NSFW: Dancing Queen

I learned this pose from the Sears catalogue and Charlie’s Angels.

This is one of my favourite articles of clothing. I bought it in a second-hand shop in Montreal. During undergrad I was in a typically undergrad production of The Seagull—all angsty and actory and important—and I decided that I needed to lighten things up for the cast party by randomly dressing in something crazy awesome. So I went thrifting. This fit me perfectly, was in pristine condition—it looked unworn and is exquisitely handmade—and I truly believed that Chekov would approve. It cost all of $20, which at the time was an exorbitant amount of money for me to spend on anything. This is the only reason I can think of for why I didn’t buy the second handmade jumpsuit that matched this one, in equally great condition but in blues and purples. Regrets, I’ve had a few.

I have worn this to several parties; I wore it to see the ABBA cover band Abbamania with A-Dubs; and I wore it to one of the first meetings I attended in my new department, which happened to fall on Hallowe’en. In almost every instance, I was the only one in costume. Sometimes this was a surprise.


Crazy Awesome Jumpsuit: thrifted
Belt: gifted

Brown Boots: Elle
Soundtrack: everything ABBA

I was trying to get artsy with the macro setting for a close-up of this excellent belt, which looks great with a plain black shift. Probably you are impressed with my mad photography skillz.


BONUS QUESTION: This also counts for Already Pretty’s Summer Blackout Challenge, right?

13 thoughts on “NSFW: Dancing Queen

  1. Thanks all! I love this jumpsuit and I'm so glad it is making brains explode across the internet. I had forgotten that I met my best grad school buds for the first time wearing this and my long blonde wig (I was Agnetha from ABBA for the department Hallowe'en party that year. Obviously.). I'm glad we're friends too and I'm especially glad I made such an awesome first impression, stylistically speaking. If I were not so committed to retaining my air of mystery (and to not having to do hair or make-up or make smiley faces to take outfit shots), then I totally would have rocked the wig for this post too. Of course, then you all would have thought I had a wealth of flaxen hair.

  2. This may be the coolest item of clothing I have ever seen. I love it. Though I admit, I would have regretted not getting it in purple too. By the way, your artsy photography is lovely. I went through a macro phase at one point – I have a ton of photographs of my engagement ring and my toes – I have lived quite a life.

  3. That's sweet, Rad, though I think my willingness to look ridiculous in public is not so much "cool" as it is "shameless". What does the "Swedish welfare state" look like? I'm not sure I would have gotten it either but I love a clever Hallowe'en costume. I think I did try to slur my way through a Swedish accent when I was dressed as Agnetha, which I'm sure would have totally insulted the Swedish welfare state.

  4. Once again proving that you're cooler than the rest of us D-Med. The fact you wore this in public to an event with fellow grad students? Frickin' priceless.I once dressed up as the "Swedish welfare state" to a Sweden themed Halloween party. I think out of the 50 or so people present, maybe 10 people go it. Darn it.

  5. Thanks all! I love this jumpsuit and I'm so glad it is making brains explode across the internet. I had forgotten that I met my best grad school buds for the first time wearing this and my long blonde wig (I was Agnetha from ABBA for the department Hallowe'en party that year. Obviously.). I'm glad we're friends too and I'm especially glad I made such an awesome first impression, stylistically speaking. If I were not so committed to retaining my air of mystery (and to not having to do hair or make-up or make smiley faces to take outfit shots), then I totally would have rocked the wig for this post too. Of course, then you all would have thought I had a wealth of flaxen hair.

  6. You are totally givin' 'er, bringing it, stepping up, raising the bar, and all similar phrases the mean "being awesome" in these poses. Also, you were wearing this jumpsuit when we met. With a huge blond wig that I thought was your real hair. Woman, I'm glad we're friends.

  7. ZOMG! I love this! And thanks for reminding me that I must get back on my jumpsuit project. Once I get the cat situation a bit calmer.I'd love to see the belt with the black dress, after black out is over!

Leave a Reply

