Help me, internet, you’re my only hope!

My office? Is clean and organised, and I did not just stuff all of my random papers willy-nilly into the filing cabinets for the illusion of organised. Everything has a place and there is a place for everything. And I shredded everything else.
My syllabi? Are almost done. Let’s not talk about those.
My first day outfit? Arghh! Can’t. Make up my mind. Two tops, two bottoms, both interchangeable but I think if I can decide on the top part then the bottom will fall into place (that is not a sex joke). Eyes front, class, I need your help.
It’s down to two blouses.
Bachelorette Number 1:

Silk Navy Polka-Dotted Blouse: Splendid
Bracelets: gifts, one from KellyBean
Cami: might need one

Bachelorette Number 1 sports the perfect sleeve length, a prim bow and deep-V combo that saves it from stern and sexy, and an excellent random polka dot pattern that looks as though someone went crazy with a bingo dabber. I really love this blouse and I think it represents the way I think of dressing when I think of dressing professionally.
I will say, however, that given the price of this blouse (even at 50% off), I am surprised and disappointed by the quality. I’ve replaced two buttons already, one of the buttonholes isn’t even finished and loose threads are unravelling everywhere. Splendid? I think not. But it’s sooo pretty.
And Bachelorette Number 2:
Cotton Grey Plaid Blouse: All Saints
Bangle: gift from A-Dubs
Pose: Wonder Woman (OMG, you guys are awesome!)
Bachelorette Number 2 is more casual but has a flair for the dramatic with a fitted silhouette and a flirty relationship with sleevelessness. This was also pricey (and also on sale), but it is better put together. It’s fully lined, quite carefully tailored and its buttons are not going anywhere. Saintly. And kind of BA.
So which is it internet? Bachelorette Number 1 or Bachelorette Number 2?
I have mates for both and obviously both blouses will get a lot of wear during the term, but who makes the cut for the first day?
I start teaching on Wednesday when all will be revealed. I bet you can’t wait. I can’t wait to see how my syllabi turn out …

21 thoughts on “Help me, internet, you’re my only hope!

  1. Did you happen to read G&G's post today. It is about work appropriate outfits…That being said, number 1. Number 2 is too casual. Yes, your arms are looking BA but not to be showcased on the first day. Keep those guns hidden till Friday.

  2. Thanks everyone. That's what I thought. It's sort of up to the weather at this point (forecast says rain, like I'm surprised) and whether I will be biking it or bussing it. And yes, that is my home office. It gets even better because it opens out to the balcony. But it's too chilly in there during the winter months to work so I move to the dining room table. This is fascinating to read, isn't it? I'm just living my life.

  3. Thanks everyone. That's what I thought. It's sort of up to the weather at this point (forecast says rain, like I'm surprised) and whether I will be biking it or bussing it. And yes, that is my home office. It gets even better because it opens out to the balcony. But it's too chilly in there during the winter months to work so I move to the dining room table. This is fascinating to read, isn't it? I'm just living my life.

  4. I feel like saying #2 just because everyone else said #1, but it would be #2 with the ubiquitous cardigan I'm always pushing. So #1 it is. Both are spiffy, but that bow is a deal-breaker.

  5. Did you happen to read G&G's post today. It is about work appropriate outfits…That being said, number 1. Number 2 is too casual. Yes, your arms are looking BA but not to be showcased on the first day. Keep those guns hidden till Friday.

  6. My vote's for #1, but only as long as it's lack of finishing isn't noticeable. It really bothers me when I see people with loose threads, buttons just hanging on, etc. But I can see nothing wrong with it from the photo, other than the fact that I'm slightly jealous I don't own the same blouse.

  7. Team shirt 1! Shirt 2 is rad as well, but it has more of a casual, fun vibe, and I would go for a more classic look on the first day.Have a great one tomorrow! Can't wait to see the bottom part of this killer outfit.

  8. #1. I like #2 but it seems a bit wrinkled. So if you do choose #2, iron. I think the silk in #1 just seems more professional/formal, and agree with E-Jo that you might feel more confident on day 1.

  9. You are a wien for having such an awesome home office. Because apparently I begrudge even my closest friends their nice things. In more appropriate news, if we're just showing blouses, I vote #1. You might sell me on the exceptionally well-made #2 (lined? that's it – I'm ordering something from All Saints asap). Also, LHdM's right: your pythons are looking fantastic.

  10. I like both but I think my vote might be for #1 as well. Since it's slightly more formal, you might feel more in charge on the first day — though #2 is awesome as well. And also looks like it was excellently mailed. That's your home office right? (If it's your campus office, I'm going to consumed by jealousy.) It's looking good. Much better than either of mine where papers were placed in a filing cabinet willy nilly.

Leave a Reply

