Friend Friday: Versatility & Nude Wedges (the shoes)

**Probably you will want to check out my “Friday Top 10 Links” post over at Shoe-A-Day. I’m just saying.**

Also, for the first time in ages (if we understand ages to mean “2 weeks”), In Professorial Fashion is getting in on Katy of Modly Chic’s “Friend Friday” discussion. This week, Katy asks us about mixing and matching clothes. Katy’s questions appear in bold below, with my answers in regular type directly after.


1. What’s your most versatile piece of clothing? How do you wear it?

I find shoes to be the most versatile pieces, especially in summer. My most versatile shoes this summer are a recent summer-sale purchase: nude Nine West platform wedges. When I picked them up two weeks ago, I mixed ’em with this “play” skirt (yes, I fiddled too much with the exposure here & in some images below. And now I can’t undo it):

White top: gifted

Green cami: Esprit (remixed)

Brown print cotton skirt: H&M

Nude platform wedges: Nine West

Awesome rack: courtesy of this pose & a wonderful trick of the camera & lighting

Then, for my first day of New Faculty Orientation, I remixed them with my brown linen shirtdress and this thrifted printed silk scarf-as-a-belt. (Wow. Scarves as belts are high maintenance items. By 9am, I wished I’d stapled that thing in place):


I’ve got MANY more plans for these foot hugs. They are like butter, like slippers made of butter and awesomeness. In fact, I did some more remixing, which I’ll show you in a minute. . . .


2. What one piece should every woman own?

A go-to super-nuclear-awesome dress for work that doesn’t need to be ironed, skims and drapes in all the right spots, can be thrown on with heels or flats, looks great with or without accessories, and makes dressing easy on bleak mornings. I have one for winter. I continue in my quest for a summer version. I wish it were this one:



Silk print dress: Anthropologie

White leather belt: Winners

Nude Platform Wedges: You know.








But the print of this dress makes it a bit too memorable, so it can’t be worn as often as the desired dress must be. Also, it requires a strapless bra, an addition that makes things bleaker, not easier.


3. What Summer trends do you love because of their versatility?

See above re: nude platform wedges.


4. What’s the most creative combination you’ve put together from your closet?

Whether or not it actually works, I’d say this man-shirt neutrals ensemble is my most creative to date – or at least, it’s the one I like most right now:

Men’s white dress shirt: A-Dubs-Hubs’s closet
(He is not amused. Also, the shirt’s a large. Maybe I need my own man-shirt.)
Grey cotton shorts: Smart Set
Disco belt: remixed
Plastic bangle: gifted (from D-Med)
Nude Platform Wedges: you know

To be frank, however, this outfit is mostly inspired-by-Style-Underdog’s-man-shirt-&-neutrals ensemble, so it’s not really a product of my own creativity. . . . Crap. Maybe the mixed stripes with my grocery store trouser jeans?


5. If you had the guts, what items would you pair and then wear out in public?

Frankly, I’m still kind of excited about the man-shirt ensemble. If I’d had time the morning I put it on, I probably would have changed because I wasn’t sure if I’d hit the right note. But I had New Faculty Orientation Day #2 to attend and there was no time.

Sidenote update re: new friends pulled from pool of new hires: So far, so good. ‘Got some contact info for potential new buds. No one even remotely close to my field of study, but I’ll be emailing all of them anyway. ‘Will just wait a requisite couple of days so I don’t seem too needy or desperate.

16 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Versatility & Nude Wedges (the shoes)

  1. Thanks for the shoe a day shout out. I read most of the post this morning, except the true blood one, too long and needed to leave for the beach. They opened my eyes to many issues. Thanks for that.So the wedges, they look great in all the photos. So versitale indeed. I would like to borrow that dress one day but I can't stand strapless bras. They always move around on me. Men shirts do make you look easy and sexy. Don't forget sexy. I tried one with a red bra underneath, unbuttoned a little to low, and ordered myself a scotch and soda at the bar. I was feeling sexy I tell you.

  2. D-Med: No, there is no other way to look easy. Which is a good thing, since I learned it from you and Style Underdog. Also, it seems I've got a few more things to learn from both of you, on the easy & sexy front.V: I'm heading over to read your Friend Friday stuff right now as I'm certain you are rocking some really awesome wedges. Nerdily, I sort of can't wait to see yours (shoes).SU: Yeah, I didn't make it all the way through that True Blood discussion either, but I was fascinated and learned a lot from the good portion of it I managed to read. Also, strapless bras should not exist because they either move around or shimmy down to one's navel. And finally, ho-lee! I can see how you would have been feeling uber-sexy that night. (I assume it all happened at night. If not, well, maybe you're even easier and sexier than you're letting on.)

  3. Thanks for the shoe a day shout out. I read most of the post this morning, except the true blood one, too long and needed to leave for the beach. They opened my eyes to many issues. Thanks for that.So the wedges, they look great in all the photos. So versitale indeed. I would like to borrow that dress one day but I can't stand strapless bras. They always move around on me. Men shirts do make you look easy and sexy. Don't forget sexy. I tried one with a red bra underneath, unbuttoned a little to low, and ordered myself a scotch and soda at the bar. I was feeling sexy I tell you.

  4. It's so impossible to go wrong with Nine West. Those are some nice nude wedges (shoes). And that dress is gorgeous on you. I'm sorry it's not as easy as it looks–but it does look easy. Yes, you look easy. And I love a man's shirt (also makes you look easy, and sort of like you are doing the walk of shame). I used to have a great white linen men's shirt from the Gap, which I think I stole from a boy. But I needed it more than he did though I think someone stole it back from me.

  5. Thanks, Rad! Yer awesome. Also, I like the precautionary keep-'em-at-arms-length-from-my-field-of-study plan. I like it for exactly the reasons you give.Also, I posted this post today (Friday), not on Thursday as this blog would have you believe. I would NEVER jump the gun on Friend Friday. Never!

  6. Oops, I mean friends at my school. Not that many. Sorry, Ikke, if you are reading this. Obviously have friends in my field from G-school that I hold close to my heart but are geographically scattered.

  7. First, thanks for the shoutout! I am pleased.Second, how seeing you and Style Underdog rock the manshirt with neutral makes me eye Blokey's closet even more. I usually steal his brightly colored stuff, but why not the neutrals. For a later, cooler, date.Second, I only have friends (which I see less often than I wish, damn huge NYC metro area) that are not in my field. I consider this a good thing. Even though they can't be your intellectual buddies, it's good to have someone you can generally complain about students with, and not have to worry about revealing too much to someone who may influence (or influence someone who many influence) whether you can keep your job someday. Am I tenure obsessed? No, why do you ask?Third- rockin' those dresses with your awesome shoulders and adorbs nude wedges. You appear to have amazing posture, which I envy. Not gonna hide it.

Leave a Reply

