Paparazzi-Ready

Today I had to emerge from the anchorhold to run some errands, which necessitated making myself somewhat presentable to the outside world.A-Dubs and I both live in cities that have a small-town attitude and so even on the quickest and dirtiest of errands, it is not uncommon to run into students and/or colleagues.

Here’s an exchange from a few months back that took place just outside of the liquor store, whence I had recently emerged laden down with several bottles of wine:

FORMER STUDENT: Hey, Dr. M! Dr. M!

 

ME: (wondering immediately why I thought it was a good idea to leave the house in the ensemble—not actual pyjamas—that I slept in) Oh, hi Former Student. How are you?
FORMER STUDENT: Great! What are you up to, Dr. M?
ME: (lying) Oh, I’m having guests for dinner so I’m just picking up some wine.
FORMER STUDENT: Cool. So I’m doing blah blah bartending blah blah playing in a band blah blah.
ME: (not listening because I am trying to remember the last time I showered and if it looks like that was the last time I showered) Oh, good for you. Well, it was nice to see you Former Student but I should get going.
FORMER STUDENT: Okay Dorky, is it okay if I call you Dorky? Can I give you a lift home on the back of my motorcycle?
ME: (horrified) Oh, no! Thanks, Former Student, but I like to walk.

It seems a shame to put all kinds of effort (and expense) into my appearance in the classroom and on campus only to blow it on my neighbourhood streets in ratty sweats that I sometimes sleep in and which clearly make me seem more approachable than I want to be.I don’t think I have to dress up to go out, but I think I should be a little more presentable now that I am part of a professional community in a small community.

 
 
Coat: Eaton’s own brand
Track Pants: Lucky Brand
Shoes: don’t know; bought on a shopping trip to A-Dub’s town
Shopper: National Trust (Liberty print, I think)
Contents of shopper: Salt & Pepper Kettle Chips and chocolate milk.
Luckily, I have this great overcoat that I bought years ago at the now defunct Canadian department store, Eaton’s.My grandmother and I used to go for tea on the ninth floor of the Eaton’s department store in Montreal when I was little and I thought it was soooo elegant.And I think it really was.This coat reminds me of that fancy old-school department store and of a time when ladies like my grandmother always wore hats and gloves, which she always did.And I can throw this coat on over just about anything and it hides a multitude of unwashed sins and instantly classes up the joint.

Do you dress for the paparazzi (either figurative or literal) when you are away from your desk (either figurative or literal)?

11 thoughts on “Paparazzi-Ready

  1. This post made me laugh! Not because of the outfit which I think is fun and casual, but because of the conversation and your dismay over seeing a student out in the wild. I usually dress more casually on errands or dog walks but not always, in part because of that fear of running into students. Because I am always walking around the neighborhood, I often get "I saw you walking your dog/going to the post office/out in the wild" comments from students in class. And I've run into enough at restaurants and bars (where the most awkward circumstance included them as my server) to have it in the back of my brain when I get dressed.

  2. That as the funniest exchange! At least running errands is normal. I had a former student as a bartender at my bachlorette party! That was embarressing.

  3. Haha! I have blogged before about my tendency to run into colleagues and students around town in spite of the fact that I live in a relatively big city. I'll be interested to see how much more I'll have to dress for the paparazzi next year when I'm in a much smaller city.

  4. Haha! I have blogged before about my tendency to run into colleagues and students around town in spite of the fact that I live in a relatively big city. I'll be interested to see how much more I'll have to dress for the paparazzi next year when I'm in a much smaller city.

  5. Thanks all. Why can't I run into you guys on my forays into the wild? B. your bachelorette party story is hilarious and mortifying. Students-as-wait-staff is a particularly awkward moment and one at which I always over-tip, in an embarrassing quantity.Salt and Pepper kettle chips (they're rippled!) are my weakness and my friend.

  6. The coat is wonderful and works perfectly with the Liberty shopper. I think they are a pretty effective and lethal combination – so feminine and so English, no one would dare speculate on whether you showered in the last week, because obviously a lady with such class showers daily. Sometimes twice. The shoes are sweet too. Meanwhile – salt and pepper kettle chips? Oh heck. Be still my flooding saliva glands.

  7. AWWWKward. I do like those pants on you but it is too bad that the student felt all chummy with you. Since I often wear what I want (WWIW) on non teaching days, I sometimes run into students on the train, around Manhattan (seriously, a city of 8 million?) and they get chummy too. Luckily, I have the super power of getting really really awkard around my students outside of class, so they usually give up. It's just something you have to be born with.Also, love the mental image of young DMed and grandma.

  8. That as the funniest exchange! At least running errands is normal. I had a former student as a bartender at my bachlorette party! That was embarressing.

  9. This post made me laugh! Not because of the outfit which I think is fun and casual, but because of the conversation and your dismay over seeing a student out in the wild. I usually dress more casually on errands or dog walks but not always, in part because of that fear of running into students. Because I am always walking around the neighborhood, I often get "I saw you walking your dog/going to the post office/out in the wild" comments from students in class. And I've run into enough at restaurants and bars (where the most awkward circumstance included them as my server) to have it in the back of my brain when I get dressed.

Leave a Reply

