any condition.I try to only do heels on days I don't have to walk too much. Summertime is flats-heavy for me since I want to walk everywhere and I don't wear hose/socks. I fact, I have two recently resoled black flats (on thrifted) waiting for me at the cobbler. Must run!

  8. I am so jealous that it is warm enough for shorts where you are. I wore a wool coat today, which was subsequently soaked by torrential rains. Anyway, this is a great outfit–breezy, springy, DRY. And I like your smurfy pedi.

  9. I love how you've mixed stripes here. The top is very subtle. Those shoes (and wedges/platforms without a steep grade in general) are an excellent alternative to flats. Regarding heels, I tend to wear flats even when I shouldn't. But when I do wear pumps, they are very thick and relatively low. I need the sturdiness to compensate for my own clumsiness.

Leave a Reply

