Hot Cheap Compromises

It’s (finally) smokin’ hot here in the late-blooming north. With the heat comes humidity. It’s no where near the turn-you-into-human-jerky humidity experienced by our lovely readers in the American south, but it’s still moist hot air. In this kind of heat (which I secretly love), a la carte dressing is the only option; non-metal accessories are sticky against sweat and sunscreen, and metals heat up to excruciating temperatures in the sun. My goal, then, is to be as close to naked as possible while remaining paparazzi ready outside my apartment.

As a result, business casual has gone out the window for the past two days—as have my anxieties about being too old to wear spaghetti straps in real life:



Brown cotton jersey dress: Theory

Non-neutral wedges: Geox (remixed)

Yellow beachy-lady bag: thrifted

This bag breaks my once-firm “No Women Besides Me In/On My Clothes” rule. I’ve never seen the point of wearing a face or body other than my own next to my face or body. I still don’t. But the bag is a fun and unusual print, it’s got two wooden peaches on its canvas straps, and it cost next to nothing; so I folded.

Another compromise I made this week involved this “dress”:






Blue

jersey bag/dress: Spense (via Winners)

White tank dress: Le Chateau

Studded gladiator sandals: Steve Madden (remixed)

Silver bangle: The Bay (remixed)

I acknowledge this is less a dress and more a bag with straps. But that’s pretty much the point – well, that and the colour, which I pretend makes me look tan. Either way, the “dress” hangs, air blows it around when I walk, and I decrease my chances of melting. I compromise because it’s bloody hot out – but I wear the light tank dress, too, because viscose jersey is WAY too thin to go it alone this far from the beach. (Or at least it’s too thin for my buttock-related comfort.)

What sartorial compromises, if any, do you make in the heat of summer? What have you purchased (and worn) in violation of your style rules?

17 thoughts on “Hot Cheap Compromises

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing ability has inspired me. Really the article is spreading its wings rapidly… LeBron James Shoes

  2. I am 32 and I just bought a dress with spaghetti straps today. I am also on the heavy side, so it might be even more of a fashion sin. But I do think that the dress is cute. So I guess my thought is that if I can do it, you can do it. And I do think that you pull it off very well.Also, (and I hope that saying this does not make it stop being true), it is quite lovely in the American south this weekend. I am actually looking forward to a pleasant evening walk into town to see fireworks tomorrow night. I have turned off the AC and opened the windows.AFTK

  3. SU: Welcome back, woman. Also, thanks for the yoga gear heads-up. I will check it out asap. Even though it is called "dudegirl." AFTK: Thanks for your encouragement. 32 is, I think, still a good age for spaghetti straps, and I hope yours keep you cool when your weather goes back to barbeque levels, again. D-Med: Ha! Whoreville. I wonder what happens when the Grinch hits that sextastic town come the holidays. Also, the only way spaghetti straps sort of work for me is if I assume the above contorted position. Otherwise, things look. . . .well, not like they used to. LHdM: Kampai! The brown one didn't make it to the office, but the blue one sure as hell did. Also, as soon as it cools off a smidge, I am all over your new CFP! (Probably we should feature here sooner rather than later, don't you think, D-Med?)

  4. Yes. I can, of course, wear boots any day of the week here and not be overwhelmed with heat since it is not that hot here and is usually raining. It was so smart of me to buy two pairs of wellies. Actually, pace pals in humid climes, it is finally beautiful here: lovely and temperate and just under 20C. I get to go out without a coat on. I may never have to debate whether or not to wear spaghetti straps again.Dude, dudegirl is awesome. Dudewoman would be better though.

  5. I abandon my usual fitted, tailored looks when really hot weather comes (really hot up here in the Pacific NW/BC area being anything over 25 degrees). I'm all about baggy things then.

  6. What goes out the window when the heat hits? Synthetics of any kind, then accessories, and then my awareness that my rack looks much more dignified if I wear a bra.I too understand the too-old-for-spaghetti-straps feeling. Stupid gravity. That said, I think you look lovely and entirely office-appropriate here.

  7. Woohoo. You're looking mighty fine in your hot summer dresses (but not cheap. Just breezy). You've got some slammin' shoulders and arm. I understand the reluctance about spaghetti straps (they seem to belong to a younger cohort of ladies, huh?). I quite like bag like dresses in jersey. I fact, I think in hot weather, the less that is touching you, the better. I may even have to go strappy at some point myself this week, with highs in the high 90. Eek!

  8. Yes. I can, of course, wear boots any day of the week here and not be overwhelmed with heat since it is not that hot here and is usually raining. It was so smart of me to buy two pairs of wellies. Actually, pace pals in humid climes, it is finally beautiful here: lovely and temperate and just under 20C. I get to go out without a coat on. I may never have to debate whether or not to wear spaghetti straps again.Dude, dudegirl is awesome. Dudewoman would be better though.

  9. SU: Welcome back, woman. Also, thanks for the yoga gear heads-up. I will check it out asap. Even though it is called "dudegirl." AFTK: Thanks for your encouragement. 32 is, I think, still a good age for spaghetti straps, and I hope yours keep you cool when your weather goes back to barbeque levels, again. D-Med: Ha! Whoreville. I wonder what happens when the Grinch hits that sextastic town come the holidays. Also, the only way spaghetti straps sort of work for me is if I assume the above contorted position. Otherwise, things look. . . .well, not like they used to. LHdM: Kampai! The brown one didn't make it to the office, but the blue one sure as hell did. Also, as soon as it cools off a smidge, I am all over your new CFP! (Probably we should feature here sooner rather than later, don't you think, D-Med?)

  10. Wow. You do look hot and cheap. I mean, just hot. Both of these dresses look lovely on you. And I know what you mean about spaghetti straps because I also feel that they are youthful and for the more delicate of shoulder than I, and also not office wear, but you are looking great in these. I think in the super hot and humid weather we can all be forgiven for being as naked as possible. It's the summer. Let your wardrobe take a left turn at Whoreville. (I read that on a card.)

  11. I am 32 and I just bought a dress with spaghetti straps today. I am also on the heavy side, so it might be even more of a fashion sin. But I do think that the dress is cute. So I guess my thought is that if I can do it, you can do it. And I do think that you pull it off very well.Also, (and I hope that saying this does not make it stop being true), it is quite lovely in the American south this weekend. I am actually looking forward to a pleasant evening walk into town to see fireworks tomorrow night. I have turned off the AC and opened the windows.AFTK

  12. This has nothing to do with the post, although I get the "too old for spaghetti strap" thing…While I was away, I discovered a line of yoga gear you might be interested in…dudegirl. Yes, that is the name. You can find it at http://www.dudegirl.com. I thought of you when I ran into their booth at a street market. Hope it's something you can use.

Leave a Reply

