NSFW: Beach Bag Bingo

Today I’m trying something new. Via the gorgeous Grit and Glamour, I have discovered the Friend Friday Project by Modly Chic. Blogger Katy sends out questions weekly and then we answer them on our blogs. This week the questions are about the beach.

I sort of can’t believe I’m posting pictures of me in a bikini (careful not to look directly at my thigh lest you blind yourself). I got this at an end-of-season sale from some lingerie chain (La Senza?). I loved the brilliant blue and the big yellow pineapple print and both pieces came to $5. The bottoms, however, were an XL. Lesson learned: it is especially important for bikini bottoms to fit snugly.

While I do live an extremely glamourous, jet-setting lifestyle, I cannot remember the last time I was on a beach. The Atlantic is far too cold to swim in, even in the height of summer, and too full of flushable and non-flushable detritus by the shore for my liking. So this post is about what I take to the lake. A-Dubya’s parents live on a glorious lake in northern Ontario and they have a smaller cottage on their property that they, very generously, keep vacant for us for a week every summer so that we (and by we I mean our far-flung grad school friends) can meet, eat, drink, be merry, read, (sometimes we work; many of us wrote chapters of our dissertation at the cottage), play board games, have bonfires, swim, waterski, tube, and all manner of things one does at a cottage in northern Ontario in the blistering summer months. I look forward to it every year.

So here are my answers to Modly Chic’s questions, which work just as well for the dock as they do for the beach:

You’re headed to the beach/pool, what’s in your bag?
Sunscreen: two kinds, non-greasy, unscented for my face and something that makes me smell like a Pina Colada for my bod; lippy with sunscreen; spray-in conditioner for my hair; cheap sunnies in case they fall off the dock; a big floppy hat; style-y beach cover-up; a beach towel with kittens on it; a non-academic book: V.C. Andrews, Jackie Collins, Janet Evanovich, Sue Grafton are preferred authors; gossip magazines; drinks (usually carried in a separate cooler) and snacks, some healthy (watermelon, cherries), some not (chips, cookies).

Be honest…how do you feel about sunscreen? How often do you put it on?
Sunscreen makes me feel like I need a shower but it is essential. I have what the Restoration poets call alabaster skin (to quote Diane Chambers) and I burn quickly and easily. I have several kinds to hand (see above) and I reapply after going in the water. I am a delicate flower.

Do you have any sunburn remedies?

It’s been a long time since I got a sunburn but I used to love everything about Noxema: its blue jar, its cool, thick consistency and its medicinal smell. My grandma used to recommend a cold cloth soaked in milk.

Do you use sunless tanning products? Which do you use, why is it your favorite?
Nope, but A-Dubs gave me this moisturizer once that was supposed to make me glow. I’m not sure I glowed but I did get nicotine-like stains on my fingers. I think sunless tanner requires a more adept application than I am able to manage.

The best part about the beach is…
Cottage bobbing! Allow me to demonstrate with more unflattering pictures.

My bather here is a Speedo and it is doing me no favours but it stays put. The floppy hat is from the Gap and the sunnies are from Dollarama. I do not know the provenance of the life jacket but it is the most important item in this ensemble.

By putting your legs through the armholes of a life jacket, you are able to float mostly up-right just by treading water with your legs, leaving your arms free to hold a bevvie and gesture wildly, as necessary. One of A-Dubya’s cousins invented cottage-bobbing and I think it could be the best idea since the printing press.

Are you looking forward to any summer destinations? Will you wear sunscreen?
(Can you believeI posted these photos?)

9 thoughts on “NSFW: Beach Bag Bingo

  1. AFtK: check out Sheila's review of the vamp series here:http://sheilaephemera.blogspot.com/2010/06/summer-black-out-weekend-edition-and.htmlD-Med: Your only concern is that you might be overwhelmed by awesomeness. Twi-hards can only dream of this awesomeness.SU: I love me some Bridget Jones, but I taught both BJD and the first Shopaholic book this past year and must take a break from them. But I'll return – at least to BJD – very soon. Have you read Bergdorf Blonds?Rad: Your beach stories are making me literally ache for beach time. Ache.CC: 'Good idea. The excellence of the cottage-bobbing should definitely be recorded and disseminated through academic channels!

  2. Thank you for bringing cottage bobbing into my life. I think I will need to go on vacation now and test this out. You know for the sake of science and advancement of the human species – of course!

  3. Cottage bobbing sounds awesome. Anne and I are just back from a Lake Michigan beach in Chicago. Very serene, but as you know, I prefer the Jersey Shore, or Brighton Beach in a pinch (50 minute train ride from my apartment, and they sell buck fifty deep fried Russian pastries everywhere- sweet and savory. If you and A-Dubs come out, I can take you there. Drool). The ocean and it's salty harshness is my friend (plus Lake Michigan's debris doesn't move around, it just hangs out).My beach bag: SPF 55 (Blokey is almost literally a vampire), Swedish detective novel, a beach towel from Hawaii back issue New Yorkers, bottle water, apples, Finn Crisp rye flat breads, camera, pen, cashews, and some cheese that usually melts. Today, we brought a wheeled cooler full of beverages (of the adult and universal kind), cheesy salty snacks, and our bachelorette's sorority blanket.God, I love the beach. We should go more often.

  4. wow. cottage bobbing must be universal. we did it at lake mojave last summer. you are handling your refreshments much better than i did. no caps…one handed typing…what, no shop a holic novels or bridget jones? a-dubs, i have a house full of teens therefore i have a house full of vampire novels. i can make a list…

  5. As you can see, Anne, we haul out the noodles for those in our cohort who are better at balancing. That is not me. I prefer the stability and style of the upside-down life jacket. BTW, I look exactly like my grandmother in that photo–it might be the cataract sunglasses & the giant hat–except she would have been raising a chilled G&T.Oh no. A-Dubs and her vampire fiction. Cause for concern.

  6. Ah, sweet cottage bobbing! How I look forward to you every year. And no one demonstrates your awesomeness better than D-Med in the above photos.D-Med, those pictures are both hilariously accurate and totally great – look how muscled your legs are! how smooth your alabaster skin is! and – perhaps most importantly – how awesome you look wearing a giant hat and holding a chilly pre-mixed caesar!Also, I can't believe you forgot the vampire novels. I found a new series, thanks to Sheila over at Ephemera, and will be reading important excerpts aloud at key moments over the week.

  7. Ooh, cottage bobbing looks fun and flattering! I usually bob around with a beer on a fun noodle, but it's a lot more work.I pretty much can't leave the house without sunscreen in the summer. I burn on cloudy days, and once I even got a burn through a sunroof. Timely post though, as Rad and I are headed to the beach today.

Leave a Reply

