9 thoughts on “On Morning Quickies & Liquid Sanctimony: Une Femme d’un Certain Age

  1. We generally eat a chopped up apple, homemade plain yogurt, and some granola for brekkie. Which often happens later than it should.Also, I am a fan of a quick egg salad (2 hard boiled eggs, chopped up, mixed with mustard, pepper, Italian herbs, and capers) on these rye crisps called "Finn Crisps" that Blokey devours. Must be his Finnish blood.Or a donut from the dude on 59th St., in a pinch.

  2. Does M-F mean Monday to Friday? Because I sort of think that cottage cheese is a mofo breakfast, even though it's good for me. I like the idea of pizza and twix bars (and wine) but I also think that this type of breakfast is best eaten alone and definitely not with someone who runs marathons.

  3. Does M-F mean Monday to Friday? Because I sort of think that cottage cheese is a mofo breakfast, even though it's good for me. I like the idea of pizza and twix bars (and wine) but I also think that this type of breakfast is best eaten alone and definitely not with someone who runs marathons.

  4. For M-F breakfast, my husband eats greek yogurt with fresh berries and grape nuts on top for the crunch factor. I eat cottage cheese mixed with flavored yogurt topped with bananas or berries. (My friend adds walnuts to her cottage cheese/yogurt mix.)Now that my husband is no longer looking over my shoulder, I also have been known to eat pizza, twix bars, pb&j sandwiches, and left over hamburgers or chinese food in the a.m.Did I mention my husband runs marathons and I don't?

  5. DM: You heat up some milk (we use organic 2%, because we're NY bitchy like that) that you've added some gelatin and powdered milk to (to make it more solid), and let it cool to the right temp (about 30 degrees C, gotta use a candy thermometer) and then add culture (usually you can use 1/2 cup of existing yogurt) and then let it ferment for about 4-8 hours around 100 degrees. We have a yogurtmaker, but you can wrap it with towels and stick it in the oven too (without turning it on). My aunt in Korea made us eat some every day one summer and I was sold.

  6. Full disclosure: I had edamame and a glass of wine for breakfast but, to be fair, I never went to bed and I thought it was lunchtime. If one more person remarks to me how great it must be to have the summer "off", I am going to lose it (probably because I am not getting enough sleep). Also, I should go grocery shopping.Rad: how do you make yogourt?

  7. We generally eat a chopped up apple, homemade plain yogurt, and some granola for brekkie. Which often happens later than it should.Also, I am a fan of a quick egg salad (2 hard boiled eggs, chopped up, mixed with mustard, pepper, Italian herbs, and capers) on these rye crisps called "Finn Crisps" that Blokey devours. Must be his Finnish blood.Or a donut from the dude on 59th St., in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

