Shoes, Shoes, Shoes

As has become a tradition here at In Professorial Fashion, today’s post takes a look through my shoe collection. A near unhealthy obsession with shoes is de rigueur at all of the IPF locations and I clearly am no exception as these are most, but not quite all, of my shoes. Some of these you’ve seen, most you haven’t. One of the things that has been a great and unexpected bonus of fashion blogging (besides, you, our dear readers) has been the way that it’s led me to wear shoes & articles of clothing that I haven’t before or in a while. Shoe-wise, it has also helped that I teach in the same building as my office this term so that I don’t have to schlep across campus. Also, the library delivers books to my office. This is the greatest thing ever FYI. So here goes…


The Neutrals:

Black & bronze pumps (Nine West); Grey patent pumps (Madden Girl): Black patent pumps (Joe — more grocery store $3 shoes. Yes, $3)


Pros: As they’re neutral, they’re pretty all purpose & certainly professional.
Cons: They’re slightly boring (except for the grey patents which I LOVE); the Joe ones in particular look slightly school-marmy. The Nine Wests have stiletto heels which I’m not super adept in.
Solutions: Compensate with more colorful outfits? Really, there’s no real problems with these.


Colorful Heels:



Pink patent pumps (Nine West); Red patent heels (Max Studio); Blue pumps (Reaction Kenneth Cole)


Pros: They are awesome. I’m a big fan of the “pop of color” shoe. The blue ones saw Cher at A-Dub’s Vegas bachelorette extravaganza. The pink ones made an appearance at A-Dub’s wedding extravaganza. Apparently, A-Dub’s themed occasions bring out the colorful heels. And extravaganzas.
Cons: The blue ones are probably half a size too small. The red ones (which the picture do not do justice too) are, again, stilettos and slightly taller than I’m comfortable in but soo beautiful.
Solutions: Again, no real problems with these guys. Besides a helpful reminder that I stop buying shoes with stiletto heels (though I think this is the final pair I’ve bought).


The Wedges:

Nude patent (Nine West); Bronze (Etienne Angier); Grey Plaid (Gap Outlet)


Pros: Easier to walk in. More comfortable over a longer period of time. Frankly, I don’t wear these enough.
Cons: No cons here.
Solutions: Wear these WAY more. Hope they never fall apart.


Flats:

Black patent (Target); “Snakeskin” (Old Navy); Brown (Joe — these are also leather which I just discovered which is awesome for what I paid for them. In other news, I’m desperately trying not to think about why they’re so cheap); Gold (Nine West)


Pros: As I’ve mentioned before, flat (particularly colorful ones) are a wardrobe workhorse for me. While these are my more neutral ones, they all get a lot of wear as well. I find they’re often not as comfortable as they should be. But that’s partly because I don’t think I paid more than $20 for any of them. And less than $10 for most of them. So really, what can I expect?
Cons: No real cons here either. Though perhaps I should look into insoles.
Solutions: Keep going into the grocery store that sells the greatest cheap flats anytime I’m in Canada. For reals, Superstore — I miss you like crazy. Way more than Tim Horton’s which I’m supposed to be pining for as an expat.


The Utterly Impractical:

Bronze (Nine West); T-straps (Seychelles)


Pros: They are awesome. And, someday, I will be the kind of person who will able to walk in these. Seriously. I’m working on it. Also, I think the photo doesn’t do the heel height justice.
Cons: The bronze ones are appropriate only in Vegas. These are exactly the kind of heels that Margaret Atwood means when she’s talking about heels as a tool of patriarchal oppression.
Solutions: Go to Vegas. A lot. Learn to walk in these so that I can literally be six feet tall.


Overall Thoughts: Apparently, Nine West has my number. I also seemingly refuse to remove the stickers from inside my shoes.

19 thoughts on “Shoes, Shoes, Shoes

  1. Ooooh! This post is almost overwhelming – so many beautiful shoes! Also, it appears that you're a size 10 too? You can join my and A-Dub's mail-order shoe exchange, you know, if such a thing should ever happen. :)Cynthia – does ballroom dancing really help? I can walk in heels like that, but not for any extended amount of time.

  2. Augh, all of these shoes are so beautiful. I especially covet the grey patent pumps, the blue pumps, and the totally unpractical seychelles. Even your flats are so lustworthy.Anne, we need to get ourselves to a Canadian grocery store one of these days. What have they been hiding, besides that great universal medical program?

  3. You have great shoes, obviously. I love the grey patent pumps, and the blue ones, and those Seychelles.Ballroom dance lessons in Vegas is clearly a stroke of genius. Heels hurt way less when I'm drunk. Wait, now I'm remembering that even in Vegas I avoid stilettos. I am not remotely hardcore when it comes to heels.

  4. Well, I never wore heels at all until I started ballroom dancing, and now I can dance in 2.5" heels for a couple of hours at a stretch. It's definitely made me feel like I have more balance and control walking in heels. It's also made me real snobby about what kind of heels I'll buy, because after you've worn a pair of Dancesport heels, which are incredibly supportive and comfortable while not being super-expensive, "fashion heels" that cost hundreds of dollars and don't properly support the foot seem like a total scam. On me, Clarks feel closest in fit/shape to my VeryFine dance heels.As for ballroom dance lessons in Vegas, I ask only: will The 'Hoff be there?

  5. 'A solid collection, E-Jo. 'A VERY solid collection. Also, I can't believe the Seychelles aren't treating you better. What is up with that?Finally, the clearest, fastest, and best way to get some solid shoe training taken care of is ballroom dancing lessons in Vegas. Who's in?

  6. I love love love the last pair of shoes! The different colours, the chunky heels, so pretty!Next time you are in a Superstore, check out the clothing section as well as the shoes. I've found so many amazing deals, especially when they have sale racks, and the clothing is surprisingly good quality.PS: I feel like I've found my home! Hurray for all kinds of beautiful and stylish ladies who also wear size 10!

  7. Rad: No kidding! Does it count against GAAD if we're shopping in a different country? Hmmm…SU: Oh really? This might be the best size 10 shoe exchange EVER.

  8. Whoa, what a minute ladies, I too am a size 10! Do not count me out of the shoe exchange.Great collection E-Jo. I enjoy the nine west myself. I would be happy to talk the utterly impractical out for a walk any day, you know, to keep them in shape.

  9. Cynthia: I'd never thought of ballroom dancing but that totally makes sense. Anne: I'm totally in for some sort of size 10 shoe exchange. Rad: The tricky thing is that only one particular chain of grocery store that sells the awesome clothes & shoes — they're few on the ground. Luckily there's one in my small hometown that strangely gets the full line. It's my birthday shortly and my request for my mom is that she go in and get stuff for me (she has good taste so she can be counted on here).LHdM: Same for your shoes then! But in the opposite direction!Charlotte: Thanks! I hadn't really thought about the variety (or the number) until I started pulling them out and taking pictures. I adore the gray pumps. And find them surprisingly comfortable for Steve Madden shoes. For some reason the Madden Girl line seems to fit me better.

  10. Wow, E-Jo– I love the variety of your shoe collection. While I have many shoes, they seem more similar, which kind of defeats the purpose of having many shoes. The 9-West ones are super, but my favorites are the gray pumps.

  11. Augh, all of these shoes are so beautiful. I especially covet the grey patent pumps, the blue pumps, and the totally unpractical seychelles. Even your flats are so lustworthy.Anne, we need to get ourselves to a Canadian grocery store one of these days. What have they been hiding, besides that great universal medical program?

  12. Ooooh! This post is almost overwhelming – so many beautiful shoes! Also, it appears that you're a size 10 too? You can join my and A-Dub's mail-order shoe exchange, you know, if such a thing should ever happen. :)Cynthia – does ballroom dancing really help? I can walk in heels like that, but not for any extended amount of time.

  13. Three words: ballroom dance lessons. That will make you the kind of person who can walk in those heels. Of course, ballroom dancing is probably also a tool of patriarchal oppression. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

