Professorial Fashion: Boob Highlighting

Every once in a while I forget about the vagaries of longish necklaces. And by “vagaries” I mean the tendency for necklaces of a certain length to loop around one boob or the other like improvised boob-highlighting devices. But maybe I forget because I don’t care that much. I move around a lot in lectures; the boob looping happens only for a second or two each time.

That’s all I’ve got for an intro today. Things are crazy busy this month; grant proposals, on top of lecturing, committee meetings, letter-writing (for students), and the holding of office hours for 100-odd students make it so it’s all I can do to push through the weeks. Once it all becomes routine – around mid-October, I predict – I hope to feel halfway human, again.

However that turns out, here’s the ensemble in question, with its questionable necklace doing questionable things (in the second photo):

~ ‘trying a shoe-highting pose











Top: Le Chateau (remixed)
Cardigan:  (remixed)
Trousers: Mexx
Boob-looping necklace: mall anchor store (remixed – sort of. I got two and clicked them together.)
Shoes: United Nude (remixed)
Mug: a prop I’m considering having surgically attached to my hand
(would’ve done so already, but for the fact that evening wine tastes better from a glass)




















If you’ve got any strategies for avoiding such emboobening (Sal’s word), please share. 
Or we could talk about what you’re reading for fun these days. 
Book recommendations are always welcome!

22 thoughts on “Professorial Fashion: Boob Highlighting

  1. PSA! I was watching CNN this morning, and they interviewed the costume designer from Mad Men, who (in spite of wearing a deboobening top) suffered from this exact problem. If the professionals can't solve it for their own appearances on national television, I'd say you've got nothing to worry about. Highlight away!

  2. For some reason, this posing with the coffee cup reminds me of that 30 Rock where Jack wants to hold 2 coffee cups because he doesn't know what to do with his hands while filming a commercial. I've got no un-emboobening advice as the same thing happens to me all the time. Fun book-wise, I just read the Hunger Games trilogy which is pretty good. I find that right now YA fiction seems to be the way to go as it's generally short-ish and easy to read. And not something that is ever going to become work.

  3. My necklaces must be shorter than yours. I've never had this problem. But I like that aqua and gray combination. Very spiffy.I just started reading a biography of Djuna Barnes. And drinking plenty of hot tea alongside.

  4. I have the same issue with necklaces getting wrapped around one boob.I don't consciously debooben very often, but I've found that lengthening more torso with low belts or long tops helps. Solid colors help too, as to v-necks. I will have to try to think of more.

  5. PSA! I was watching CNN this morning, and they interviewed the costume designer from Mad Men, who (in spite of wearing a deboobening top) suffered from this exact problem. If the professionals can't solve it for their own appearances on national television, I'd say you've got nothing to worry about. Highlight away!

  6. I have the same issue with necklaces getting wrapped around one boob.I don't consciously debooben very often, but I've found that lengthening more torso with low belts or long tops helps. Solid colors help too, as to v-necks. I will have to try to think of more.

  7. * E-Jo: You are a wien. I will not let your 30 Rock reference stop me from posing with mugs. Also, good call re: YA fiction, with its safety non-work-related factor. Full disclosure, however: I generally prefer that my fun reading include some full-on sex/eroticism. Can I get that element from YA?* Courtney: I know, right? It's a hilarious word and further evidence of Sal's genius. * LHdM: WooHOO! 'Can't wait for the next panel. * C: I thought you might. It was sort of "for" you.* KB: Me, too. And nobody seemed to get distracted by them, so that's another good thing. * Anne: This cardi reminds me of your polka dot one. There's a chance I remembered it because you wore yours with that awesome black dress and red belt. Also, ha! Two necklaces are dangerously emboobening!* Charlotte: How's the biography going? My colleague just convinced me not to put _Nightwood_ on a course. Is the biography a happier book? Also, full disclosure: I'm a tea drinker, too. Coffee makes me wig out.*Rad: Ha! Yet another benefit to being chestally aerodynamic! Also, way to bring it with the flying imagery this week. Finally, I need to check out Sal's tutorials. They're going on the reading list. * tIoBM: Thanks so much! I love the colour of the top especially. * Sh: Thanks! Also, ha! "Boob wrangle." A term almost as awesome as "crotchetizing," and certainly as usefully descriptive.* Sal: Ohmigod – I made you covet my shoes. Oh. My. God. Also, staples seem as good a solution as any. They'd be less permanent than fabric glue.

  8. I wish! I ALWAYS end up with long-necklace-around-one-boob woes when I wear anything that hits low on my body. Staples, perhaps?Also, coveting those United Nudes.

  9. Sigh, I have no de-enboobening problems, as I am aerodynamic on top. But maybe one way to deal with this would be to put some kind of twist it with another necklace, which would make it heavier and force it towards the middle? I think I saw Sal do some awesome necklace twisting in a jewelry tutorial. What I heart about this outfit: the turquois top, black with grey, and those shoes. Ah, to be a size 10 and part of the potential size 10 shoe exchange…

  10. My necklaces must be shorter than yours. I've never had this problem. But I like that aqua and gray combination. Very spiffy.I just started reading a biography of Djuna Barnes. And drinking plenty of hot tea alongside.

  11. My coffee mug sure feels like it's been surgically attached to my hand – that'd sure make things easier 🙂 I have the same emboobening problem. It's especially bad with my long necklaces that have two stands, so one will wrap itself around a boob, and the other just kinda hangs there. I wish I could help, but I have no idea how to prevent that. Oh, and I also wish I had that cardigan.

  12. I wish I had a strategy for combatting emboobening (and I will forever afterwards refer to it as that) but I usually just stay away from long necklaces for that very reason.xoxo ~ Courtneyhttp://sartorialsidelines.blogspot.com

  13. For some reason, this posing with the coffee cup reminds me of that 30 Rock where Jack wants to hold 2 coffee cups because he doesn't know what to do with his hands while filming a commercial. I've got no un-emboobening advice as the same thing happens to me all the time. Fun book-wise, I just read the Hunger Games trilogy which is pretty good. I find that right now YA fiction seems to be the way to go as it's generally short-ish and easy to read. And not something that is ever going to become work.

Leave a Reply

