Wardrobe Workhorse Week: Neutral Skirt & Colorful Flats

The lovely and fashionable women over at Scholar Style Guide have declared this week Wardrobe Workhorse Week — which I am taking part in. The beginning of term has had me thinking about what clothing items & accessories I can’t live without, which ones I should wearmore/ remix more adventurously, and, finally, what things can be gotten rid of. My items for today are a mix of old and new workhorses.


Neutral Skirt:
This is a skirt I’ve had for ages and haven’t worn for a while (except, of course, when I posted with it a few weeks ago). I was inspired to bring it out by A-Dubs’ styling of a similar skirt — this particular outfit is a direct attempt to imitate A-Dubs. I’m particularly enamored of pairing the khaki green skirt with stripes but I think it also looks great with bright color. This particular use of the skirt uses a fairly muted color palette but I could easily switch that up as the term goes on. The main thing is that I have to talk myself out of wearing it every day which I think confirms its workhorse nature.


Skirt: Gap
Black t-shirt: Target
Striped tank: Old Navy
Purple necklace: gifted from my soon to be brother-in-law (though I suspect my sister might have had something to do with picking it out).






Colorful Flats:
Last year before I bought a car, I walked nearly 2 miles to work everyday. This was stupid. It’s way too hot here to do this and there are literally no sidewalks in the town I live in. Plus, it led to way too many conversations with senior faculty about my carlessness which made me feel like a child rather than a colleague (to be clear, this was not my colleagues’ intention but how I responded to it). Anyhow, I digress. Because the walk was fairly lengthy, I wore sensible walking shoes to and from campus everyday — shoes that I did not want to teach in.
Fortunately, I have amassed a relatively large collection of colorful flat shoes that were easy to transport because they weren’t bulky and which decidedly livened up my teaching wardrobe. Most of them now live in my office. I find these shoes to be comfortable teaching shoes (for the most part — they were all ludicrously cheap and so not always all that great to wear long-term). While I drive to work now and therefore have some more options in teaching footwear, I continue to make a lot of use of my office flats for when I don’t want to wear heels.
Purple Flats: Joe (I wore these flats with the outfit above)
Pink flats: Gap
What items in your closet have you rediscovered recently?


Unrelated to this post: A great blog has just been started up by some Canadian female academics (including a former advisor of mine!) that looks like it will be fantastic and of interest to many of you. You can find it here.

26 thoughts on “Wardrobe Workhorse Week: Neutral Skirt & Colorful Flats

  1. I also have a thing for green khaki, even though I don't own any at the moment. I like how depending on how you style it, it can serve as a neutral OR a pop of color. I like how you've paired it with the stripes above, and I think the purple flats would really tie the whole look together! I only own one pair of colored flats, and they're a little too casual for work attire, but I am definitely eyeing up your purple ones with jealousy!-Liz

  2. E-Jo: You got those shoes at the grocery store? Seriously? Man, we need better grocery stores up here.A-Dubs: So you're an ironic cult figure? I could see that. I really, really want the cardigan you were sporting in that outfit too. Not that I haven't mentioned that before. Also, on the topic of shoe storage, I have about 10 pairs of mostly black shoes stuffed in my bottom desk drawer. They're hidden from view, but people still make fun of me for it. They're probably jealous of all my sweet footwear.

  3. Your green skirt . . . I want that! I love all your colored flats too! In my closet I recently rediscovered some buttons up that I need to show some love. Thanks for the sweet commentS on my blog! Made my day, as you always do! And about the ex boyfriend having the ex removed I'm not sure. I don't really expect us to get back together during or after our trip. But who knows . . . I'll keep ya informed either way!Hugs,http://achameleonscloset.blogspot.com/

  4. Hey – thanks for the shout out! And thanks for bringing me here. (Or should I say: damn you for giving me Yet One More Way to Procrastinate!!) LOL As for rediscoveries: a high-waisted silver skirt that doesn't really go with anything – except a new white shirt (that also doesn't really go with anything). The outfit glue?: leather belt.

  5. Hey – thanks for the shout out! And thanks for bringing me here. (Or should I say: damn you for giving me Yet One More Way to Procrastinate!!) LOL As for rediscoveries: a high-waisted silver skirt that doesn't really go with anything – except a new white shirt (that also doesn't really go with anything). The outfit glue?: leather belt.

  6. E-Jo: You got those shoes at the grocery store? Seriously? Man, we need better grocery stores up here.A-Dubs: So you're an ironic cult figure? I could see that. I really, really want the cardigan you were sporting in that outfit too. Not that I haven't mentioned that before. Also, on the topic of shoe storage, I have about 10 pairs of mostly black shoes stuffed in my bottom desk drawer. They're hidden from view, but people still make fun of me for it. They're probably jealous of all my sweet footwear.

  7. I have decided in the last hour that the florescent lights in my office are unworkable and am heading to Target to get replacement lamps. Also on the shopping list: a shoe rack. No more pawing through a pile of shoes for me! Clearly that Ottawa-based friend is far cleverer that me!

  8. LaToya: Oh, I'll be hoping to be informed! I'm perhaps inappropriately intrigued by the love-lives of others. E-Jo: Crying over shoes is not-at-all inappropriate. I tried the shoe-pile solution last term and it didn't work so well. 'Too many times colleagues and students walked in while I was on my hands and knees under my desk trying to find shoes for lecture. A certain Ottawa-based friend of ours got me on to the shoe rack plan. Maybe someday I'll have an office mini-wardrobe. Someday.

  9. Nicely done on the anonymous following. I didn't think of that — I was consigning myself to randomly checking it out until I decided to follow publicly. Oh academia and your ridiculous paranoia. Also, those purple flats are super awesome. And I paid $10 maximum for them at the grocery store. I have very similar bright blue ones from the same store that are beginning to fall apart and I might genuinely cry when they do. It's almost as if I feel human emotions. When I say they live in my office, I mean in a pile beside my desk. Out in the open. Where students & colleagues will comment on them. I need to get a shoe rack.

  10. Your green skirt . . . I want that! I love all your colored flats too! In my closet I recently rediscovered some buttons up that I need to show some love. Thanks for the sweet commentS on my blog! Made my day, as you always do! And about the ex boyfriend having the ex removed I'm not sure. I don't really expect us to get back together during or after our trip. But who knows . . . I'll keep ya informed either way!Hugs,http://achameleonscloset.blogspot.com/

  11. Thanks for the link, E-Jo. Is it wrong that I'm currently following anonymously?Also, ha! I am counting this post as evidence of my growing cult-figure status in the style blogging world. Muahahaha! In all seriousness: that is an awesome skirt and I'm loving it with the stripes and the crazy-awesome (especially from such a source!) purple beads.How do you store your shoes in your office? My current plan is to bring in a cheapo shoe rack and hide it under my desk. But if you have a cooler storage solution, how about some earnest sharing on this topic?

  12. Green and purple worn together is a favorite combination of mine. It makes sense to keep a selection of alternative footwear in your office, especially when snow boots would otherwise become part of your teaching ensemble.

  13. I also have a thing for green khaki, even though I don't own any at the moment. I like how depending on how you style it, it can serve as a neutral OR a pop of color. I like how you've paired it with the stripes above, and I think the purple flats would really tie the whole look together! I only own one pair of colored flats, and they're a little too casual for work attire, but I am definitely eyeing up your purple ones with jealousy!-Liz

  14. Huh. I've just been pondering that my wardrobe (while irresponsibly extensive) is actually sort of short on workhorses. I have many awesome decorative things, but much less that's plain and simple to tie it all together with.I recently rediscovered my Gap Long and Lean jeans. I am SO glad this abysmal summer is coming to a close. Pants! On my legs! Yay!

  15. Thirding the stripes-and-skirt combination.I was just thinking about my lack of colorful flats. I think I need a pair in yellow (like Rad's) or purple (like the ones you've posted here). Keep the inspiration coming, E-Jo!

  16. Lovely skirt! I also dig khaki green in a skirt. I totally get the desire to want to wear workhorse clothing everyday. I often reach from them when I work from home.The stripes do look fantastic with the skirt.

Leave a Reply

