Thrifted Sundress, Take Two

Campus is getting crowded, again, as students begin their last summer courses today. I’m bringing my own caffeinated beverages until things settle down. But that’s neither here nor there, is it? Let’s move on.

Last month, I picked up this sundress for a song at my local Value Village (pronounced, of course, “Va-LOO, Ville-AGE,” with chic French accent). I’ve tried styling it once, with limited success here (note comments). Here’s my second try:

Dress: thrifted
Short-sleeved cardi: Loft
Shoes: Nine West (remixed)
Beads & solid cuff bracelet:
Le Chateau
Other cuff: ?? (remixed)

This pic >
is included almost
exclusively to showcase
the platform foothugs
And just in case you were craving a poorly lit close-up of the Wonder Woman pose/the accessories:
Finally, I think I’ve shown improvement. I’ve decided that for now, I’m too lazy to hem the skirt, so I’ll keep wearing the dress with heels. But I really wish I had either a yellow or a soft coral 3/4-sleeve cardigan to wear. Then I could skip the necklace and brighter cuff, right?
I imagine the summer sales are picked over by now and have thus been reduced to a sad, over-crowded single rack at the back of the store, a rack through which one somehow feels just as sad browsing (not that I don’t do it – I can get over being sad if it gets me an unbelievable deal). Maybe I’ll venture out. . .
What treasures, if any, have you found in the end of the end-of-season sales? Or is the sadness overwhelming for you?

22 thoughts on “Thrifted Sundress, Take Two

  1. Sarah: Yuck! P90-X sounds horrific and I'm sad for you got talked into it. Also, can't wait for tomorrow's DIY; I've been thinking I could stand to be a tad more creative. . . Rad: So, I should have tried ebay, but instead I went to Winners and found everything but a cardigan on the clearance rack. Then I blew out the zipper on the sundress changing out of my new 20-buck skinny jeans, and had to buy a cheapo replacement dress that is reeaaaallllllyyy unflattering. It's a sign, I think, that I should take on the shopping ban challenge in some form or another.Zen: Welcome to our blog! I'm heading over to check yours out after this.OiB: Thanks so much! Also, I know! I always find THE perfect thing in either a size 0, or a 22 (neither of which are good for me).Ch: Thanks for the positive reinforcement. Frankly, this sweater rarely makes it out of the house as I think I prefer the 3/4 sleeve. But today, it seemed to work!Ve: D-Med is a talented shopping facilitator, so it's not surprising you've fallen under her power.C: Thanks for the heads-up – and your finds sound lovely. Will we be seeing them anytime soon?G&G: Ooooh! 'Can't wait until it's cool enough for you to rock your new purchases on your blog!SU: Piper it is! Also, awww! Yer lovely. Also, way to go! Maybe I'll give myself a similar "test" this week. . . And finally, I will totally keep the bracelets. I would keep them longer if they were silver and had stars on them.AFtK: What a great hook-up to have! 'Looking forward to your future stylings.D-Med: I think you're right. No hemming, then. And I like the shrinking-as-hemming strategy. Except that there's no extra room in the top, so it's probably not a good idea this time. And finally, no, that's not crazy at all. Except for the part where you wear a "nightshirt." Does it have a matching cap? Does Yelly Kitty wear her kerchief when you bed down for a long summer's nap?

  2. I like this dress a lot! Have you thought of belting at your natural waist (I see that the dress has a dropped waist) to make your long legs look even longer? Love the WW cuffs! Bam! Pow! Doesn't Le Chateau have the best accessories? I would do a ton of bright colour with this – yellow! – but then I like to do tons of colour. 🙂

  3. Gah! Sheila and Stacey, your comments came in while I was typing my last one!Sh: Thanks! I like a colour endorsement from the queen of fantastic colour mixing! Also, yes – Le Chateau has a stupidly large stash of great accessories, and some always seem to be on sale. And I like the belt idea. I actually tried it this morning, but it seemed like too much with this mix. As soon as I get the zipper replaced, I'll give this dress another go with more colour and a belt.St: Thanks – for the compliment and for the Loft tip. I have my non-work-related mission for the week, then.

  4. SU: I wish I could figure a way to divulge my real name to our group but not to the world. I am antsy about being found out by students! Also, 'just came from the mall where I tested myself as you did. I failed. But I have a fantastic new collection of costume jewellery from a variety of sad sale racks.KB: I was just thinking purple could work as I wandered through all the "Fall Preview" racks at the mall. Because apparently, purple is "new" for fall. I love the purps, but it is never new in fall because it comes back every year. This is me ranting, btw, not responding appropriately to you, so I'll stop. But you're right, of course. Purps could totally work. Alas! I resisted it this time 'round, so I'll have to try something else next time I wear this dress.

  5. I agree with Rad, this dress continues to kick ass. I think the cardigan looks great with it, and those shoes are perfect.You know what else I think would work with this dress? A purple cardigan. Yes, I have a history of strange color combinations, but I think purple would make this print pop and provide a good transition into fall.

  6. oh, i just reread the comments. i don't know your first name, i read it wrong. my discovery was worthless.Dmed you're not crazy. you're just rationalizing the boot purchase with the old price per wear measuring tool.

  7. Gah! Sheila and Stacey, your comments came in while I was typing my last one!Sh: Thanks! I like a colour endorsement from the queen of fantastic colour mixing! Also, yes – Le Chateau has a stupidly large stash of great accessories, and some always seem to be on sale. And I like the belt idea. I actually tried it this morning, but it seemed like too much with this mix. As soon as I get the zipper replaced, I'll give this dress another go with more colour and a belt.St: Thanks – for the compliment and for the Loft tip. I have my non-work-related mission for the week, then.

  8. Sarah: Yuck! P90-X sounds horrific and I'm sad for you got talked into it. Also, can't wait for tomorrow's DIY; I've been thinking I could stand to be a tad more creative. . . Rad: So, I should have tried ebay, but instead I went to Winners and found everything but a cardigan on the clearance rack. Then I blew out the zipper on the sundress changing out of my new 20-buck skinny jeans, and had to buy a cheapo replacement dress that is reeaaaallllllyyy unflattering. It's a sign, I think, that I should take on the shopping ban challenge in some form or another.Zen: Welcome to our blog! I'm heading over to check yours out after this.OiB: Thanks so much! Also, I know! I always find THE perfect thing in either a size 0, or a 22 (neither of which are good for me).Ch: Thanks for the positive reinforcement. Frankly, this sweater rarely makes it out of the house as I think I prefer the 3/4 sleeve. But today, it seemed to work!Ve: D-Med is a talented shopping facilitator, so it's not surprising you've fallen under her power.C: Thanks for the heads-up – and your finds sound lovely. Will we be seeing them anytime soon?G&G: Ooooh! 'Can't wait until it's cool enough for you to rock your new purchases on your blog!SU: Piper it is! Also, awww! Yer lovely. Also, way to go! Maybe I'll give myself a similar "test" this week. . . And finally, I will totally keep the bracelets. I would keep them longer if they were silver and had stars on them.AFtK: What a great hook-up to have! 'Looking forward to your future stylings.D-Med: I think you're right. No hemming, then. And I like the shrinking-as-hemming strategy. Except that there's no extra room in the top, so it's probably not a good idea this time. And finally, no, that's not crazy at all. Except for the part where you wear a "nightshirt." Does it have a matching cap? Does Yelly Kitty wear her kerchief when you bed down for a long summer's nap?

  9. I like this outfit very much! I think I saw the Loft has some short sleeved cardis in other colors listed on-line. What you have done is perfect though, in my opinion.

  10. I like this dress a lot! Have you thought of belting at your natural waist (I see that the dress has a dropped waist) to make your long legs look even longer? Love the WW cuffs! Bam! Pow! Doesn't Le Chateau have the best accessories? I would do a ton of bright colour with this – yellow! – but then I like to do tons of colour. 🙂

  11. This dress looks lovely with this little sweater. And I think the length is fine. In the side shot it looks like it hits just at the knee and you are not getting tree trunk legs at all. If you hem it, I think it would only need to be hemmed a very, very little bit and why bother? If you are anything like me, probably you will just shrink it in the wash. I call that hemming D-Med styles.Also, good to know that I am an inspiration for spending loads on awesome boots, Veuve. I haven't worn them out anywhere yet because it is really hot here (very surprising) and I think I would look like a crazy person. I do wear them around the house with my nightshirt. No one ever drops in on me so it's okay to look like a crazy person indoors. Plus, how crazy can I be with my new boots?

  12. So, I still think the length is fine, mostly because I am too cheap for a tailor and often too lazy to hem. But I think it looks good with heels.I have a friend and neighbor who is a big shopping person–she has a job that includes a lunch hour and totally scopes the mall and tracks sales. As a result, she often will call me and have me meet her at the mall when the sale is at the sweet spot between cheap and picked over. This year, she helped me score 5 sundresses at Loft that I think I will be able to wear with layers all winter. (A couple of them can be worn for teaching, a couple probably not, though I should style them up, photograph them, and get y'all to weigh in.)

  13. I went to the mall today. Half to test myself if I could resist shopping, half to find some tights, and half to see what I was missing on the sale racks. I left the mall empty handed. Yah me?!I agree with G&G, keep the bracelets…I just went through my closet and I do not have a coral or yellow cardi. Bummer, I would have sent it to you.Ok, SU outps. haha I know your first name now.pps. You need a starbuck name…hmmm…Cleo? Summer? Piper? ooh I like Piper.

  14. Like the remix. It would look fantastic with a coral cardi, minus the necklace as you said, but with the bracelets. Love those!Unfortunately, I'm not scooping many end-of-season sales because my brain has already latched onto images for fall. To the tune of two pairs of shoes this week at full whack! But they are truly unique pairs, so I feel no guilt.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  15. I got a couple of great dresses from Territory Ahead's end of season sale.Old Navy has multiple soft coral cardigans right now, everything from a short sleeved pointelle one to the buttonless ruffle one that I have in taupey-brown.

  16. Oh, a soft coral cardigan would be very, very pretty. And yes, you could skip other accessories.I'm ignoring sales because I'm now trying to save up for a pair of Fiorentini & Baker boots (thanks to Dorky Medievalist, huh.)

  17. I love that cardigan. I have a similar one & have never worn it, but you've inspired me. It looks much better with the dress than the blue blazer did first go-round. It's very soft and cool, and the dropped curved waistline on the dress seems made for its delicate lines.

  18. I love that print and the fun mix of colors. And those shoes are gorgeous! I think the length of that dress is perfect just as it is. I stalked – I mean found – some great pieces this sale season, but you're right… the sales racks get to a certain point and I just feel sorry for the left-behinds. Or I get sad because there's one gorgeous certain something marked way down but it's in the complete opposite size.

  19. Love that someone else does the short sleeved shrug over the sundress! Did the same thing last night (maybe I'll post it on my blog); am hiding the bingo arms….maybe I should do the p90 eh Sarah?

  20. This sundress remains kick ass. I dig the white cardigan over it and the accessories.Since I am engaged in le shopping ban for the foreseeable future (and I rarely see beyond 2 semesters), I haven't seen the sales. The problem with my shopping is I see potential in EVERYTHING, and then when I get home, I'm very meh about stuff. Have you tried ebay? You might be able to find something lovely there.

  21. What a great thrift find I absolutely love the pattern. I love the bangle too! So the surprise tomorrow has to do with fashion….I'll give you a hint. It's a really really awesome DIY that I made up. P90X is pretty much really intense weight lifting every other day combined with yoga,kickboxing and cardio on the other days. I'm pretty used to just jogging and stuff like that so this is pretty intense for me.

Leave a Reply

