Dispatches from London, part deux

Due to popular demand, and because the website didn’t have a proper photo of my new skirt, I am posting a picture of my All Saints skirt (which was 50% off, but still not cheap). I had to stand on the window sill of my little London dorm room, a dizzying eight storeys up, to get it in. The lengths I won’t go to for a blog picture; please note my mad photog skillz and my efforts to get the shot (gripping window frame for dear life):

Skirt: All Saints, close-up of pattern on the right
Purple argyle tights: Marks & Sparks (Spencer)
Mary-Janes: Camper
Background: Bloomsbury

London is lovely. And unseasonably HOT (I know you New Yorkers are suffering but England is not versed in the air conditioner, so there is little respite). I continue to labour with a summer cold though I am determined to soldier on tomorrow at the library with my moldy books. Here are a few shots of guerilla theatre (free!) in London that I have witnessed:

The red unitards are an impromptu dance/contact improv performance on the South Bank by City Hall (the Testicle without Red Ken, sadly), all the more impressive because it was +30 degrees in London that day. That’s the Thames and the Tower of London in the background.
The opera-looking piece was an excerpt from a new opera commissioned by the Royal Opera (for RO2) called Pleasure’s Progress, based on the writings of Hogarth. In Covent Garden, just outside the Royal Opera House. Both were fantastic, and I would have paid to see them. Theatre is the one thing in London that is not exorbitant. Civilised.

Well, theatre and Wensleydale cheese.

Is there anything (cheesy) you binge on when you are in another country? Also, how awesome is my new skirt?

21 thoughts on “Dispatches from London, part deux

  1. I had to look up that cheese. I am unashamed of my cheese ignorance (but now want to eat it).That skirt is amazing. (The photo is also amazing). I can seat it with the office blazer as well as a crisp button shirt, cardigan, or a lovely knit top. Serious skirt lust going on. But also, aren't you dying in those tights with that heat?I usually eat as much as I can of what's local. Turkish food? Hand pulled noodles? Beer? Stinky cheeses? More please. You would think living in NY I'd travel to more neighborhoods to eat diversely, but I like cooking when I am at home.I also feel freer to try and buy new styles when I am abroad as well, although it's been a while.

  2. I'm thrilled that you guys love the skirt as much as I do! I did not invent it and you should totally wear it. I think it is impossible for this skirt not to flatter, though I don't know what the sizes are on the website. I am a US 10(ish) and a UK 14, though my new skirt is a 10 (mysteriously). Rad, I'm sure with your superior sewing skills you can whip this up. I think it is one of those skirts with a handkerchief hem (a la Marie Osmond in the 70s) with "pick-ups" (this is a style term I learned from watching "Say Yes to the Dress", which is a guilty pleasure. Don't judge, which is all I do when I watch that show, including yelling at the television. I live a very full life.).

  3. @Awayfromthekeyboard: I almost did that, too, because I want to be as awesome as D-Med. Instead, I am trying to figure out if this can somehow be reproduced and will be going to Soho store sometime this summer to take a look.

  4. I really and truly hope that you think that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, because I just went to the website and ordered the skirt. (I am a bit a flutter at having spent the money, but am in desperate need of clothing to teach in this fall.) Here is to hoping it fits and flatters!Away from the Keyboard

  5. Is that an actual name for a theatre performance? That skirt coupled with that pose and that view is too grand. Return to Canada immediately and re-join the pleebs (especially this one). I fear if you do not do this asap, you will find a way to stay away forever and have the cats shipped to you.

  6. Oh yes. I put the tights on just for the photo because that's how I will wear this skirt in the classroom. It feels just a little short for comfort level with bare legs. Plus the glare off my white gams would probably overexpose the photo and blind you all. In deference to the heat I am wearing a cami in the photo that I would never wear as outerwear ever.Wensleydale is delicate deliciousness, similar to Cheshire, which is also delish. And very expensive in Canada. I go crazy for it here and return a little tubbier than I left.

  7. I had to look up that cheese. I am unashamed of my cheese ignorance (but now want to eat it).That skirt is amazing. (The photo is also amazing). I can seat it with the office blazer as well as a crisp button shirt, cardigan, or a lovely knit top. Serious skirt lust going on. But also, aren't you dying in those tights with that heat?I usually eat as much as I can of what's local. Turkish food? Hand pulled noodles? Beer? Stinky cheeses? More please. You would think living in NY I'd travel to more neighborhoods to eat diversely, but I like cooking when I am at home.I also feel freer to try and buy new styles when I am abroad as well, although it's been a while.

  8. Excellent photos D-Med! I am impressed with your brave photo skills. Heights freak me out. The first photo did not do your skirt justice. It is excellent as well. Totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

