Surprise, Part One: New Faculty Orientation

We’re sure you’ve all been asking yourselves, what could A-Dubs and D-Med do to make their professorial style blog even more awesome?


A Wonder Woman CFP (Call For Poses)?


More pictures of the fur treasures & the Fuzzy Roommate?


Okay.
(Yelly Kitty gives her photog. the cut-eye.)

(FR did not have a good time at the cottage this year. He wanted to chew his foot, so he had to wear the cone of shame.)



Another awesome professorial blogger based in the southern United States?


OMG, that is exactly what this blog needs to make it more awesome!


Allow us to introduce E-Jo, one of the styliest peeps we know. She can rock jewel tones like royalty, white jeans like a rock star and she has the best shoe collection the other side of the Mississippi (because obviously we have the best one on this side). Actually, we don’t know exactly where or if the Mississippi bisects our regions because we are a medievalist and a cultural theorist respectively, not geographers.


Welcome E-Jo!


(Coming soon: Surprise, Part Two)



~ ~ ~

Hi Everyone and thanks to A-Dubs and D-Med for asking me to join them in figuring out the ever-thorny issue of dressing like a professor. I’m just starting my second year in a tenure-track position in a big department in the South-Central U.S. so professorial fashion is also enmeshed with weather appropriate fashion as it stays hot (read: well into the 80s and 90s/ 30s) until late October and then heats up again in March. For me, then, my professional wardrobe must absolutely include sleeveless items. Though this also means that I no longer have to try find ways to teach in snow-appropriate gear.

For right now, however, I’m trying to find a way to balance my uber-casual summer off-campus wear with my transition back to being on campus semi-regularly. Today’s jersey dress has been a staple but with the camis I usually layer underneath it (otherwise it borders on the unseemly) it seemed way too casual. As well, though I don’t know if this shows up in the photos, it’s kind of a washed out jersey, further contributing to its casualness. So today I added this tank/tunic/ tank-ic that embraces two trends I currently am obsessed with: grey and ruffles.





Dress: Gap Outlet

Tankic: Old Navy

Sandals: Black Patent Birkenstocks

Background noise: Neko Case; the mini-FR cracking down on the door-to-door delivery of mail

I’m pretty happy with how this turned out–though it needs something in an accessory I think–and can definitely teach in it once I switch out my Birkenstocks for other shoes–probably these “snakeskin” flats from Old Navy:

And, finally, because the best way to ingratiate yourself to new people is to post gratuitous photos of your adorable dog wearing ridiculous costumes… here’s the mini-FR in one sent by D-Med.



How do you take summer clothes into fall?
And, more importantly, what do you do to make new people like you?

24 thoughts on “Surprise, Part One: New Faculty Orientation

  1. Hi E-Jo, looking forward to reading more about you. I trasition from summer to fall (I'm also in the southeast) by layering cardigans or jackets over summer tanks for work, and swap sandals for boots with skirts.And how do I get new people to like me? I usually scare them, unintentionally, of course. That's what so many of them end up telling me after they've actually talked to me and come to realize I'm not aloof or stuck-up, I just am not a cheerleader, and I rarely speak first. But once spoken to, I'm very accessible. When it comes to meeting new people, I'm just myself, like me or not. Cheers!♥ V http://www.gritandglamour.com

  2. Welcome E-Jo!I feel your pain! I live in middle Tennessee and so ready for this heat to be over! Plus my boy plays baseball. What do you wear to the sauna???? That's how it feels out there. Poor boys in their thick socks and Fall long pants playing ball…. :(xx

  3. Pardon me ladies…a response to my homie Style Underdog…Yes, they really do. I don't cower, and I'm not a smiler…I don't walk around grinning. So people always class me as a stuck up b*tch. After they talk to me, I hope they come to realize I'm not. It's the biggest misconception about me. I like what I like, and I'm opinionated—but I'm open-minded as well. I'm very real and I don't forget about when I used to bag groceries, wait tables, work in retail, and do things that required me to serve people.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  4. Does everyone here have a dachshund? I thought my adorable two were unique. Or make dachshund people just find each other? Welcome, E-Jo. I did my undergrad in the Deep South. Finding clothes that don't look damp in the classroom was a challenge there, but also here, in the Northeast, where a/c seems extremely provisional and the heat comes on October 15th no matter what the weather's doing. Great dress you've got there.

  5. Welcome E-Jo1. Ditto2. Ditto and/or buy a round of drinks or two. If that doesn't work, who care.It's the Hallo-Weiner!Ooo, light bulb, check my post in 2.SU almost out….G&G, really, people think you're stuck up? I just can't picture that…you're so, what is it, Southern.

  6. A-Dubs: That is the saddest photo every of the FR. WIWHW: We don't really get fall here either, at least not in the way that I used to experience it in Canada. So really my transition into anything resembling fall clothes (which are winter clothes now) is still months off — but I'm going to remember your A/C tip for photos and might try & sneak in some fall outfits earlier. Also, once you get a Ph.D. you're legally required to invent words!Liz: Your dachshund licks everything too? Also, my mini (I think — I got him from the shelter so I'm not sure but he's teensy) was totally aping your lovely dog when I took the pictures. Your's is a total trendsetter!Kelly: Is that wine for me or for others? 'Cause I'm pretty sure a tipsy E-Jo is a friendly E-Jo.

  7. E-Jo! Woot!1. What about short-sleeved cardigans and jackets? I've been surprised by how versatile these are.2. Ask people (non-political, non-religious, not-too-personal) questions about themselves. Then actually listen to their answers. Also, wine.

  8. Oh good! I'm excited to tell my dachshund, who regularly poses backwards and forwards (or any way that allows him to lick the carpet) in my outfit posts, that he has a new kindred spirit in the style blog community!And now I'm thinking about what I could layer under my tank dresses to make them more versatile. Thanks for the idea and welcome to the web!I'm not conscious of anything I do to try to get people to like me, but maybe I should try harder, because I am frequently told "I thought you were really bitchy until I got to know you." I think this is because I'm extremely quiet and shy around people I don't know well and some people find that offputting. Or maybe I give people dirty looks without realizing it?-Liz

  9. Hey hon, welcome! I'd never even heard of a tankic before reading this (neither has my spellcheck) so it's lucky I follow a blog by 3 clever, professional type gals.1. We don't have fall here in the MIddle East. Or winter really. So I can't help you there. Sometimes I have to put the air conditioning on if I want to take a blog picture in one of my jackets2. I try not to get new people to like me at all because I'm totally hopeless and find it hard enough keeping up with the friends I already have. I always intend to send thank you cards and take hostess gifts and everything, but for some reason stuff like that always slips into the great abyss between my short and long term memories.

  10. 1) What everyone else said.2) I invite people to events, or make up events and then invite people to them. I offer to drive. I use humour (which sometimes backfires, but I persevere).

  11. Thanks all! I'm looking forward to joining in the conversation here and on your fantastic blogs! I like all your suggestions for making clothing multi-seasonal. Unfortunately (fortunately?) I won't get a chance to make use of your ideas until November when it finally cools down enough for me to contemplate fabric around my legs. The mini-FR is, in response to your comments, jumping around and throwing himself off the couch excitedly. I swear he's part cat in his verticality.

  12. I am a grad student–I have a few teaching outfits and on the other days, I wear yoga pants, t-shirts, and do not leave my house. But I go with cardigans etc, especially inside in order to fight the southern AC culture!And otherwise, what Rad said. And welcome, welcome!

  13. I hear you about the heat and having to remain professional. I'm in Florida so the idea of layering anything is just not doable. Cardigans and blazers? In Florida? Only in February, baby, only in February. Otherwise every fabric needs to breathe, be light, and unrestricted. Luckily, I don't have to do too much transitioning since I'm a staff member at a university, and not faculty. Although I do know that there is a certain weirdness in our dept – as the men are always casual throughout the year, but since we only have five female faculty (one is Muslim and is always covered head to toe) and I never see them as our jobs don't intertwine as maybe another staff member's job would, I have no idea how they dress. I just know that jeans and polos are pretty much the standard with the faculty, and the staff.How do I get people to like me? Smile. A big friendly smile.

  14. Hi E-Jo, looking forward to reading more about you. I trasition from summer to fall (I'm also in the southeast) by layering cardigans or jackets over summer tanks for work, and swap sandals for boots with skirts.And how do I get new people to like me? I usually scare them, unintentionally, of course. That's what so many of them end up telling me after they've actually talked to me and come to realize I'm not aloof or stuck-up, I just am not a cheerleader, and I rarely speak first. But once spoken to, I'm very accessible. When it comes to meeting new people, I'm just myself, like me or not. Cheers!♥ V http://www.gritandglamour.com

  15. Welcome, E-Jo! You and Megarita should talk. She's a a prof. in the Southern US, too. Being from Texas, myself, I empathize with the need for sleeveless wear throughout most of the year. 1) Pretty much what Rad said: Cardigans, blazers, and tights and boots. Definitely boots.2) What Rad said.

  16. Oooh, this is a fun surprise! Welcome, E-Jo! You had me at the cute dog picture 🙂 That is some great layering you've got going on too. if I didn't know any better, I'd think that you just bought the dress that way.Rad already did a great job at answering your questions, but I'll weigh in anyway. For #1, I'd definitely stress the use of blazers, and my personal favorite, a dark denim jacket. For #2, mentioning my dog usually helps, and I absolutely use my sense of humor. It's really my only shot at making people like me right off the bat.

  17. Hello, E-Jo! Nice to meet you. Any friend of A-Dubs and D-Med is an (online) friend of mine. Your cutie pie weiner dog is way adorbs. I dig your layering of the ruffled top with the jersey dress. And I look forward to addition outfit pictures.To answer your questions:1) Cardigans, office blazers, scarfs, tights, leggings (and somewhat more closed toe shoes) and 2) Be hilariously wicked funny like your friends, and respond to comments (and read other's blogs)

Leave a Reply

