The Importance of Morning Photos: Summer Black-out 3&4

Two days ago, this happened:

This is Fuzzy Roommate’s poor little foot, splinted and wrapped, because an accident at the (very negligent) groomer’s left him with a broken toe. Now he’s on bed rest and pain meds, and the A-Dubs-Hubs and I carry him out for a “placing” each night. (i.e. We place him on the grass so he can empty himself, then we carry him back inside. He can hop around on three legs during the day, even though it’s incredibly pathetic to see. But at night he gets a little wobbly and it’s too heartbreaking to watch him try to be his usual independent cat-like self.)

Anyway, today—not on purpose—he and I arrived at my office (where he has to accompany me so I can monitor his pain meds) matching.See?

Striped Jacket: Tribal (remixed)

Cotton striped T: Theory (Vegas outlet)

Necklaces: gifted

Belt: ?? (remixed)

Trouser jeans: Joe Fresh (remixed)

Navy sequin wedges: Roman Tenza (remixed)

I had a much more exciting ensemble planned around a thrifted sundress, but it’s only 14 degrees (57 fahrenheit) today, so I had to be reasonable—and I had to do so “live” as I’d not planned for “reasonable warmth.” Luckily, I tried taking some morning photos, so my first effort was scrapped.I simultaneously enjoy and regret the honest styling appraisal the camera enables: on the one hand, I’m grateful for the help in avoiding bad things.On the other, I miss my pre-blog-photo confidence that “things are probably fine.”

Frankly, I wish I’d tried the morning-photo plan yesterday before I left my apartment in this:

 

Printed cotton blouse: Kenzie

Necklace: gifted

Cardigan & Cami: Smart Set (remixed)

Khakis: Joe Fresh

Peach & brown leather wedges: Geox

As you’ll perhaps begin to discern from these images, it’s relatively easy for me to look like a very poorly styled soccer mom. This is especially true when I wear khakis. Yet somehow, I need to learn this lesson repeatedly. Every couple of years I start to miss the khakis that I made myself adios last time. So I pick up yet another pair of khakis and give things another go.At least these ones were cheap.

Here, I tried (and failed) to do that gorgeous shoe-highlighting rolled-up-pant-legs thing that much stylier bloggers like Jentine of My Edit do. I surely enjoy these shoes; but things really got too matchy-matchy, and I am appropriately ashamed. (But not ashamed enough to keep it off the internet. I’m making myself post so I have to learn these lessons.) I am VERY glad I didn’t bump into any students yesterday.

Don’t you think, however, that if these pants were slimmer and a darker shade of khaki or olive drab, if I were wearing some high-heeled gladiator sandals in some kind of nude or metallic, and if I’d left off the silver necklace, the rest could work? Or maybe I should also ditch the brown cardigan and go with a cropped close-fitting jean jacket?

For better or worse, nothing here is black, so my Summer Black-out 2010 participation is still on.

10 thoughts on “The Importance of Morning Photos: Summer Black-out 3&4

  1. Boo to the groomer. Sorry about Fuzzy Roommate's injuries and (worse) threats to his fierce independents. Here's to a quick recovery. But it's cute that he came to your office. The first outfit kicks ass. You're looking leggy and streamlined and all kinds of awesome. Mixing stripes and trouser jeans= awesomeness.I don't think the second outfit is in "poor styled soccer man" category because the peach and pink combo is bold and those pants bit pretty well. I would like to see this outfit with one of those changes, though. Maybe a slightly slimmer fitting pair of pants or a more structured jacket. I do like it though. I don't own any khakis because light colored bottoms are not my friends. Ever. (Gross subway seats keep it this way).

  2. I feel I should make clear for our readers that a "bum cuddle" is the independent Fuzzy Roomate's way of telling you he loves you while still maintaining his cool. From a sitting position he kind of backs into you until he is pressing his bum and back into your leg in a very dignified cuddle. It's impossible not to pet him when he does this, but this way he gets to pretend it was your idea. He's so great.The Vampire Cat does this too, but he usually bum cuddles my face when I'm trying to sleep, which is much less pleasant and much less dignified.

  3. I feel I should make clear for our readers that a "bum cuddle" is the independent Fuzzy Roomate's way of telling you he loves you while still maintaining his cool. From a sitting position he kind of backs into you until he is pressing his bum and back into your leg in a very dignified cuddle. It's impossible not to pet him when he does this, but this way he gets to pretend it was your idea. He's so great.The Vampire Cat does this too, but he usually bum cuddles my face when I'm trying to sleep, which is much less pleasant and much less dignified.

  4. Poor FR! Give him a bum cuddle from me. A pox of hangnails and plantars warts upon that groomer.That first outfit is stellar and makes me want to layer necklaces over patterned tops. Bold! I too should have gotten that Theory top. I think I wasted may have spent too much Vegas outlet time drinking at Ted Baker, not that I regret such actions.As for the second outfit, you don't look like a soccer mom. Khakis and I don't get along either, but I must profess deep love for a pair of slim-cut khaki cargos I got last summer. Something like that might be an edgier mix with the very pretty blouse. I also third the structured jacket suggestion. For me it's the matched cami and cardy that dull this down. What about the same outfit but less so: no/nude cami, no cardy, unroll the pants, red shoes for a bright pop?

  5. FHDM: We're in the process of taking action with the negligent groomer. Step 1: give them a chance to offer to pay for all vet expenses & meds. Rad: I'm tempted to look for the darker, slimmer pants right now. In part because, really, light coloured bottoms are not my friends either. But I don't have the subway-seat excuse; I'm just clumsy and sloppy.D-Med: Yes – they are little hydrants! Even as my rage with the groomer builds with each glimpse of FR's poor foot, those hydrants make me love our vet even more. Also, yes, you should have gotten that theory top. And I should have gotten that gorgeous black theory dress. And you're right: neither the chunky necklace nor the dark cami are doing any good work in the second ensemble.

  6. Dude, are those fire hydrants on FRoomie's splint? I'm sad for him but that is the cutest and styliest.Also, I love the first outfit and I am jealous of your long torso that fits into Joe Fresh pants. Their pants reach my bra almost. And you look great in that Theory top which I also wish I'd bought (we can do that because we live so frickin' far away from each other now, right?).The second outfit isn't horrible and that blouse is really pretty. Maybe a lighter-coloured cami that blends with the top, or no visible cami at all? The sweater is okay but a structured jacket like look #1 also would be nice. And maybe a more delicate necklace or none at all. I don't mind the cuffed pants, as long as you don't cuff them they way Katie Holmes cuff-tapered those horrible "boyfriend" jeans a few years ago. Please do not dress like the Robo-Bride (you don't).

  7. Boo to the groomer. Sorry about Fuzzy Roommate's injuries and (worse) threats to his fierce independents. Here's to a quick recovery. But it's cute that he came to your office. The first outfit kicks ass. You're looking leggy and streamlined and all kinds of awesome. Mixing stripes and trouser jeans= awesomeness.I don't think the second outfit is in "poor styled soccer man" category because the peach and pink combo is bold and those pants bit pretty well. I would like to see this outfit with one of those changes, though. Maybe a slightly slimmer fitting pair of pants or a more structured jacket. I do like it though. I don't own any khakis because light colored bottoms are not my friends. Ever. (Gross subway seats keep it this way).

Leave a Reply

