Cowboy Crazy

Holstering the finger guns, pardner.

This just in, I’m rad. Well, Rad’s rad, but her recent post for Summer Black-Out Challenge 2010 reminded me that I had in my closet this cowboy shirt. I have had this shirt for at least fifteen years. I bought it when I was on tour (in a play, in another life) from a local K-Mart because, true story, I forgot to pack any shirts. A friend of ours told me that when he thinks of me, he thinks of me in this shirt, so I must wear it enough for it to be a signature piece without my even knowing it. I love that.

The jeans I’m wearing I bought yesterday because I was feeling claustrophobic so I went to a mall (this solution indicates the level of crazy I am working at right now; there’s an oceanfront and a wild park here, and I went to a mall). I really wanted summer jeans (it is not hot enough here for that to be weird): cropped, tapered (not skinny), cuffed jeans. These are skinnies in a size 14 (I’m usually a 10). I think they look great in the leg, but there is a lot going on in the waist region which I can corral with a belt, but this solution might also be a level of crazy.


Cowboy shirt: no label, from a K-mart

Jeans: Gap (worn with the tags on in case I have to return them)
Shoes: Bensimon
Crazy alert: orange
I was trying to do a doe-see-doe but nearly fell off the stool, while the cats did nothing.

And since I’m feeling a little unhinged, I must come clean on the subject of Summer Black-Out Challenge 2010. It’s not at all a challenge for me, at least not while I’m in writing mode. In teaching mode, I wear almost exclusively black (remember the still incomplete NYCool week?) because I feel most comfortable in it, most professional and especially most safe from the arsenal of potential stains I face daily. A Black-Out Challenge during the teaching terms would be very tough for me, but it turns out that I actually wear a lot of colour outside of the classroom. I think I should revisit this challenge again when classes are in session.


Who’s with me?
(Please note: I am not of sound mind.)

8 thoughts on “Cowboy Crazy

  1. Ah, I love this look on you! Does it seriously not that get hot where you are? And you're by the shore? I'm jealous. The jeans look nice, but how do you feel about waist goings on, which we can't see? Is the bunchy belt business manageable? This is why I hate and love jeans. Oh forgiving denim, yet recalcitrant waistlines. I hear you on the black while teaching. I am dependent on black while writing. I think I could take on the challenge for a week but I am only in the classroom 2 days a week, so it would be slightly less challenging for me than someone who teaches M-F (but I'll do it, anyway).

  2. I'm in, too. But I'm glad it's a long time from now. And I hope that I, too, will only be in the classroom two days a week.But about the jeans: I'm concerned about the sizing. Why so large? Do they even stay on you without a belt? What am I missing?Also, I agree that that shirt is a signature D-Med piece. And with finger guns, cuffed jeans, and those awesome sneaks, it's full-on great with a side of cowboy-party. Is this what you're wearing out to dinner ce soir? Is it a house party? Will the finger guns remain holstered for this event?

  3. I love this shirt – gingham is so fresh in the summertime. And those shoes are pretty perfect. I'll be interested to see what happens with the jeans, if they're keepers or not. I love that you went after what you wanted, so I hope if they don't work out, you find something that does. Jean shopping can be so tricky!

  4. I'm in, too. But I'm glad it's a long time from now. And I hope that I, too, will only be in the classroom two days a week.But about the jeans: I'm concerned about the sizing. Why so large? Do they even stay on you without a belt? What am I missing?Also, I agree that that shirt is a signature D-Med piece. And with finger guns, cuffed jeans, and those awesome sneaks, it's full-on great with a side of cowboy-party. Is this what you're wearing out to dinner ce soir? Is it a house party? Will the finger guns remain holstered for this event?

  5. These jeans are also super stretchy so I think they may stretch beyond management, but they are super comfy as a result. And my university town is on the ocean (well, the city is on a harbour, not the open ocean). It's far too cold to swim here but I keep meaning to try kayaking or something. Good surfing too, but I am too accident-prone to take that up. I like the temperate weather actually. Where I lived in Ontario was NYC hot in the summer, which was unbearable in an industrial town.I only teach two days a week as well, but I am on campus a lot more when classes are in session so I could probably manage a full week. Let's do it!

  6. Ah, I love this look on you! Does it seriously not that get hot where you are? And you're by the shore? I'm jealous. The jeans look nice, but how do you feel about waist goings on, which we can't see? Is the bunchy belt business manageable? This is why I hate and love jeans. Oh forgiving denim, yet recalcitrant waistlines. I hear you on the black while teaching. I am dependent on black while writing. I think I could take on the challenge for a week but I am only in the classroom 2 days a week, so it would be slightly less challenging for me than someone who teaches M-F (but I'll do it, anyway).

Leave a Reply

