On Shopping: Yoga Wear

Grad School, a mild obsession with bum-enhancing loungewear, and a series of generous gift cards have given me a solid collection of Lululemon yoga pants. When I started doing yoga I came to appreciate the awesome utility of said pants. And even though my new city has a Lululemon store, my schedule, my budget, and a concerted effort to give Mr. Visa a much-needed break have kept me from acquiring more yoga gear.

I’ve resolutely worked out in one of two tops with one of two sports bras (acquired back when I was a runner – gah. running flashback. I hate running).Even when one of my students showed up in my favourite yoga class, I made myself keep going. And I made myself believe the loose T that rides up and shows my stomach in downward dog was fine; if she wanted to invade my non-Dr.Dubs time, she could just endure all associated sights.

But now it’s summer, things are sweatier, and I REALLY want cropped yoga pants that do not chafe in alarming places.In fact, I want these:

Lululemon “Clam Digger II”

And maybe I’d need to do less pre-class steeling of my body-image-resolve if I had this awesome tank/sports bra thingy to keep key areas covered:

Lululemon “Scoopneck Tank”

And it’s been quite rainy this spring, so if I’m going to the store anyway, what if I also picked up this jacket?

Lululemon “Apres Yoga Jacket”

Reasons to hesitate: D-Med’s and my occasionally hyperbolic friend, A, informed me last summer that (1) spending up to $100 on one piece of workout wear constitutes a$$holery, and (2) wearing the pants outside the gym is akin to demanding that members of the general public think sexual thoughts about one’s buttocks.Having researched for a woman who routinely wore her lululemons as dress pants (seriously – complete with strappy heels and flowered blouses), I have to agree with A’s second point (and I would add that said pants are definitely NSFW).

But what about A’s first critique?Especially when we figure in the part where Lululemon, despite their brand’s dedication to “the yoga lifestyle” and all the freedoms said lifestyle supposedly enables, does not seem concerned about sweatshop labour in the offshore factories where their garments are produced?

So maybe I’m not getting these awesome things. But where can I get some appropriate gear, then?

18 thoughts on “On Shopping: Yoga Wear

  1. I have heard such amazingly positive things about Lululemon that it seems almost worth the indulgence. But their labor practices are definitely a bummer. I thought they were more ethical a brand for some reason. I do agree with Emily that whatever can motivate someone to work out (purchases, health concerns, etc.) should be fostered…

  2. WIWHW: I believe I already (sort of) called dibs on this body. In addition, sadly, there's no Target in Canada, but we've got Kmart. . .KiB: Excellent loophole finding – except I have zero plans to invest in runners anytime in the near future. Unless they're city-slicker sneakers in kelly green with three white stripes (not that I've picked out anything specific, of course).SU: 'Trying out a new sign-off? It's catchy. Also, I know. And I wish I could workout in the privacy of my bedroom; but I need the peer pressure of group workouts coupled with the potential guilt that comes with not using workout wear investment pieces regularly. Finally, keep on resisting the SoCal uniform! Can people seriously not be comfortable in anything else? (Vancouver's like that up here.)

  3. Have you ever tried Patagonia's Serenity tights? I'm pretty sure there's a capri, too. They might not have Lululemon's top secret booty-ifying ability, but they fit & move well, are partly organic cotton, and often on sale (<<$100). They're my faves for yoga and the gym.

  4. A's first point is crazy-pants. One should spend on workout wear whatever it takes to motivate one to actually do the working out. I myself am super satisfied with $30 yoga pants from Victoria's Secret, but what works for you is what works for you.

  5. If looking for some more capris that are a bit more affordable & concerned about Fair trade check out Mika Yoga Wear- The Sofia shorts & Audrey Capris are slightly similar to your picks- & the company practices fair trade:) Here is the link: http://www.mikayogawear.com/ & a little discount code for 10% off: mikalove

  6. WIWHW: I believe I already (sort of) called dibs on this body. In addition, sadly, there's no Target in Canada, but we've got Kmart. . .KiB: Excellent loophole finding – except I have zero plans to invest in runners anytime in the near future. Unless they're city-slicker sneakers in kelly green with three white stripes (not that I've picked out anything specific, of course).SU: 'Trying out a new sign-off? It's catchy. Also, I know. And I wish I could workout in the privacy of my bedroom; but I need the peer pressure of group workouts coupled with the potential guilt that comes with not using workout wear investment pieces regularly. Finally, keep on resisting the SoCal uniform! Can people seriously not be comfortable in anything else? (Vancouver's like that up here.)

  7. I really want to understand the importance of workout wear but I don't. I ride a stationary bike in my pjs in the morning and play the Wii's Just Dance in the evening, in jeans, no less. If I had $100 to spend on an article of clothing it would not be workout gear. It would be shoes, beautiful shoes that I could touch, and hug, and show off, and wear to lunch… NOT something I would sweat in…Ew.So, back to my non understanding…do you REALLY require special yoga pants to do the downward dog? Oh, and don't get me started on yoga pants outside of the gym, I live in SoCal, I swear it's part of "their" freakin' uniform.That is all.

  8. I third the argument that anything that makes you more likely to work out is worth the purchase price. Also, what about workout shoes? Surely A would not condemn that level of expenditure on shoes. Loophole! I cannot believe someone wore Lululemon as dress pants. ???

  9. I would like to have the yoga gear, definitely, but please could I have this body to go with it? Maybe with my own head seeing as one doesn’t seem to be provided. I buy all my workout gear at a store called Kmart. It’s a chain we have in Australia. Target is also good and I believe you have that over there, although maybe it stocks different kinds of things in each country? That’s all I got.

  10. If looking for some more capris that are a bit more affordable & concerned about Fair trade check out Mika Yoga Wear- The Sofia shorts & Audrey Capris are slightly similar to your picks- & the company practices fair trade:) Here is the link: http://www.mikayogawear.com/ & a little discount code for 10% off: mikalove

  11. D-Med: I know, right? Those spray-on tans are magic. (I learned that from _Toddlers and Tiaras_)WB: Thanks for the suggestion – I'll definitely check out the Serenity Tights (awesome name!) at Patagonia. I'm liking the organic cotton part!EK: Nice punning! And I hear you: looking forward to wearing awesome things can mitigate the gym avoidance, for sure.Jess: I, too, thought they were a more ethical brand until D-Med told me a few years ago about their move offshore. Dang it! I really want to like them, despite A's first point. . .

  12. I have heard such amazingly positive things about Lululemon that it seems almost worth the indulgence. But their labor practices are definitely a bummer. I thought they were more ethical a brand for some reason. I do agree with Emily that whatever can motivate someone to work out (purchases, health concerns, etc.) should be fostered…

  13. A's first point is crazy-pants. One should spend on workout wear whatever it takes to motivate one to actually do the working out. I myself am super satisfied with $30 yoga pants from Victoria's Secret, but what works for you is what works for you.

  14. Have you ever tried Patagonia's Serenity tights? I'm pretty sure there's a capri, too. They might not have Lululemon's top secret booty-ifying ability, but they fit & move well, are partly organic cotton, and often on sale (<<$100). They're my faves for yoga and the gym.

  15. That IS maddening. You know what else is maddening? They've not invited me to model, again – despite my clearly excellent work in these online catalogue images.

  16. Lululemon used to make everything in Vancouver. I'm not sure when they shifted to "offshore" labour but I do recall the company justifying this choice a few years back. I wish I could remember how they tried to justify it but it I remember it was completely maddening.Then I totally forgot about it and got a gift certificate and bought some running clothes and loved them so much I wanted to marry them. And a Lululemon gift certificate seems to be the only thing my mother thinks I want for Christmas and my birthday now. Which is sort of true and that is maddening.

Leave a Reply

