Style Icon: Charlotte Gainsbourg

I wish I had a wealth of chestnut hair, a long, lean frame, and whatever insouciance that Charlotte Gainsbourg has got going on.



I think Charlotte Gainsbourg is one of the best, and bravest, actresses working.

I especially love her in Ma Femme est une Actrice (directed by her partner Yvan Attal; that’s him with her and her gorgeous dress in the middle photo. If she were anyone other than C-Gainz, that illusion netting would worry me.).

Apparently, all of the clothes she wears in the film are her own. I wish all of the clothes she wears everywhere were my own.


Imagine how excited I was to learn that she has obviously taken a cue from Rad and me by pressing The Office Blazer into service.

Do you think she’s reading our blogs?

Who are your style icons?


6 thoughts on “Style Icon: Charlotte Gainsbourg

  1. I think she's a mother of two! Oy, I have to go to the gym. Well, first I have to join a gym.I'm not familiar with Alexa Chung but I loved Run, Lola, Run and I agree with you on her awesomeness, though I don't know what she wears.And I love Barbara Stanwyck as well. She is great in Double Indemnity, especially in that scene where Fred McMurray kills her husband– her reaction is so brilliant and twisted.

  2. It certainly looks like an office jacket. I often think French and American women run in parallel lines in terms of fashion – same good grooming, same love of classics, same femininity. Incidentally, I wore my office jacket today and felt very smug. I feel even more smugger knowing Charlotte Gainsborough is being inspired by the same blogs as me. Viva la belles Americane!

  3. I think she's a mother of two! Oy, I have to go to the gym. Well, first I have to join a gym.I'm not familiar with Alexa Chung but I loved Run, Lola, Run and I agree with you on her awesomeness, though I don't know what she wears.And I love Barbara Stanwyck as well. She is great in Double Indemnity, especially in that scene where Fred McMurray kills her husband– her reaction is so brilliant and twisted.

  4. I really like Charlotte Gainsbourg, as she's beautiful but in a slightly off kilter way, and her style incorporates many masculine elements as well. And this woman is a mother! I really like Alexa Chung, for similar reasons. I don't know what her off camera style is like, but Franka Potente also gets my girl crush heart pumpin' too.

Leave a Reply

