On Shopping: Your M&S

So I’ve dropped the ball again.
This is Friday and remember how last Friday I was going to take part in Modly Chic’s Friend Friday Project? Well, I’m not doing that today. Modly Chic has come up with a series of very compelling questions about fashion and narcissism and blogging, but my brain just isn’t up to the task. Plus I sort of forgot it was Friday.
You should definitely check out Grit and Glamour and The Chotto Coquette who have very eloquently answered the challenge. And I think A-Dubs may take it up as well because she’s always got my back and she is a much more savvy and lucid cultural critic than I. Her work in cultural studies is brilliant.
But here is something related:
I’m going to London next week for a conference and some face time with old books but I’m most looking forward to my knickers pilgrimage to Marks & Sparks. They have the best cotton undies in the history of the world and I have never found the equivalent on this side of the pond.
Is blogging about my underwear narcissistic?


12 thoughts on “On Shopping: Your M&S

  1. Not if it's not your underwear, yet. But including that picture of yourself might be.Also, I'm not doing Friend Friday either. It turns out I forgot to ask Katy if I could be on her list. So I'd have to copy the questions from V at Grit and Glamour, and I'm too lazy to do it (plus I don't want to break the rules – which I don't know. Because I'm too lazy to check). But V's vlog response/s are fantastic, and now I am ashamed that I've not responded directly to her lovely comments here. So, new plan (for me): try not to be a narcissistic douchebag (my word, not V's) and respond to all commenters.But back to you: how lovely that you get to pick up some new undies. Does this mean you've not bought unders since you were last in London? Are you wrapping yourself in tattered rags as we speak?And finally, what's so frigging great about M&S things? What have they got that the bargain bin at Winners hasn't got?

  2. Rad: I'm enraged on your behalf. That entire message board can suck it.Also, my favourite unders come either from The Bay (Togo – house brand), or from Winners. The best part about the ones from Winners is that they're "Steve" brand. And Steve is the name of my arsewipe brother with whom I've been in a fight for, like, ages. But I keep him close to my bum.

  3. M&S bras are also awesome and I will be stocking up on those as well. Why can't I get a decent non-wired bra in Canada? Why? M&S tights are also pretty great and I will be getting a lot of those too. Ah sundries!Plus M&S makes a mean sammie. And battenburg cake. When M&S was in Canada we used to get battenburg cake from their food section for a treat. We would have to get out the tape measure to divide it into 4 pieces of the exact same size or else there would be chaos and tears.

  4. Rad: I'm enraged on your behalf. That entire message board can suck it.Also, my favourite unders come either from The Bay (Togo – house brand), or from Winners. The best part about the ones from Winners is that they're "Steve" brand. And Steve is the name of my arsewipe brother with whom I've been in a fight for, like, ages. But I keep him close to my bum.

  5. You know, Ikke is always on about Marks & Spencer. Their bras, their shirts, their pants. I never went into one of their stores and now I wonder if I missed my opportunity to find underwear bliss. But then again, I never think about my underthings.As for narcissism- I don't know. Isn't vanity a better word? I think narcissism has more evil and manipulative overtones, if my Psychology 101 serves me correctly. I don't think blogging is narcissistic, but probably a little vain. But blogging without pictures of yourself can also be vain. Putting up pictures yourself can also be brave, as well as vain, though. I mean, it's publicly available and anyone can make fun. And in my case, they have (some message board linked to my blog once and make fun of the way I stand. Whatevs).

  6. Nah. I'm with A-Dubs. It only becomes narcissistic if it's your underwear and you're taking pictures of yourself in it and showing off your hotness on the interwebs. It's an interesting that you have found for you what is the holy grail of undies. All I can say is that the last batch of Hanes I bought definitely did not give me anything to write home about.

  7. Is it because it seems narcissistic to discuss narcissism? Maybe. I agree with you on the awesomeness of G&G's vlog (does vlog seems sort of like a euphemism for something to you? You know, while we're on the topic of knickers.).Yes, I have not bought undies since I was last in the UK (except for that time I was visiting you and Rinty the Crusher and I totally forgot to pack any undies, but that was an emergency and I hate those undies). M&S knickers come in 5-packs and I just stock up. Plus whenever anyone I know is going to Ole Blighty, I get them to pick me up a few packs–it's sort of how I make friends with people. The undies last forever, are all cotton, and fit me well and I have worn them pretty much my whole life (M&S used to be in Canada). Why mess with a good thing?Also, that is not a picture of me. That is a picture of the undies from the M&S website. But thank you.

  8. Not if it's not your underwear, yet. But including that picture of yourself might be.Also, I'm not doing Friend Friday either. It turns out I forgot to ask Katy if I could be on her list. So I'd have to copy the questions from V at Grit and Glamour, and I'm too lazy to do it (plus I don't want to break the rules – which I don't know. Because I'm too lazy to check). But V's vlog response/s are fantastic, and now I am ashamed that I've not responded directly to her lovely comments here. So, new plan (for me): try not to be a narcissistic douchebag (my word, not V's) and respond to all commenters.But back to you: how lovely that you get to pick up some new undies. Does this mean you've not bought unders since you were last in London? Are you wrapping yourself in tattered rags as we speak?And finally, what's so frigging great about M&S things? What have they got that the bargain bin at Winners hasn't got?

Leave a Reply

