This week, in skirts

Sweet, sweet Friday night. How I continue to adore you.

Why is it, do you think, that I’ve kept to my Friday routine, even now that my schedule’s opened up? Routine = sushi & wine with Fuzzy Roommate in front of the tube (oh, Matt Saracen, you break my heart every week!), then early to bed to nod gently off while my laptop shows me movies and tries desperately to cool itself against the bedding. Occasionally, I get a D-Med phone date, but she’s got friends in her new city, now, so she’s not always available. But I don’t mind.
This is perhaps because A-Dubs-Hubs often works Friday eve, so I’m free to revel (or wallow) in my solitude, and that’s a rare thing in such a small apartment. For the most part, though, I suspect I love solo Fridays because surviving the last nine months required that I develop a routine for the first time in years. And as it turns out, I’m a creature of habit in this one way.
In more appropriate blog news, I had a meeting today with a group of students whom a colleague and I supervise. Thus, I tried to bring the profesh back. Today’s ensemble is inspired by Sal of Already Pretty‘s gorgeous outfit post from yesterday, with all those eye-catching pops of red. I don’t have anything close to her unique T, so I just covered this pale pink tee with a striped blazer. The pink tee, I hope, makes things a bit more interesting than the basic white I tried and discarded this morning.
Red, gray, & white-striped blazer: Tribal (via Winners)
Blush ¾-sleeve T: Joe Fresh (thrifted)
Button-front pencil skirt: Mexx (remixed)
Belt: (had it so long I forget – Winners, perhaps?)
Red plastic bangle: Le Chateau
Red square-toe slingbacks: Moda (remixed)
I stayed away from campus yesterday, but still had some relatively important things to do around the neighbourhood. So I wore this thrifted skirt to meet with my research assistant, and then to attend a new friend’s art show. (Why does performance art always make me feel so awkward and exposed, even when it’s good? What do you do at art shows? And if you’re an artist, what do you imagine people doing at your shows?)

 
Skirt: thrifted
Jean jacket: DKNY (remixed)
White sleeveless T: American Apparel
Green cami: Esprit (remixed)
Necklace: craft show (remixed)
Brown riding boots: Aldo (remixed)
I acknowledge that the skirt looks better from the side as it’s a little tight across the hips. There’s a very good chance I shrunk it while trying to remove a stain over the mons region (a stain I somehow missed in the Sally Ann changeroom). I’ll try it a few more ways before conceding defeat, however, as I can’t get enough of the colour and pattern.
In addition, this bag worked hard all day to carry the notebook I thought I’d need at the art exhibit/performance, but it seemed inappropriate and potentially pretentious to take notes. Thankfully, however, the purse also held the jacket in place and limited the amount of outfit maintenance required throughout the day. Significantly, it also housed the wallet whose contents facilitated the fit of enthusiastic supportiveness that resulted in my spending tomorrow’s parking money on four cupcakes from a tiny new cake shop by the gallery.
Blue distressed vegan “leather” bag: Matt&Nat (via Winners)
And now, let the weekend begin! It’s Pride weekend here in IPF, northern division, so Happy Pride, GLBTTQ2 peeps! I hope it’s an epic celebration for ya’ll!

14 thoughts on “This week, in skirts

  1. One more official genital reference, and a titular change may be necessary. Note: I learned the word "titular" from a plagiarizing student back in the dark ages when I was a new TA. I had to check the dictionary because I was sure she'd made it up. You know, because it seems just a little too good to be true.Also, perhaps we should go with something in translation. Instead of "In Mons Fashion," we could do a Venus reference? Or am I "mound"-ing too much into it? (Six.)

  2. It's true- you're not quite vulgar- just anatomically snarky. Too funny. Love these outfits. I would never have thought of pink and red together.

  3. You guys are funny. And kinda gross in the best way possible (did that make me sound like a prudish American? Because I did practically flash all of GLTB Jersey Shore yesterday. Naked Army experience and all).

  4. There's not much to explain. I changed by throwing my dress over my suit and removing each of the pieces, and maybe wasn't careful enough to avoid showing my bits (the kind mentioned here in this post) to coolest beach in NJ, Asbury Park. Also, I forgot to mention how much I like your outfits. I find it really hard to dress in the summer. Pink and olive? Genius.Also, can you hike up the skirt just a bit, to create more ease in the thigh area, belt it, and call it a day? I've done that before.

  5. "Anatomically snarky" – an accurate and hilarious descriptor!Rad: I really hope you explain this flashing incident over at The Cohabiting Closet. D-Med: Really? Are you sure the skirt's not to pulled in the front? Those wrinkles appeared almost immediately. Like, before I sat down . . . Also, maybe you should talk about your "Farting in Chaucer" course.

  6. It's true- you're not quite vulgar- just anatomically snarky. Too funny. Love these outfits. I would never have thought of pink and red together.

  7. Yup, funny and gross. My humour is pretty much that of a 12-year-old boy. And Chaucer.Anyway, I should say that both of these outfits are lovely and the blue skirt doesn't look too snug in these photos. It's a gorgeous colour and the detailing of the embroidery is beautiful and interesting. (see, I can be a grown-up).Also, mons.

  8. You guys are funny. And kinda gross in the best way possible (did that make me sound like a prudish American? Because I did practically flash all of GLTB Jersey Shore yesterday. Naked Army experience and all).

  9. One more official genital reference, and a titular change may be necessary. Note: I learned the word "titular" from a plagiarizing student back in the dark ages when I was a new TA. I had to check the dictionary because I was sure she'd made it up. You know, because it seems just a little too good to be true.Also, perhaps we should go with something in translation. Instead of "In Mons Fashion," we could do a Venus reference? Or am I "mound"-ing too much into it? (Six.)

  10. Should we change the name of our blog to "In Mons Fashion"? We've already posted about bejewelled brazillians (twice). Also, five. Note to our gentle readers: this is clearly an exchange that is taking place very late at night/very early in the morning. At least it's early where I am.

  11. Thanks. Originally I had "mons veneris," but just "mons" is way classier, no? (lPease also note: together we've added three more mons phrases. Ha! Four.)

Leave a Reply

