NSFW: A Short Experiment

Today, I wore these alarmingly bright shorts that you may not like. Seriously. They are much brighter than they appear in this image. They are also in the exact wrong colour group for the coming fall:

Black cotton jersery top: Tahari (via Winners)
Alarmingly bright cotton shorts: Joe Fresh
Bracelets & watch: gifted & Grandpa’s Pulsar (remixed)
Leather & cork wedges: Clarks (remixed)

I bet I can make them more palatable for all of us. Here we go. 

First, look at this photo I took from my balcony Tuesday night:

Next, observe the same sunset reflected in the buildings to the east of mine:

Breath in. Breath out.

Now, let’s look at the ensemble, again: 

That’s right. This outfit is intensely soothing. Like the end of a stormy day. Like a glass of wine on the balcony at the close of said day. Like shivasana (“corpse” or “rest” pose) at the end of Saturday morning yoga.

And that is just one of the reasons I’ll not be wearing these shorts for teaching. I want to be many things for my students, but I never want to be soothing. I want to be the storm, not the lovely aftermath.

What scene are you today (or always)? What do you aspire to be?

24 thoughts on “NSFW: A Short Experiment

  1. Nice posture. I mean that. I used this photo as an example to my children. Thanks.Throw a black blazer on and you are work approp. I have the orange undertone, but, now that I'm thinking about it, I wear orange sweaters, etc. I know I can't be wrong, hahaha, so maybe you need to do a rethink with the orange colour. (see what I did there, colour instead of color. I'm getting you). Great outfit, once again and beautiful photos of the city. SU outnevermind, not out. As to the aspire question…everyday, almost, I aspire to be different characters when I get dress, i.e. today I look like Fanny Chenal, or a mag editor, or photographer, or a teacher, etc. My aspirations change with my daily outfit. Does that make sense?

  2. You use the word "tangerine," which makes me think of a vibrant citrus orange (now, I wonder why?) rather than a deep autumnal pumpkin-orange. In fact, had you even called them "persimmon" orange, my idea of them would have been autumnal. Perhaps the devil's in the terminology, A-Dubs.I'm also musing over your phrase, "which you may not like." It sounds like an admonition: You may not like this. as in, You may not sit here.You have set us up to disagree with you, and yet everyone seems to be defiantly agreeing. Wonder Women think what you tell them not to.

  3. I don't get it – how are these not a great colour for fall? That makes no sense, woman! I say "bosh!" to this trending of colours, anyway. Wear what you love and the rest of the world be damned! (Man, I am getting uppity from doing all these WW poses, I tell ya).I'm aspiring for mood these days, as most of the time it is foul (my mood), and so I'm wearing a lot of colour. It's actually helping. Well, so is the wine. Wine good.

  4. The color of these shorts totally works for fall! At least, I would wear them. Probably in the way Rad suggests: with a few heavier garments in earth tones. Perfect. Also, even if they weren't seasonally appropriate, who cares? Your legs look great in them.-Anne-Marie

  5. You use the word "tangerine," which makes me think of a vibrant citrus orange (now, I wonder why?) rather than a deep autumnal pumpkin-orange. In fact, had you even called them "persimmon" orange, my idea of them would have been autumnal. Perhaps the devil's in the terminology, A-Dubs.I'm also musing over your phrase, "which you may not like." It sounds like an admonition: You may not like this. as in, You may not sit here.You have set us up to disagree with you, and yet everyone seems to be defiantly agreeing. Wonder Women think what you tell them not to.

  6. I don't know about the whole wear-them-for-fall plan. This photo is clearly not doing justice to the brightness of this colour which, despite your excellent commentary, continues to seem quintessentially "summer" to me.Maybe I'll try styling 'em up as you suggest and photographing in better light, first, before the definitive decision is made.That said, I'm kind of enjoying the thought of this exact outfit with a black blazer (and maybe a long necklace of some ilk) for September. That might be stormy and profesh enough for the resurgent end-of-summer heat and the classroom.

  7. The color of these shorts totally works for fall! At least, I would wear them. Probably in the way Rad suggests: with a few heavier garments in earth tones. Perfect. Also, even if they weren't seasonally appropriate, who cares? Your legs look great in them.-Anne-Marie

  8. I don't get it – how are these not a great colour for fall? That makes no sense, woman! I say "bosh!" to this trending of colours, anyway. Wear what you love and the rest of the world be damned! (Man, I am getting uppity from doing all these WW poses, I tell ya).I'm aspiring for mood these days, as most of the time it is foul (my mood), and so I'm wearing a lot of colour. It's actually helping. Well, so is the wine. Wine good.

  9. I concur with the awesomeness of these shorts — and styling suggestions. All my shorts are boring neutrals. These make me want to rethink that a little. Also I miss Joe stuff.

  10. Brilliant how you used logic to argue that a red could be soothing. Next you're going to be telling me that the sky is green. Good stuff. I think they are both bright and completely rad.

  11. Nice posture. I mean that. I used this photo as an example to my children. Thanks.Throw a black blazer on and you are work approp. I have the orange undertone, but, now that I'm thinking about it, I wear orange sweaters, etc. I know I can't be wrong, hahaha, so maybe you need to do a rethink with the orange colour. (see what I did there, colour instead of color. I'm getting you). Great outfit, once again and beautiful photos of the city. SU outnevermind, not out. As to the aspire question…everyday, almost, I aspire to be different characters when I get dress, i.e. today I look like Fanny Chenal, or a mag editor, or photographer, or a teacher, etc. My aspirations change with my daily outfit. Does that make sense?

  12. You look great in those shorts, Legs McGee. Is it hot in your part of the continent? It's gonna get hot here too, just in time for school. Hmm… I always think of "earth tones" (things that would go with brown) as very fall like. I could see these boots with a cream sweater, brown tights, boots, and a scarf. Maybe with a denim jacket if it's windy. So maybe they could wear for fall?

  13. I love these! I want acouple pairs of bright shorts as well. Great pop of color! And who cares if the color is in or not, if you like em, rock em! That's how I view things :)http://achameleonscloset.blogspot.com/

  14. Thanks, all!They're actually a (very bright) orange/tangerine. I think of this colour as a spring or deep summer colour. Also, because I tend to look very orange in the face if there are any orange tones anywhere near my face, I think of this colour as risky and generally unpalatable (for me). That said, I bought the shorts. I'm digging the shorts. And now I find them soothing.

Leave a Reply

