On Shopping: Step away from the credit card, ma’am

I’m still immersed in writing and revising around the giant cat who insists on sitting on my lap while I work. And I’ve put a moratorium on moving my arse out of this chair until I get this done; the immovable Vampire Cat helps with this. This means no quick trips to the coffee place up the road where all of the employees are beautiful and they roast their own fair trade beans (those two things are unrelated but I feel like there might be an off-colour joke in there somewhere).

No going for a quick run across the bridge and back three times (three miles; that really is a photo of my bridge though I did not take it). No sitting on my balcony with a cup of lapsang souchong for a quick 15 minute break.

As I noted earlier however, my self-imposed exile does not apply to blogs nor, apparently, to internet shopping. Here are two things I absolutely did not need but bought anyway out of desperation for some distraction:

Tara Subkoff for Easy Spirit peep-toe pumps, used but not at all, via The Laws of General Economy. I’m going to get a pedi, wear a cheerful circle skirt and pepper my conversation with the word “swell” because of these lovely shoes.
 

Manor Garden silkscreen print via Etsy seller mengseldesigns. I’m going to hang it above my desk so I can gaze at its perfectly-ordered symmetry while I wrestle with my florid, hackneyed prose. Thanks to WWNW for the introduction (pssst, check out the giveaway she’s hosting).
I also bought an airline ticket to London. I leave the fur treasures the end of next week to present a paper at some big deal international conference and to hunch over some moldy manuscripts in chilly reading rooms under the watchful eye of miserable librarians.
I love my life. I know that’s dorky when there are cynical, beautiful barristas in the world, but I do.

16 thoughts on “On Shopping: Step away from the credit card, ma’am

  1. Nope. She is not. Sadly. Because I bet it is not so effing hot in England right now. I think I have your real email address, from your comments on my blog. I will email you my name and her name, if you think you might want someone with whom to share a pint.AftK

  2. Ibid. Those shoes are to die. Having fun colours inside as well as on the outside of one's shoes makes them even better. I had to stop checking Laws of the General Economy. Mostly because the shoes are always your size, not mine. But also because I am not allowed to shop right now.And there'll be beautiful barristas aplenty by the beautiful British Library – won't there?

  3. Your trip sounds like it will be wonderful. I love spending time in libraries, especially with moldy manuscripts. Have a great time!

  4. Your trip sounds like it will be wonderful. I love spending time in libraries, especially with moldy manuscripts. Have a great time!

  5. Nope. She is not. Sadly. Because I bet it is not so effing hot in England right now. I think I have your real email address, from your comments on my blog. I will email you my name and her name, if you think you might want someone with whom to share a pint.AftK

  6. Luckily almost everything posted on the Laws of General Economy is too small for me. I might have bought these shoes solely because they would fit me, although I seriously heart them. I wouldn't play basketball in them though, Easy Spirit.Oh AW, who can afford to have coffee at the British Library? I go across the street to O'Neals and have a pint for about the same amount.

  7. Ibid. Those shoes are to die. Having fun colours inside as well as on the outside of one's shoes makes them even better. I had to stop checking Laws of the General Economy. Mostly because the shoes are always your size, not mine. But also because I am not allowed to shop right now.And there'll be beautiful barristas aplenty by the beautiful British Library – won't there?

  8. Drool over both your purchases. Isn't Laws of the General Economy a bit like crack?Also, kudos on your butt in chair-ness. I want to be disciplined like DMed when I grow up. Yeay for upcoming London trip!

  9. I say be dorky and love life. Not all of us can be cynical, beautiful baristas. I love that print, but I will not be purchasing anything besides groceries and maybe some Italian shoes in Italy before the move.Good luck with the work, and I'll be excited to read about your adventures in London with moldy medieval manuscripts!

Leave a Reply

