Back in black: summer meeting

I had my first lunch meeting as an official faculty member today, so I wanted to look the part. But it was lunch, and I wanted to minimize slop-related risks. In general, I average one major spill per day; when I am nervous, those numbers go up (way up). So white is really not my friend, especially when an outfit has to last me all day. Nonetheless, I took a risk and wore a white blazer. Really, dark colours and I are very friendly on meeting/interview days as they hide a multitude of sins/spills.
Also, despite the relative formality of the occasion, it’s summer and no one’s teaching; so I decided to go with bare legs and open-toed shoes. Because, as previously noted, I’m crazy that way. That’s right, I live way out on the edge.

White ¾ sleeve jacket: Olsen (via The Bay)
Black sleeveless top: Max Azria (via Winners)
Black cami: H&M
Black flower skirt: Point Zero
Silver circle necklace: gifted
Watch: grandpa’s Pulsar (remixed)
Pink t-strap platform/flats: Kenneth Cole (remixed)
And while we’re being all edgy, how do you like the placement of the big pink flower on this skirt? ‘Rather appropriately symbolic – in a second-wave sort of way – for a Women’s and Gender Studies person, don’t you think? (If you’re on the fence on this one, does it help if I tell you that my work centres on women’s sexuality?)

(This is the back.)
And here’s a bonus pic, because I’ve got it, of the top, purchased just last weekend. I’ve decided the ruffly layers mask potential rolls relatively effectively. In fact, I’m so sure of the roll-masking qualities of this top that I bought it in grey, too.

Anyway, open-toed shoes & bare legs in summer meetings: anyone care to discuss further?

18 thoughts on “Back in black: summer meeting

  1. Oooh wow! Your work centers on women's sexuality? And you got a teaching job?! In this economic climate?!? Man. You must be wicked smart and gifted or something. That's a dream reality that I can barely envision.

  2. A-Dubs, just discovered you through Style Underdog.I absolutely LOVE this skirt! Not your typical floral. I find black-based florals look so exotic. You worked it right for work.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  3. I am loving that ruffle top! It looks like it has its own tank built in, making it instantly appropriate in addition to stylin'.And I've been bare-arming and open toe-ing it all summer, so hope it's OK! :)This outfit looks fantastic.

  4. A-Dubs, just discovered you through Style Underdog.I absolutely LOVE this skirt! Not your typical floral. I find black-based florals look so exotic. You worked it right for work.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  5. Oooh wow! Your work centers on women's sexuality? And you got a teaching job?! In this economic climate?!? Man. You must be wicked smart and gifted or something. That's a dream reality that I can barely envision.

  6. I am loving that ruffle top! It looks like it has its own tank built in, making it instantly appropriate in addition to stylin'.And I've been bare-arming and open toe-ing it all summer, so hope it's OK! :)This outfit looks fantastic.

  7. Honestly, as a native New Englander, I am most comfortable (psychologically) in wool skirts, knee high boots, and sweaters. But in these parts, it is clearly acceptable to wear open toed shoes over bare legs, and with bare arms. The catch is that is also over airconditioned, so one needs a cardigan or blazer to hand…–AFtK

  8. I think your outfit is fantastic and perfectly professional. I love the details, like the print of the skirt, the tiers of the top, and the medallion necklace.

  9. @Beth: I really enjoy the contrast between your professional and out-of-academy style. And RMP is scary; it would be wrong not to fear it!@AFtK: How awesome would it be if this was a full-on Georgia O'Keefe skirt? And I envy you the warm year-round weather. I often wonder why I continue to commit to such a cold climate when such warm places exist. . .@D-Med: You're right: 'still not strange. And I've NEVER understood how your feet are at all FF-esque.@WWaNW: Thanks for ringing in – I certainly appreciate feedback from a skirt-and-dress afficianado(sp?) like you!

  10. Oh yes, to weigh in on the bare legs, bare arms, visible toes question: like rad, I'm okay with bare legs but I'm less comfortable with bare arms and open toes in the classroom. It feels too casual for me, I think; I sort of have Fred Flinstone feet so it's definitely not because I feel too sexy. I'm also one of those people who is always cold so I usually find that I need sleeves indoors and out. The window for southern US dressing where I live in northeastern Canada is very narrow during the teaching terms anyway and I am most comfortable in tights, closed-toe shoes or boots and long sleeves when I am teaching. I sort of dress like a nun when I am teaching, which is not a bit strange.

  11. So I am going to join the "bare legs and open shoes is fine" conversation. I love in the southern US and I would say that bare legs are fine for meetings and teaching in any weather than they are more comfortable than stockings would be. (The reason that the southern US part is relevant is that around here that can mean spring, summer, and fall….)Also, nice flower. Very Georgia O.—Away from the Keyboard

  12. I think open toed shoes are bare legs are fine for teaching when the weather permits. As long as they are paired with more conservative counterparts. Ironic considering how I dress outside of work!Is it OK that RMP scares me?

  13. SU: That is sweet! I would NEVER try to take it back. NEVER! But don't you think you need to link to yourself, too?DM: You are smart and charming, not strange. They seriously do not know. Also, excellent inclusion of "mons" in yet another sentence. Rad: Smart punning! Also, I occasionally "monitor" my profile on RMP. And I was stupidly excited when I FINALLY got my chili pepper.LHdM: Thanks, woman! I'll consider the bare arms for the next meeting, for sure. Maybe some push-ups first, though. (We can't all be as hard core as you are. . . )

  14. That is a terrific outfit. I would wear that to work except for the open toe sandals. Strict no jeans, no open toe, no tank top, cover all tattoos dress code.Please check out the right side of my blog on your next visit. I made a special link list for you all. The cool internet style clique has been posted so now it is real. No take backs.

  15. My name is spelt wrong on RMP and I am deemed "a bit strange" by one of my students. Another complained about having to study for my tests because it was the first time they ever had to do that for an English course. Lesson: they don't know. Also, nice mons flower A-Dubs. I am totally not strange.

  16. Very professorial, and you're looking very slender and model-esque. And congrats on your first meeting as an official faculty member. That is a suggestive flower. And an awesome top. Why does H&M have to bring it when I am all being thrifty?I think bare arms, open toed shoes, and sandals are fine for summer and meetings. But I am personally too skin shy to show bare arms or my toes in front of students. But I totally support it. (I both like and dislike the fact that I got a "hot" chili pepper designation on that horrid RateMyProfessor website. I am happy to be considered attractive but I don't want to be sexualized by 20 year old dudes. Have you ever heard them talk about women? Shudder).I realize that my prudishness only involves my shoulders and feet. I'll wear quite short skirts because I think legs are very pedestrian.

  17. Well, hit me over the head with a sledge hammer or a big pink flower, why don't ya? Open-toed shoes and bare legs are completely fine for meetings (or for teaching) in the spring and summer in my book. I also think bare arms are game.

Leave a Reply

