Summer Black-out 2010 – Ensembles 1 & 2

For better or worse, I’m participating in Sal of Already Pretty’s Summer Black-out 2010 week (I’d put her Black-Out banner here, but everytime I do it, Blogger thinks it’s a mistake and I’m not enough of a techo-wizard to fix it). D-Med and I had a bit of chat about the excess black in our wardrobes and how, to borrow a phrase from our stylish friend, Kelly in Beantown, we rely on black to ground many of the brighter coloured pieces we own. Frankly, as much as I enjoy others’ colourful clothes, I’m more than a little intimidated by colour in my professional wardrobe. This may become evident this week, but I promise to TRY to cultivate at least a little more excitement than the following is bound to inspire.

Ensemble #1:Here’s what I wore to brunch yesterday with a local celebrity – she’s on city TV!Woman, I am hooked up.(Not really.She’s a friend of my sister-in-law’s who’s new to the city. So, it was sort of a blind friend date.)As noted below, white’s not my best colour. When I wear it, I try to add colour around my face so I don’t induce narcolepsy in either myself or others.

White eyelet dress: George (thrifted)

Jean jacket:DKNY (remixed)

Brown riding boots:Aldo (remixed)

Necklace:gifted

Watch:Pulsar (Grandpa’s remixed)

 

 

(return of the Wonder Woman pose – what do you do with your arms in your close-ups? I’ll be paying attention!)

Side note:Academics, how much do you love/hate acclimatizing to a new city AND trying to make new friends?After grad school, a place that provides both immediate community and serious challenges that bonded at least some of us together, friend dating sucketh.After grad school, I think I may have forgotten how to be on my best behaviour in social situations.I can be good in professional settings—classrooms, meetings, libraries—but that’s not conducive to being fun with friends.

Thus as I meet new people and go for coffee, go for drinks, go to art shows, and try new restaurants, I have a good time, yes. And I get excited about potential new friendships. But I also try not to be an idiot, try not to say “mons” or “crotchal” (though apparently, I don’t hold myself to the same standards in all forums), and work to cultivate mutual interests when they may not be readily apparent. And I start to hate academia, just a little (more), for not letting me live near the friends I already know.

(Thus endeth the side note.)

In other news, today I wore this dress:

Brown linen dress:H&M

Brass & wood bangle*:Hudson’s Bay Co. (remixed)

Sparkly peach wedges:?? – my sweaty feet rubbed off the logo (remixed from Shoe Heaven)

*p.s. Isn’t this a creepy close-up of my hand? Somehow, the angle makes it look like a crawling crab. Blech.

This dress is relatively comfortable once it’s on, but it’s very cheap linen, so it takes the top layer of skin off my arms when I’m wrestling my way into it. And after the struggle, there’s rarely energy remaining for accessorizing.But Londyn at Blogfashion does some B.A. dress remixing. So maybe, if I get enough sleep the night before, some morning I’ll try to follow her lead.

17 thoughts on “Summer Black-out 2010 – Ensembles 1 & 2

  1. It's hard to make friends when you are a grown-up. You can't just throw sand at someone and then become friends for life like you used to. I preyed on the new hires last year and started emailing them before they arrived so they would have to be my friend when they got here–and now they are! Of course, they might think I'm a total stalker, which would be true. It is tough though to move by yourself to a brand new city where you know no one. I also live in a super close-knit city where I will always be considered "from away". Seriously, it's a thing here to be a CFA (come from away), which is not friendly at all. Anyway, both of these dresses are great and I would totally be friends with anyone who was this style-y, even if their hands were creepy-looking (which yours are not).

  2. Thanks for all your comments, everybody. I feel encouraged.Jesspgh: I'm happy to hear the dog walking has facilitated new friendships for you. I certainly know all the dogs in my building but have yet to figure out the names of any of their people. . . There was a woman here last year who I met as soon as I moved in; she had a dog and was an academic. We had some lovely glasses of wine in our respective apartments while our dogs pretended to ignore one another. But she was just here for a year-long internship, so it was back to square one when she left. Bah! But I like your idea of online fashion communities. . . Kelly: I'll totally be trying some turquoise accents as soon as I work up enough energy to get into that dress, again. Also, you may be right. My idea of how I dress may need to catch up with me. It's been a few years since I did all black all the time.LHDM: Thanks! I've not worn a dress this short without tights since the late nineties, so your compliment is very much appreciated. Also, I'm doing the yoga, but things are pretty quiet on that front, socially. I like the salsa dancing idea, though, and will get on it right away.Rad: Agh! I detest unfulfilled friend dates. I also hate cancelled friend dates as they leave gaping holes in my already sparse social calendar, and leave me feeling very sorry for myself. Yeah, I've managed to establish about 3 friendships in my three years here. That's a sad, sad little average!D-Med: Your city is stupid about the CFA stuff. But you are smart to prey on new hires. I'm in a VERY small program, so the chances of our getting new hires in the next year or so are slim. But I'm counting heavily on the New Faculty Orientation Days this summer to open some social doors for me. So I'll need to socialize a LOT right before those days so I don't have the stink of social desperation upon me. Maybe you should come here. Everyone else is invited, too.

  3. Re: your side note. It takes me about two years to feel like I've settled into a new place. Disclaimer: if said new place is a black hole of suck with nothing to do but hike in the woods and no adult non-university people with real jobs except a tiny number of townies working in support services for a bazillion overprivileged undergraduates, friend-finding and settling in may be harder (see: when I worked at Virginia Tech, where I thankfully do not work anymore). Also, once you're out of school new friends are harder to come by at any rate — everyone's all busy reproducing and stuff.That's why I love the internets. Mwah.

  4. You guys are funny. This should inspire me to make a date with my existing friends. Or fufil a friend date. But I feel like in NYC you have to be patient with these things since everyone has so much going on? And we all live so far apart. Like a couple date we have planned in Jersey. Or a future BBQ in Westchester. Too many ins and out.I hope to hear updates on the "stalk the new hires" strategy!

  5. Thanks for all your comments, everybody. I feel encouraged.Jesspgh: I'm happy to hear the dog walking has facilitated new friendships for you. I certainly know all the dogs in my building but have yet to figure out the names of any of their people. . . There was a woman here last year who I met as soon as I moved in; she had a dog and was an academic. We had some lovely glasses of wine in our respective apartments while our dogs pretended to ignore one another. But she was just here for a year-long internship, so it was back to square one when she left. Bah! But I like your idea of online fashion communities. . . Kelly: I'll totally be trying some turquoise accents as soon as I work up enough energy to get into that dress, again. Also, you may be right. My idea of how I dress may need to catch up with me. It's been a few years since I did all black all the time.LHDM: Thanks! I've not worn a dress this short without tights since the late nineties, so your compliment is very much appreciated. Also, I'm doing the yoga, but things are pretty quiet on that front, socially. I like the salsa dancing idea, though, and will get on it right away.Rad: Agh! I detest unfulfilled friend dates. I also hate cancelled friend dates as they leave gaping holes in my already sparse social calendar, and leave me feeling very sorry for myself. Yeah, I've managed to establish about 3 friendships in my three years here. That's a sad, sad little average!D-Med: Your city is stupid about the CFA stuff. But you are smart to prey on new hires. I'm in a VERY small program, so the chances of our getting new hires in the next year or so are slim. But I'm counting heavily on the New Faculty Orientation Days this summer to open some social doors for me. So I'll need to socialize a LOT right before those days so I don't have the stink of social desperation upon me. Maybe you should come here. Everyone else is invited, too.

  6. You know what's crazy about blogging? I just commented on your post with a whole lot of stuff you already know, because, you know, YOU KNOW ME, and yet I still felt the need to share. So now the internet knows I am a creepy, friendless stalker. ( Well, I have two friends, but I stalked them.) Grad school broke me.

  7. It's hard to make friends when you are a grown-up. You can't just throw sand at someone and then become friends for life like you used to. I preyed on the new hires last year and started emailing them before they arrived so they would have to be my friend when they got here–and now they are! Of course, they might think I'm a total stalker, which would be true. It is tough though to move by yourself to a brand new city where you know no one. I also live in a super close-knit city where I will always be considered "from away". Seriously, it's a thing here to be a CFA (come from away), which is not friendly at all. Anyway, both of these dresses are great and I would totally be friends with anyone who was this style-y, even if their hands were creepy-looking (which yours are not).

  8. Love these black free ensembles! But I also have always found your professorial outfits to be quite colorful. I am worst at cultivating friendships in the post graduate school era. I'm coming into my third year in NYC, and I remain friendly with all my colleagues, (although because Blokey is a sessional, this puts us in a different economic situation) but I think I have really about 4 friends, two of which I already had before moving. And about 12 unfufilled potential friend dates (mostly couple things) that both parties have been too lazy to fufill. I hoped that make more friends through other venues like my CSA, but failed. One of my (few) friends has a great network through her running club, but I don't like running enough to join her (although she's tried to recruit me. I do hang out with her friends sometimes).I miss my grad school friends and grad school city, dangit!

  9. Do you have any hobbies like yoga or salsa dancing that you could use to make friends outside of academia in your new town? Or is there a book club that you could join? I often fantasize that I will become best friends with my next door neighbor, but that never has happened.Oh, and your legs look killer in that white dress!

  10. I got a shout-out! Woot! These outfits are both great. I love how you've toughened up the Little White Dress trend, and that brown linen shirtwaist is divine. Have you considered throwing some turquoise at it? Chunky necklace, scarf-as-sash?What's funny about Black-Out is that I've always thought you do a great job of bringing color into your professorial ensembles. I tried to move away from black and just wound up with a closet full of grey.

  11. Both of these outfits are fantastic! I love how you hardened the softness of the feminine eyelet dress with boots, the necklace, and layers! I think making friends is challenging for sure in a new place and rather than meeting people at bars, I've had better luck in coffee shops, boutiques, or walking my dog. I've also had luck forging community online that allows me to have epals to visit and acclimate me to a new town. When I was a predoctoral fellow at the Smithsonian, almost all my DC friends were found via fashion forums first. I had less lucky making close connections with the other fellows as we were all pretty engrossed in our work. Community can be found in unexpected places, in my experience. But it is annoying that academia makes it so difficult to choose where we live and with who we can surround ourselves.

  12. I liked your boots in the photo a lot as it is really the latest one and being a fashion designer you need to be updated with the latest trends and fashion.

Leave a Reply

