Friday on a Monday with Wine

Good morning, Stylenation, from IPF Northern Division, where the weather varies wildly and our wardrobes follow suit. Today, for example, the high’s a balmy 21 degrees (that’s around the 70 mark, for our US readers), and it’s already feeling warm(ish). Last week at this time it was closer to 6 (or 43) degrees, with a high of 10 (or 50). We’ve gone from tights and jackets to bare legs and tiny cardigans over one short weekend. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if last week was it, winter-wise? But I digress.

I take full credit for this swing to the warm side as I dutifully put away all of my summer clothes and got out the fall and winter ensembles last week, hoping to get Murphy’s Law working in our favour. Behold my success! ‘No need to thank me; just send champers.

Today’s ensemble, the one I’m actually wearing, is not worth posting. But last Friday’s, the one I wore for some big afternoon meetings on campus, is one I thought you might like to see:











Silk print blouse: Zara (old)
Cotton cardigan: Zara (also old)
Gray trousers: Mexx (remixed)
Shoes: Clarks Artisan (via Shoe Heaven)
Wine: so lovely after the big (but good) meetings
(for future reference: all shots including the barbeque are taken in the afternoon)

Obligatory shoe close-up:
This blouse is sleeveless – shoulderless, even. As in, the bow at the neck holds it on my body. So I pinned the cardigan in place at the neckline, then fixed the bow to cover the blood. (In future, I’ll not be undertaking any work with sharp objects near my carotid artery without an appropriate amount of caffeine on board.)


I’m off now for a week of craziness. We’re hosting visiting speakers in my department this week and, since we’re a very small group, all of us are expected at each of the multiple events planned from Tuesday to Thursday. In addition, my first grant proposal is due Friday, and I’ve got two new lectures to write. ‘Good thing I like my job – because the work/life balance is more than a little skewed of late.
How’s your week shaping up? 

Also, how do you take elements of your wardrobe from night to day?

25 thoughts on “Friday on a Monday with Wine

  1. Pingback: Sartorial New Life, from Vegas | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Oh, so I have you to thank for the heat wave, eh? Hold on, let me pour myself a glass, be right back………glug, glug, glugCheers (clink, sip, mmmmmmm).I'm loving the wine with outfit post. Loving it! I'm in. What goes with a merlot?

  3. Woo! Look at that blouse. You own that bow. And you're looking long and leggy in this outfit. Those pants fit you perfectly too. I hope that your colleagues appreciated this outfit as much as style nation. I think I need a watch, A-Dubs style. It can be my fall back accessory.

  4. Woo! Look at that blouse. You own that bow. And you're looking long and leggy in this outfit. Those pants fit you perfectly too. I hope that your colleagues appreciated this outfit as much as style nation. I think I need a watch, A-Dubs style. It can be my fall back accessory.

  5. More blouse love! The night-to-day styling is excellent, and turquoise is a great color on you. To answer your question, last night I wore my early fall daytime casual jacket (with nighttime sleeveless top and trousers and big earrings) out for fancy evening dinner.My week started very poorly but I'm hoping for improvement. Keep on cruisin' this week, SuperProf.

  6. Oh, so I have you to thank for the heat wave, eh? Hold on, let me pour myself a glass, be right back………glug, glug, glugCheers (clink, sip, mmmmmmm).I'm loving the wine with outfit post. Loving it! I'm in. What goes with a merlot?

  7. Thanks for your comments, all. I shall soldier away on this week's projects while sneaking regular peeks at your blogs. Also, ha! Outfits to go with wine. Perhaps this could be a monthly segment on the blogs of any and all interested parties!

  8. I love the blouse, the pattern is so cute!If I were you, I'd get used to the work life balance thing. Last winter, when my mother (a biochemistry prof and a researcher and a business owner/runner) tried to work on her work-life balance, she roped my sister and into doing a 1000 piece puzzle- of the periodic table of the elements. Good luck getting everything done!

  9. Very superb outfit, A-Dubs! Turquoise and gray is a fine combination. We had the muggy summer redux last week, as well as the visiting speaker. This week is chilly, rainy, and perfect. I have a grant proposal due on Friday as well, but since I'm going to Philadelphia on Thursday, it has to be finished today. So my inclination to sit staring out the window at the rain must be kept under wraps–your turquoise cardigan would do nicely.

  10. Oh what a difference location makes. Today it is 20/70 here and it feels quite chilly after months in the 90s & 100s (though we're likely to go back into the 80s & 90s for a while still). I almost broke out pants but didn't as I was afraid that they would overcompensate with heat in my office building.I'm going to repeat everyone's love for that blouse. I too have a shirt in the same style that I never wear because it never seems practical. I'm totally going to wear it under cardigans now. Clearly once again, A-Dubs, you lead the way.

  11. I love the print and style of that blouse (I have a couple similar shoulder-less things that I never feel are work-appropriate, but perhaps if I pin things down, it'd work out). Also, that color looks FANTASTIC on you. It really compliments the wine.My week is looking good, but that is in no way related to work. Good luck with your craziness!

  12. I have a blouse that is that same cut. I don't pin it, but I do a cardigan with it in the same way. God knows what my week will be like. The weather is gloomy but they are calling for highs of 19 today. Your other question is too complicated to answer without coffee…

Leave a Reply

