A Post full of Half-truths

Today’s post features not one, but two outfits. Neither of which I’m wearing today. One outfit I wore yesterday, and the other I intended to wear today. However, I felt like crap when I woke up this morning so I cancelled both class and this outfit. After sleeping all morning, I’m feeling significantly better. Enough that I played dress-up for the blog. I intend to wear this outfit more or less as is for Friday, my next teaching day. Today (and, let’s be honest, probably tomorrow too) I’m wearing the perennially fashionable pajama-like ensemble.
I wasn’t initially going to post yesterday’s outfit. Mostly because I wasn’t happy with the pictures, which I feel are stumpifying but today I’m ok with them. I really liked the outfit. It’s not a silhouette or palette that I typically wear so it was fun to try it out. More importantly, it was comfortable–if slightly warm for the weather here which is cooler but not really that cool–and a good outfit for having to be on campus briefly but not teaching.
Cardigan: Gap (an emergency buy when I was in Montreal this summer and it was constantly freezing)
Tunic: Old Navy (remixed)
Jeans: Old Navy
Gold flats: Nine West
Today’s (err, Friday’s…) outfit is still somewhat a work in progress. I’m not happy with the shoe choice but am feeling a little stumped (Note the thematic connection across paragraphs. Clearly I am an astonishingly good writer) about what to wear instead. My inclination is to go for color but I’m worried that might look a bit clownish. What I need are Rad’s awesome yellow flats.

Top: Target (part of my back-to-school stripe buying extravaganza)
Skirt: Old Navy
Black patent flats: Target
Brooch: Grandma J
Also, I’m not typically a brooch wearer but I want a bit of brightness in the outfit and, inspired by Sheila’s leaf-brooch from her grandmother, I brought out this brooch I inherited from my grandma. It’s one of the few pieces she brought to Canada from Norway when they immigrated so it’s pretty special. And also fantastically Art-Deco-ish.
Anyone else really ready for September to be over? And yet simultaneously terrified that it’s nearly October?

14 thoughts on “A Post full of Half-truths

  1. Hey E-Jo: Sorry that you're not feeling well. I hope that you drink tea and soup and feel better soon. I can't believe it's October. This means I've been slacking too much. But I can totally make up it this weekend, right? Bring on fall weather, please!I don't think these outfits are stumpifying at all. Stumpification is a concern for me and my miles long torso. Maybe tucking in the top into the skirt for Friday's outfit?Also, thanks for the shoe shout out. I went and found these, which aren't the same, but similar:http://tiny.cc/j4b7d

  2. Feel better soon, E-Jo. I'm glad to hear you're taking care of you. Also, I enjoy the jean and tunic ensemble. Like Rad says, there's no stumpification happening here. Leave those worries to us long bodies. Friday's outfit's awesome, too. Your grandma's brooch is a beaut! And I like the black flats, but if you want a change, how about the gold flats from the rolled jean outfit? They're like a "colourful" neutral, no?

  3. oh wow! that broach is so cute and I love the story behind it!!! i brought few things over from Georgia when I immigrated and I hope my kids and grand-kids will treasure them.mayap.s. do you accept late submissions for the wonder women pose conference? JUST KIDDING!!!! i've been meaning to post some of my own W-W. pose pics and I finally did it last night. please check them out. thanks!!

  4. I think I have the same emergency Gap cardigan in gray! I bought it while downtown in late May this year, when I totally forgot that it doesn't actually warm up in Chicago until July at the earliest.I love that brooch. I have a leaf-brooch too (which I actually wore on my jacket today, oddly enough), but sadly it doesn't have the cool history that yours does!Also, I second Rad's suggestion to try tucking in the shirt on Friday's outfit if you're worried about stumpification (which I don't see, but I definitely worry about stuff that others completely don't notice).

  5. Gold shoes it is. In my head the black patent looked awesome. In real life, meh. SU: I'm glad to hear you like the jeans outfit. It was inspired by your & Rad's ability to rock the neutrals.

  6. Yes, I agree with A-Dubs and the gold flats. Too bad you don't have a vest to throw on to add a heat friendly layer, writes the queen of the vests. I really like the first outfit, don't change a thing. Oh, maybe you can add the brooch to that outfit, too, next time you wear it.Hope all the Vit C and water is working. If not, a hot toddy cures all.

  7. Feel better soon, E-Jo. I'm glad to hear you're taking care of you. Also, I enjoy the jean and tunic ensemble. Like Rad says, there's no stumpification happening here. Leave those worries to us long bodies. Friday's outfit's awesome, too. Your grandma's brooch is a beaut! And I like the black flats, but if you want a change, how about the gold flats from the rolled jean outfit? They're like a "colourful" neutral, no?

  8. Rad: You can totally make it up this weekend. Or so I keep telling myself. I second your call for fall weather. We're getting there here but not quite (it was 88 here today which still actually felt cool). Thanks for the shoe suggestion — those are pretty fab. Unfortunately, my finances and I have reached a stalemate that is forcing me into a shopping ban for the foreseeable future as the holidays & flights home are coming up far too quickly.LHdM: Thanks! I'm floating in a sea of water and dissolvable vitamin C! It's mostly the flash in this instance but thanks for the warning!

  9. I hope you get to feeling better soon! Lots of fluids and Vitamin C for you!One thing that you might want to consider (and this might just be the camera flash) but in this photo it looks like you can see your bra through that shirt in Friday's outfit.

  10. Hey E-Jo: Sorry that you're not feeling well. I hope that you drink tea and soup and feel better soon. I can't believe it's October. This means I've been slacking too much. But I can totally make up it this weekend, right? Bring on fall weather, please!I don't think these outfits are stumpifying at all. Stumpification is a concern for me and my miles long torso. Maybe tucking in the top into the skirt for Friday's outfit?Also, thanks for the shoe shout out. I went and found these, which aren't the same, but similar:http://tiny.cc/j4b7d

Leave a Reply

