Surprise, Part Two: Guest Lecture Series

Remember when we said we had another surprise? Well, here it is! Our grad-school pal and colleague KellyBean – some of you may know her already from over at Kelly in Beantown – has graciously agreed to drop in from time to time to report on life on the outside. (We’d heard rumours that there is life outside academia but needed a reliable source.) KellyBean can thrift circles around all of us when she isn’t sewing fabulous clothes for herself and accessorizing like a stylist to the stars.

This is the first in a series from KellyBean we are calling “Posts from the Edge.” “Edgy Posts.” “Bean Posts.” (Okay, we haven’t worked out the name yet. Give us a break, it’s the first week of school.) And so. . . .
Heeeeere’s Kelly!
My name is KellyBean, and I’m a rogue academic. Scholars in my position are often said to be “underemployed,” which is quite polite; but some time ago D-Med coined the phrase “rogue academic,” which is much better. I’m in a strange place vis-à-vis academia and am considering breaking up with it altogether. Think of the post-breakup makeover that might require. For now, though, I’ve gone rogue, and I’m very excited about doing so alongside the fine ladies of In Professorial Fashion.
It’s back-to-school season. I am not headed back to school, not this year (and maybe not ever – take that, academia! Hmph.) As my first IPF Guest Lecture, I’m going to indulge my back-to-school impulse by figuring out what to wear for my (pretend) first day of teaching.
When I was in high school, the first day of school consisted of finding your homeroom, getting your class schedule, finding your locker, and getting your school picture taken. First day of school and school pictures on the same day? Way to combine pressures, clever high school administrators!
For my (pretend) first day as a professor, I will wear this:
pale blue blouse: Calvin Klein via Filene’s Basement
black and grey houndstooth pants: Smart Set
blue metallic flats: Donald J. Pliner
multistrand freshwater pearl necklace: it’s a long story
This outfit is comfortable, seasonally appropriate, and conference-tested this summer. It’s professional yet low-key and would work well with my teaching style.
But wouldn’t it be fun to wear this?


red wool cardigan: no label, thrifted
orange pleated skirt: Ann Taylor LOFT, thrifted
black low heels with red stitching: Reaction Kenneth Cole
big silver kilt pin: gifted
Very The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, no? The wool sweater might give me heatstroke, but I love the color combination. I would have to be a little more authoritative if I wanted to teach in this, hence the finger-waggling in the photo.
Or what about this??

pale blue blouse & orange pleated skirt: as before
white-stitched black sash repurposed as tie: no idea
black ruffle-topped, ruffle-backed knee socks: Hue, gifted
black ankle boots: Aubrey via Gravity Pope
This one is rather more Deconstructed Schoolgirl and would require the extreme seriousness indicated by accusative finger-pointing. Students would stay in my class, just to see what I’d wear next. (Hey, I’ve seen worse teaching strategies.)





What do you wish you could wear, but should not, for work?
What makes you think twice and change before you leave the house?

17 thoughts on “Surprise, Part Two: Guest Lecture Series

  1. Hmm, what's the story on the pearl necklace? Like everyone else, I like the second outfit. The third one is giving me flashbacks to Catholic school, so I'd probably never voluntarily wear that.The only thing that makes me think twice before leaving the house is a skirt that suddenly feels or looks too short, even if I thought it was the perfect length before.

  2. Well, the vast majority of us are rogue or on the verge of going rogue these days so kudos to you for laying hold to the term so early on.I love the second look, and it looks like you may have a sassy short 'do to perfectly complement it…?

  3. Yes the second outfit, but the 3rd is awesome. I could see you ditching gym, throwing on your leather jacket, then meeting your older college friends at the local coffee house to discuss how stupid high school boys are.

  4. Welcome, KB! I'm very curious to read more about your journey.As for what might make me think twice and change before leaving the house. Hmmm. Nothing, really. But I do wish I could wear my over the knee boots with a modest mini to work. ♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  5. I like all of these outfits though I do think that #3 would be pushing it for the classroom. I really enjoy the narrative that SU has got going on though. And I love love love your knee socks. They have a ruffle in the back too?!?

  6. I too love the second one and enjoy the third one, even though it seems a little too naughty even for pretend classroom time. Also, way to bring it with the finger-wag.

  7. Yes the second outfit, but the 3rd is awesome. I could see you ditching gym, throwing on your leather jacket, then meeting your older college friends at the local coffee house to discuss how stupid high school boys are.

  8. Hmm, what's the story on the pearl necklace? Like everyone else, I like the second outfit. The third one is giving me flashbacks to Catholic school, so I'd probably never voluntarily wear that.The only thing that makes me think twice before leaving the house is a skirt that suddenly feels or looks too short, even if I thought it was the perfect length before.

  9. Thanks for the warm welcome, everyone!I agree with all the votes for the second outfit. It's my favorite of the three and is the only one that will probably make it out the door this fall (with tights and different shoes).

  10. The second outfit's the charmer here, and not really inappropriate though it's a bit girlish. Sometimes before I leave the house my husband will point out that what I'm wearing 1)has a stain on it; 2)is transparent when the light hits it a certain way; 3)makes me look as if I'm in costume. Any one of those will send me back for repairs.

  11. Welcome, KB! I'm very curious to read more about your journey.As for what might make me think twice and change before leaving the house. Hmmm. Nothing, really. But I do wish I could wear my over the knee boots with a modest mini to work. ♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.com

  12. Those outfits are amazing. Especially the second one.If I had the nerve, I would also wear combat boots, but with a prairie style dress and a blazer. Because everyone knows that a blazer keeps it formal.

  13. Well, the vast majority of us are rogue or on the verge of going rogue these days so kudos to you for laying hold to the term so early on.I love the second look, and it looks like you may have a sassy short 'do to perfectly complement it…?

Leave a Reply

