Champagne Tastes: Denis Gagnon dress

Unlike D-Med, I don’t usually fantasy-shop. Generally, I find it frustrating to browse things I cannot afford, just to determine what I cannot have. Despite my initial reservations, however, I actually enjoyed clicking around to find an appropriate item for this fantasy-shopping post.

Thus for my “Champagne Tastes” debut, I chose this gorgeous Denis Gagnon spring/summer 2010 zippered pocketed dress and the shoes with which it is styled:

How I would wear it: Obviously, this dress would be NSFW (not suitable for work), but imagine if it wasn’t? For example, if I played a housewife on a soap opera, this would be ideal afternoon loungewear for when I returned home – after horseback riding all morning – to wait for random past lovers to drop by for some rehashing of issues and illicit messing around. Alternatively, if I were a leggy young celebrity, I could rock this on the red carpet at my premiere where I would pretend to have a relationship with either or both of my hot male co-stars, but would in fact be fantasizing about the woman who snuck into my trailer every night. (That one’s for my colleague who suspects a certain leggy young celebrity is a lesbian.)

Reasons to hesitate: I assume this ensemble is a contender for this not-buying segment because I can find absolutely no price point anywhere (read: nothing retrieved in two basic Googles). And to me, this means I cannot afford it. Possibly ever.

As I have neither an excess of cash nor the above occupations, I will (not) be buying this dress. I will subsequently (not) wear it to friends’ weddings this summer, and I will (not) layer it over black tights and shoes for university fundraising events next fall.

Denis Gagnon is another Canadian designer based in Montreal. I have family in Montreal, so I hope to visit both them and this dress very, very soon. (I will, of course, report in re: price points, etc.) I also sense some more (not) buying of Denis Gagnon fashions-for-fall coming on. His fall/winter 2010 line does things with zippers and leather that are so awesome they should be illegal.

Would you (not) buy this ensemble? Where would you (not) wear it?

p.s. Denis Gagnon is not compensating me for not buying this dress & shoes.

12 thoughts on “Champagne Tastes: Denis Gagnon dress

  1. "[He] does things with zippers and leather that are so awesome they should be illegal." Get me his number. (wait, we're not that kind of blog.)Dude, way to fantasy shop circles around me! This is amazing and would look gorgeous on you at your movie premiere. It actually sort of reminds me of a BA version of your wedding dress (v. 2.0).I wouldn't buy this ensemble but I would wait for you to buy it and then give it to me because you mistakenly think you can't wear this colour. Then I would put it on and the Vampire Cat would launch himself at me and try to cram himself into one of those pockets. That would be bad. Best not to buy it at all.

  2. Rad, you totally called it. A-Dubs is some kind of freakish afficianado on vampire fiction and I think she is just waiting to write her own slash Buffy-Twilight crossover. Which could be bad. Or very very good.

  3. Ha! Don't tempt me with the fiction. Because I'll write it, it will be bad, but I'll post segments here anyway and earnestly ask for constructive critique.Also, I agree that LC (leggy celebrity) would be WAY more interesting if she came out.

  4. Gorgeous dress and shoes. This would look gorgeous on you! Maybe Denis will be having a sale? A big sale?I too thought of a certain vampire lass with regard to the suspected lesbian. I like this theory, as I find her far more attractive than her co-stars.

  5. Ooh, champagne colored (or as you all write, coloured) dresses of the champagne tastes! Divine. I'm going to ignore the undead look of the model and concentrate on your alternative lives instead. Indeed, it would SFW at either of these occasions. Those pockets! That neckpiece! The sheen!Also, leggy lesbian celebrity vampires- this will totally be A-Dubs' foray into fiction publication.

  6. "[He] does things with zippers and leather that are so awesome they should be illegal." Get me his number. (wait, we're not that kind of blog.)Dude, way to fantasy shop circles around me! This is amazing and would look gorgeous on you at your movie premiere. It actually sort of reminds me of a BA version of your wedding dress (v. 2.0).I wouldn't buy this ensemble but I would wait for you to buy it and then give it to me because you mistakenly think you can't wear this colour. Then I would put it on and the Vampire Cat would launch himself at me and try to cram himself into one of those pockets. That would be bad. Best not to buy it at all.

Leave a Reply

