Smells like …

I have been away, BlogNation, but now I’m back, if a little the worse for wear. It has been uncannily hot and humid here at IPF, Eastern Division since I returned from a jaunt to Ontario that involved an excellent though brief reunion with A-Dubs and Rinty the Crusher. Here’s a word to the wise: after two pitchers of sangria, order a pitcher of mojitos at your peril.
I have been terribly lax about posting and about keeping up with my blog reading because I am suffering a serious bout of fine ladyism, including random dizziness. I wilt like a delicate flower in this humidity.
(artist’s rendition)
Since I am wary of climbing on the posing stool and, let’s be honest, of wearing clothing at all, I thought rather than share how I’m dressed, I would share how I smell. Don’t deny it, you know you’ve been wondering.
I smell like Charlotte wearing lacy underwear by a fishpond.

It’s a lovely scent.
Who do you smell like?

20 thoughts on “Smells like …

  1. LOL I love this post; especially the suffering of ladyism. Are you sure you're not Southern? I don't wear scents. My hubby has no sense of smell unless something is really strong (think tiny closet-sized store packed of Yankee Candle). So I'm pure natural. I'm either clean or stinky.But back in the days before the husband, I had two parfumes I would wear. One attracted a certain Italian boy I adored (his dad was a flight exchange solider with the American and Italian armies) and the other attracted this hardcore punk boy with the softest ever leather jacket; also me in 10th grade. The scents…here's olden times for you: Navy and Emerade (or some such, I've since learned that it is an old lady perfume). Anyway, I did the smelly Bath and Body Works stuff for awhile and then moved on to Body Shop, which I do purely for my own desire. I love their mandarin orange body wash. Sometimes I'll just duck my head and sniff my forearm…okay too much TMI. I'm going to bed now.

  2. Ah, when you said you wanted to smell like Charlotte, for a moment there, I thought, "How does she KNOW?" And then I realized you weren't talking about me. Oh well.I smell like this incredible perfume that my husband gave me for my birthday. It's called "Light Blue" by Dolce and Gabbana. When I'm not wearing that, I wear "Black Vanilla," which he gave me for Christmas. It's deeper, more wintery. I love them both and wear one of them every day, even if I'm just lolling about in my lacy underwear by the fishpond.Wilting is all I do in humid weather. It's why I left the south.

  3. I don't smell like anyone right now. But anytime I smell a gardenia based scent, it reminds me of my mom and grandma who both wear these kinds of fragrances. This post is making me want to start wearing perfume again. I've been off it for a while for no real reason other than that I just forget to wear it. But there's something about the idea of wearing perfume that I kind of love. There's something sort of mysterious about it but lovely. To the local not-Sephora!Also, fine-ladyism!! I forgot about this. One of my all-time favorite discoveries while grading!

  4. Love all your comments! Now I want to talk about scents. So I will.I love Bath and Bodyworks Orange Ginger body wash as well as Body Shop's Mandarin Orange and often sniff my arm after I've bathed with them. Surreptitiously. Citrus is my fave shower smell. That and lavender.In high school I smelled like Lauren by Ralph Lauren because everybody else did, then Paco Rabanne for men because nobody else did, then Body Shop Tea Rose because I really liked it.I have worn Lovely by SJP, Lime Flower by Susanne Lang, Bulgari Green Tea (is that discontinued because I love it and can't find it anymore), Lush Karma solid perfume (I hate patchouli but this is a patchouli I don't hate) and Coco Chanel.Chanel No. 5 will always remind me of my grandmother because she wore it always. That and Jergens hand lotion. I can't wear Chanel No. 5 but I can do Jergens lotion. Huh. My two besties in high school who are still my good friends wore Chanel No. 19 in high school and still do. I don't love the scent but I love that it reminds me of these two excellent women.Thanks all. I love hearing what you and yours smell, or don't smell, like.

  5. Love all your comments! Now I want to talk about scents. So I will.I love Bath and Bodyworks Orange Ginger body wash as well as Body Shop's Mandarin Orange and often sniff my arm after I've bathed with them. Surreptitiously. Citrus is my fave shower smell. That and lavender.In high school I smelled like Lauren by Ralph Lauren because everybody else did, then Paco Rabanne for men because nobody else did, then Body Shop Tea Rose because I really liked it.I have worn Lovely by SJP, Lime Flower by Susanne Lang, Bulgari Green Tea (is that discontinued because I love it and can't find it anymore), Lush Karma solid perfume (I hate patchouli but this is a patchouli I don't hate) and Coco Chanel.Chanel No. 5 will always remind me of my grandmother because she wore it always. That and Jergens hand lotion. I can't wear Chanel No. 5 but I can do Jergens lotion. Huh. My two besties in high school who are still my good friends wore Chanel No. 19 in high school and still do. I don't love the scent but I love that it reminds me of these two excellent women.Thanks all. I love hearing what you and yours smell, or don't smell, like.

  6. We are a scented family: Mike, Old Spice, the commercial really sold us Beverly: Burberry Keegan: D&G Light Blue (like Charlotte's but the male version) and Lili: Bath & Bodyworks Black Raspberry Vanilla Owin: Scent of Dog. If you mix them all together it would be quite the explosion.

  7. When I immigrated to the U.S. 16 years ago one of the things I brought with me was a tiny bottle of french j'aiOse. when my mom was young that what she wore and that was kind of the smell of my childhood in my mind… that perfume is gone now and even discontinued i think, but imagine my excitement when i accidentally came across it in my mall and the sales person confirmed it was discontinued and very hard to find any. anyway, i bought the last one he had. and use it only for special occasions.

  8. You smell a lot better than me right now – I just got home from the woods and haven't showered since 6am Friday. I smell like a combination of outdoors, fire and cheap beer. Actually, I guess that's not terrible, is it? But in about half an hour, I'll smell like some kind of berry and philosophy's Falling in Love.Welcome back 🙂 Hope you're not wilting too much!

  9. D-Med: Are you holding it together, now? Because maybe you should go to the doctor. Not that I'm questioning the fineness of your fine-ladyism, of course. You are indeed a beautiful, beautiful wilting fleur.Also, tell her, E-Jo. Tell her she has to cite your awesome student sources.And finally, all of you smell more grown up than me. I found a bottle of Sunflowers perfume at Winners in the spring, it gave me a flashback to the awesome summer of 1996, and I've been living the nostalgic dream ever since. Even though I'm not really loving the scent anymore, I LOVED it that summer.That said, it is time to grow up and find a scent I like, again. A grown-up scent that says "I am the sultry-yet-professional-storm."

  10. I don't smell like anyone right now. But anytime I smell a gardenia based scent, it reminds me of my mom and grandma who both wear these kinds of fragrances. This post is making me want to start wearing perfume again. I've been off it for a while for no real reason other than that I just forget to wear it. But there's something about the idea of wearing perfume that I kind of love. There's something sort of mysterious about it but lovely. To the local not-Sephora!Also, fine-ladyism!! I forgot about this. One of my all-time favorite discoveries while grading!

  11. Ah, when you said you wanted to smell like Charlotte, for a moment there, I thought, "How does she KNOW?" And then I realized you weren't talking about me. Oh well.I smell like this incredible perfume that my husband gave me for my birthday. It's called "Light Blue" by Dolce and Gabbana. When I'm not wearing that, I wear "Black Vanilla," which he gave me for Christmas. It's deeper, more wintery. I love them both and wear one of them every day, even if I'm just lolling about in my lacy underwear by the fishpond.Wilting is all I do in humid weather. It's why I left the south.

  12. Ha! I'm a wilter too. And a whinger. Me + heat = max crankiness.I have that same perfume, but my faves are Amber Nude by Tom Ford for Estee Lauder, and Cinnabar, also by Estee Lauder.I feel you on the sangria and follow-up mojito pitcher. I'm typing this quite sizzled after my own martini bender last night. Ugh.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  13. Sorry about the fine lady-ism. Maybe if you took off the piles of petticoats and other Victorian undergarments, you might feel a wee bit better? You all smell much better than me. In my semi hippie ways/hyper sensitive skin ways, I don't wear deodorant, scents, or even nice smelling lotions. Even my laundry detergent is scent-free. But I certainly appreciate them others. Sometimes, I smell like cranky. You know what I'm talking about.

  14. Bwahahaha! Ladyism is indeed a serious side effect of intense heat and humidity. The summer of 2003 I was constantly suffering from it.I wear perfumes seasonally. I wear Dior Addict in the fall and winter and something else in the spring and summer. This year that something else is Lovely by SJP.

  15. LOL I love this post; especially the suffering of ladyism. Are you sure you're not Southern? I don't wear scents. My hubby has no sense of smell unless something is really strong (think tiny closet-sized store packed of Yankee Candle). So I'm pure natural. I'm either clean or stinky.But back in the days before the husband, I had two parfumes I would wear. One attracted a certain Italian boy I adored (his dad was a flight exchange solider with the American and Italian armies) and the other attracted this hardcore punk boy with the softest ever leather jacket; also me in 10th grade. The scents…here's olden times for you: Navy and Emerade (or some such, I've since learned that it is an old lady perfume). Anyway, I did the smelly Bath and Body Works stuff for awhile and then moved on to Body Shop, which I do purely for my own desire. I love their mandarin orange body wash. Sometimes I'll just duck my head and sniff my forearm…okay too much TMI. I'm going to bed now.

Leave a Reply

