Thrifted sundress, Take One

I had every intention of making it to campus today, so I dressed for the office. But there were a zillion errands to run and meetings to have, so I didn’t make it. As a result, tonight will be a late one as I struggle to meet my (self-imposed) work quota. I’ve (finally) hit that point when the guilt, self-loathing, and (metaphoric) self-flagellation have amped up to fever pitch. This means I’m finally in a work groove – one I intend to remain in until my current project is off my desk and onto someone else’s.

But before I get grooving, here’s my first attempt at styling a recently-thrifted sundress. My first tries are always on the safe side:

Dress: thrifted

Denim jacket: Smart Set

Red wood & bead necklace: Le Chateau

Wood & brass bracelet: The Bay (remixed)

Brown sandals: Dansko (remixed)

I suspect this dress is a petite, which would normally be out of the question for me. The petite dropped waist falls a couple of inches below my natural waist, however, so I’ve decided it’s working for me, not against me, just this once.

I’m considering taking up the hem so it hits an inch or two above the knee so that I can wear gladiator flats with this dress. ‘Thoughts? Advice?

In other news, here’s Fuzzy Roommate with his new splint on his poor broken toe (the lettering reads “ouch”):

Today, the groomer agreed to cover our vet bills. Thus, although it’s still heart-breaking to see him hop around, the sympathy I feel for FR is less tied up with rage against the groomer.

How do you get into (and stay in) a work groove? More significantly, how would you style this dress? (It took way longer than expected for me to do so this morning, so all suggestions will be appreciated!)

17 thoughts on “Thrifted sundress, Take One

  1. This dress is awesome. I love the petite dropped waist on a tall figure. Love the pattern.You know, I have been digging slightly longer skirt lengths (in addition to my scandalously short ones) lately. I don't know why. There's something retro about it that is also quite secure (no crotch shots or crazy old dudes shouting, "There's some sex walkin' by" when you go below the knee.) If you want to wear with flats, I'd say pale flats, but you still look good as it is. Then again, if chopping off a few inches will make you wear the dress more, do it! I am also on team cardigan.As for work, I try to get a little bit of work in every day, even if I really just don't want to. Usually, I work similarly to annoymous' schedule, but that's exhausting and often fills me with panic and guilt. Just another day in Rad-ville, I suppose.Deadlines that are enforced with a writing group (we exchange papers on a given date) also help.

  2. Agree with LHdM, hem the dress. Different sandals too. The ones you're wearing cut at the ankle and shorten your legs. Go for a cardi next time. Nothing wrong with demin blazer, a cardi would be a little softer, maybe in a yellow, to play off the necklace.That photo of FR is so sad. Poor guy/girl.Ditto Anon. about work groove and panic mode. Deadlines work for me, even self imposed ones.

  3. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I mean really LOVE it. My advice probably isn’t that useful as I think we have different styles but I would wear it with black biker boots and a leather jacket, maybe a studded belt too… and I think this length is probably the most flattering on any woman (possibly just a cm or 2 shorter.) It’s usually best to hit at the narrow part of your leg just above your calf and under your knee.

  4. Thanks, all. I'll work in your suggestions (for both styling and work) and try again, soon.Also, Rad, did an old dude really shout that at you? Because that is ridiculous!

  5. This dress is awesome. I love the petite dropped waist on a tall figure. Love the pattern.You know, I have been digging slightly longer skirt lengths (in addition to my scandalously short ones) lately. I don't know why. There's something retro about it that is also quite secure (no crotch shots or crazy old dudes shouting, "There's some sex walkin' by" when you go below the knee.) If you want to wear with flats, I'd say pale flats, but you still look good as it is. Then again, if chopping off a few inches will make you wear the dress more, do it! I am also on team cardigan.As for work, I try to get a little bit of work in every day, even if I really just don't want to. Usually, I work similarly to annoymous' schedule, but that's exhausting and often fills me with panic and guilt. Just another day in Rad-ville, I suppose.Deadlines that are enforced with a writing group (we exchange papers on a given date) also help.

  6. Poor FR. I'm so glad the groomers ponied up. I love this dress, and the drop waist is definitely working for you. The necklace is perfect with the green print.Here's another vote for hemming it so that it's more versatile. I'd love to see this with gladiator sandals, preferably metallic ones, and I like the DMed and Style Underdog's idea of throwing a cardigan on top. The softness of a cardigan would be quite nice with gladiators.Beautiful back, lady!

  7. wow love the dressgreat blog btw ! lovely picsid love for you to check my blog outand dont forget to enter in my giveawayelenawww.fashionisinspiration.blogspot.com

  8. I think this dress would be great hemmed a little worn with silver (or pale metallic) flats. I don't mind the sandals but I think something lighter in colour would be nice with this dress. And what about a short- or three-quarter-sleeved cardi in a bright colour like coral (wait, can you wear coral?)? I kind of don't really understand short-sleeved sweaters, because, you know, it's a SWEATER, but I think they look nice with sundresses. And your necklace is kickin' it. (I've never used this idiom before and I'm assuming it's a synonym for "rockin' it", right?)Finally, I love your vet for the colourful bandages. It sort of looks like FR is wearing plus-fours, which is cute for dogs but I really hope that those never come into style for humans.

  9. Agree with LHdM, hem the dress. Different sandals too. The ones you're wearing cut at the ankle and shorten your legs. Go for a cardi next time. Nothing wrong with demin blazer, a cardi would be a little softer, maybe in a yellow, to play off the necklace.That photo of FR is so sad. Poor guy/girl.Ditto Anon. about work groove and panic mode. Deadlines work for me, even self imposed ones.

  10. On the work groove subject: I find that hardcore panic is great for getting me into a work groove. Unfortunately, that often means that there are these bursts of intense work, after which I am kind of spent (and my house is a wreck). I then clean and recover, get myself out of a good work pattern, such that I get into another panic state, and then the cycle repeats. Not the best habit out there. But deadlines are great for making sure that I go into the panic and that thus work gets done.And for the dress: I like it. I think the waistline is working for you. That said, I like the length as is, though I suspect that it limits you to heels. But I like the line that the hem/heels combo gives your legs. The necklace is perfect!–AFtK

Leave a Reply

